The Grand at Moon Palace

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. The Grand at Moon Palace
    6. The Grand at Moon Palace review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    We had a great time.

    Reviewed by Sher on Oct 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    My sister and I stayed at the Moon Palace. The location was fabulous. The hotel and grounds were very clean. The staff was amazing.The food was very good with lots of chooses. The activity staff at the pool were so energetic and friendly. The only downside about the resort is the beaches are full of seaweed despite the constant attempts at the hotel to keep the sand clean.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Would not return

    Reviewed by Daph on Jan 13, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This hotel was unfortunately a big let down. The water park was mostly functional, but due to construction safety issues, all slides are shut down. It will be a long time before they are operational. The beach is terrible. You can not swim. Bad smells and seaweed everywhere. Lots went wrong on our vacation. It took too long to fix the issues and often the fix did not run smoothly. Some things are really good here, but the problems we encountered swallowed all that up. If you like a bed you sink into, this is the place, but people I spoke to had sore backs from a lack of support. Some pools are heated, which was nice. Some good, some terrible restaurant experiences. Would not return. Resort is too big both as a guest and as a resort they can not seem to keep it all under proper control. The advertise that the offer Chi bath amenities, but once you use your first bottle, they swith you to a generic vrsion of products. Coffee pods, tea never restocked, only one night did we get a proper turn down service.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5562 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Romantic dinner

    Reviewed by Shelley S() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    An absolute must! The romantic touches of the evening were superb! Not knowing what to expect. It was over the top service and attention by Leiver and Sadoth and the others there just to make the evening special and memorable in every way possible. The dinner, drinks,the music and the ambiance was top notch! Way exceeded our expectations

    Cusco

    Reviewed by christiansN6120OS(Des Moines, Iowa) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had an awesome dinner at Cusco. Aurelio was our waiter and we felt like the only people in the restaurant. My kids are bilingual (English and Spanish) and he found that out quickly. He spoke to them in Spanish. He made great recommendations. It was one of the best meals we had. What a great and memorable evening. Thanks Aurelio.

    2nd Visit, Almost Excellent Resort

    Reviewed by AllSeasonEscape(Calgary, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This review is long overdue but better late than never:) Visited the Grand Moon Palace for the 2nd time & still much to discover, explore & enjoy this time around particularly with all the restaurant & food choices. Our fav restaurant of choice is Cusco, the Peruvian restaurant. Delish cuisine & our fav staff, Luis Alberto takes such good care of our family & we enjoy visiting with him. The entertainment staff around the pools were also amazing & does a great job. Rooms are spacious with lots of little amenities like snacks & bar, all inclusive room service, aromatherapy diffusers, CHi products, etc. We were in Building 93 - did not get our building request & initially thought that it was a little inconvenient location as we prefer to be closer to the main pools, restaurants & main lobby. But, we ended not minding it as it was close to the Waterpark/Kids' Club area & needed to walk off all the food & drinks consumed. We enjoyed the Buffet Dinner & 3 Tenors show - buffet was amazing and plenty of choices and the show was very well done by the performers. The AweSpa is just spectacularly amazing for a day of pampering. Do not give this a miss if at all possible. Very good WiFi service throughout the resort. That all being said, we did encounter a hiccup with regard to a dinner reservation at Momo's at Sunrise. I called at midnight (as suggested by the resort) 2 days in advance to arrange a hibachi dinner for our group of 9 guests to celebrate hubby's bday. My reservation was booked & confirmed on the phone with the operator staff. I specifically went through my reservation details a couple of times & all was good. Couple of hours before our dinner reservation 2 days later, I called the restaurant to re-confirm & to our disappointment, they did not have a record of it. At this point, the restaurant was fully booked (plus it was our last evening at the resort). July is a busy vacation time at the resort & it wasn't easy to get another dinner reservation for a large group. They were able to finally place us at The Grill for a later time. Hoping our next trip, we'd have better luck with our reservation to dine Momo's. The reservation system in place for it was poor & inconsistent ie phone in only for Momo's vs app reservations for other restaurants where reservation numbers are given. None was provided for Momo's allowing more room for reservation errors. Other suggestions that we feel that The Grand could improve on are: more cart shuttle services around the resort. We saw many people turned away or having to wait for a while for the next cart pick up. The Grand has a fantastic Kids' Club particularly for kids ages 12 & under. However, there isn't much entertainment, activities or hang out space geared towards older kids. The Wired Lounge is an option & was originally set up for Teens ages 13 & up only. However, that is changed now & open to kids of all ages. We've seen many younger, unsupervised kids (while parents & grandparents sleep on the loungers or having drinks at the lounge) pushing their way through on the gaming machines unfortunately & older kids just end up walking away likely feeling annoyed. Please consider dedicating a space just for Teens only where they can enjoy activities & meeting other friends of similar age group. Create an outdoor area at the Grand resort for kids & teens would also be a plus like a basketball court, ball hockey, table tennis, archery, tennis or pickle ball, badminton, ladder toss, etc. to compensate for the lack of beach/water sport activities on site. Room size - very spacious & fits a family of 4 perfectly without bumping into each other or the walls & furniture. However, their double (not queen) beds are small. Kinda tricky to fit a couple on one double only slightly larger than a twin size bed. The are limited rooms available with King bed so even if families request for one, there is no guarantee on receiving it. Housekeeping staff is always more than happy to push the double beds together for us & we just request a rollaway bed for our child. But why not save staff's time, resources & dealing with guests' complaints by replacing one of the double beds with queen sizes? There is definitely enough area space to accommodate a queen bed plus a double. Waterslides is still incomplete since 2017 from our first visit. Only 2 slides are operational but have height restrictions on them which limits many guests from accessing them. The kids' splash park is a fun space for younger kids. Wave pool is smaller but still a nice addition. Lazy river is a slower float around the Kids' Club building. Hope the Grand's FlowRider will be set up as this is a popular activity - not sure why it's taking so long to get this in operation? Would save a lot of time & hassle from going over Sunrise to use their Flowrider & adding to their line ups for it. We will be returning to The Grand for the 3rd time this summer & looking forward to it. It is a beautiful resort with overall hardworking staff members who provide wonderful service to make your vacation memorable & worthwhile. Just a few tweaks & areas of improvement will take this resort further as a higher end family resort.

    Great new addition! The New Grand is GRAND!

    Reviewed by Sherry O(Lancaster, Ohio, United States) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everything you could want within steps away. Love the ocean views, the wonderful staff and new spa. The rooms at the Grand are just that, grand. The food is amazing. So many places, it’s hard to choose. A great time had by all. Special thanks to the following staff for making our experience perfect! Diamond Pool-Gustavo and Marisole Beach Club-Jose, Elana, H=Gregorio, Alberta, Ana (my favorite), and Guadeloupe Cusco Pool- Fernando, Darius, and Giam - we survived our Tito's slushies! Cielito Lindo - Aveliano and Pedro Diamond Drivers - GIL (the best), Francesco and Mauricio In Room Dining - Daniel Soto, Ismael Lopez and Chef Saul Grand Spa Lattes are the bomb. I don't remember the name of the gentleman or woman, but they always treated me with a smile and great food and drink!! Always look forward to coming back!

    Wonderful family vacation!

    Reviewed by chriscP5203DS(Montreal, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our second time staying at this resort. Our family went for Spring Break and had a great time. The facilities, food, service, weather were all fantastic. While all of the staff were great I would like to specifically call out two people for their exceptional service; Arturo and his team at the Grand Buffet (great lattes and always smiling) and Libertad at the Boulangerie at the Grand (took very good care of us on our nightly stop for treats). Thank you both and everyone at the Grand at Moon Palace. We hope to be back soon!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX