Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    A

    Excellent Place to Stay!

    Reviewed by Andrew on Mar 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The resort staff were friendly, hardworking, cared about the details and were always willing to help. The resort is beautiful, you can tell the resort is not brand new, but it has been very well maintained and there is an excellent attention to details. The shop is good, but sunscreen is ridiculously expensive. The gym had essentially all the equipment needed for when on vacation with good music and cool temperature. The rooms were excellent as well. We stayed in the main building and everything was close by and not noisy at night at all. Some of the rooms are in separate buildings which might be inconvenient for some due to the need to walk up many stairs or take a shuttle to the main areas. Our room had a small plumbing leak, but resort staff got on it right away. There was a very nice view from the room, the bed was comfortable, there was lots of storage and the bathroom was good. The food is excellent and there is a huge selection. Each night the buffet had a different theme. If the theme food did not appeal to you there was always plenty of other food options to eat. The only issue I can think of is I wish there were condiments like ketchup, mustard, etc. for the burgers. We only went to the Italian restaurant, but the food and service there was excellent too. The drinks at the various bars were all delicious and there was a good selection. The pools were all great, good temperatures, layout, size and features. The beach was nice, clean, plenty of beach space and chairs and the usable kayaks were good. At the main pool there were always fun activities going on, but they would never hog the entire pool which made them completely optional. The club/disco was not too exciting or special, but that could be a bit because not a lot of people went. There were some evening/night shows that were great. There was an acrobatics show that was extremely impressive and fun to watch. There is also a long bridge you can walk across to get to a nearby island to explore.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4453 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great resort with caring staff

    Reviewed by Cassmenc(St. John's, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My friend and I are just returning from Cayacoa and I want to express my gratitude to the staff at this resort. Nobody wants to get sick on vacation but when I did the staff here couldn’t have been better. They arranged everything with the doctor, had the shuttle bring me and the driver escort me right to the door. Staff greeted me upon returning to ensure I was ok and checked in on me the next day. Our maid Angelina was amazing and made sure I had all the things I needed to be comfortable. Truly thank you. This resort is beyond beautiful and we had a great 10 days here. The entertainment staff work hard to make sure everyone is having the best time. The grounds are beautiful and the resort very clean. The buffet can be busy during peak times but staff keep things flowing. Yocasta was our waitress pretty much every day and she was always so kind. Thank you Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa you truly outdid yourself!

    Breathtaking Scenery at GBP Cayacoa in Samana!

    Reviewed by TravelTheGlobe99(Quebec) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed at GBP Cayacoa late March/early April...The location of the hotel is splendid, panorama is breathtaking...Villa assigned when choosing Royal Golden was on first floor right in front of a bay...Beautiful! The hotel is well maintained, staff is cordial, buffet was great and offered on some nights sushi, crab legs and shrimps..The French restaurant (Orchidea) was the one we enjoyed most (surf and turf)...The shows on the outdoor terrace are ok...Some resorts have outdoor auditoriums and more elaborate shows/entertainment...If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy the scenery, this is it...The excursions that we booked to El Limon waterfall and Rincon Beach (by buggy) were well worth it...Be wary of some volunteers who accompany you on your horse as you head to the waterfall...They will try to negotiate large tips with you but this is not something Grand Bahia Principe can control. Will definitely try this hotel chain again!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great hotel, good personnel, clean rooms and great fresh food

    Reviewed by giovannidebeyter(Brussels, Belgium) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We been there for 14 days and i cannot say a bad thing about it. We took one of the villas which was in an all-in superior suite concept. The food was very fresh and just great. They offer the basic buffet with additional daily typically country based recepies : spanish night, mexican, french, italian, seefood etc. Hotel personnel are very friendly and the animators are really talented, with Lewis at the top of the bunch. Coming to the rooms they are very clean and they get a good daily cleanage as well. You can rent a car and visit other place which are very nearby, renting a car costs about 60USD and you can visit most places for free, paid visits are (in my eyes) a bit expensive, but it pays off to do it yourself. Ask the staff for some recommendations and you find the best places in no time. Beach is good with plenty of space. During the weekend locals come and take a swim in the oceans as well, they are very friendly. All by all a very good holiday !

    Good in a lot of ways.....

    Reviewed by BradleyS442(Moncton, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Well....this resort has probably one of best scenery I have seen in the Caribbean.....beach is nice.....but small only issue there. Food is basic...you will never starve....not a wow factor....but still good. Rooms are nice....but had a issue with it in a way....came as single people.....our whole group was given a large king bed...no doubles.....was awkward for a few days but just dealt with it....so no real issue....fridge was always stocked daily with the basics..... This is not really a party resort....but you can make your own party....great groups from the Maritimes....made the stay so much better.

    10/10

    Reviewed by Jmamye63() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had an amazing trip! The entertainment crew around the pool and lobby bar all week were awesome! Lewis, Eduardo and Jefry made it a lot of fun! If your booking a vacation, I suggest taking a look! Very very clean and friendly! Food was great and lots of selections!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX