Hotel Playa Coco

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    L

    Vacation was extremely stressful and disappointing

    Reviewed by Laura Mussat on Jan 12, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    The hotel is in significant dispar needs a lot or repairs, Mold on walls and ceiling Broken glass, pottery doors etc Side walks with man hole 3-4 ft deep and cracks and holes throughout resort Quality of food for Cuba extremely poor and limited Ran out of breads, sauces and ketchup 3 days into vacation Bugs and ants in room terrible Linens always wet No hot water No lighting at night through the resort causing a bad fall and injury at seafood restaurant Beer house and pizza place closed 2 days into vacation WestJet Rep hardly at hotel when scheduled Public areas poorly cleaned specially restrooms No assistance at airport in Toronto to start with Picture to follow in email as to large to fit here

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    We love it love it love it

    Reviewed by Carmen on Oct 26, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Hi, We stay for two weeks . From August 29 until September 14.The hotel rooms are ok , I won't say 4 start hotel, but is Cuba need repair and they don't change your bed sheets very often, Or clean. Every day you are going to bed there's sand in the bed. I recommend to bring you own beach towel and lots of mosquitos spray. Also soap for clean your clothes in case you need to wash yours . The staff are incredible nicely, very friendly. The food was really good..but not enough , for example: big lineup for a delicious seafood but after 5 people they didn't have anymore. I did not enjoy the Italian restaurant and neither the Japanese. The normal big every day buffet is the best ... Also the seafood restaurant located at the beach , really good too , but same problem with the seafood, not enough. The entertainment people ? Amazing, amazing, amazing. Great people , lots of talented women and men ...my kids love it ... They stay in the pool playing game with the entertainment guys and girls. My husband and I we stay at the beach knowing that the kids are having a blast and very very safe. we are definitely coming back to playa coco , also great service with the west jet . There is something wrong with the rating think at the top this review I can't mark properly...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2493 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Small town feel

    Reviewed by Marielise39(Ontario, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I was at the Hotel Playa Coco for the 2 first weeks of April. Flew via Sunwing and my friend purchased the "elite". The plus of elite was more leg room and more baggage allowance (65 lbs). This was my first time at this resort and I enjoyed the lay out as it did not take me long to get "around". We were in building 2 main floor near pool/lobby/sports bar. Room was quite big, not many drawers but we did great improvising with the furniture in the room. Bed was very comfortable, washroom lights were bright (make up wise). I would so so love to have that 220 plug by a MIRROR for straightener but all you see is a picture frame !!! come on, you can do this for your guests !!! Our maids were the bestest I ever had. Maikal (Michael) and Irma outdid themselves for us every single day. We did get water bottles, plenty of towels and if you need to change your beach towel, they can sometimes oblige. There is a coffee pot in the room (i went to Lobby bar as coffee is great there). Should you need pop, I believe you need to go get them at the lobby bar too. I would take a quick run at the sports bar for a couple of cold cold cervezas for my Happy Hour in my room. It is a great/nice bar to boot. A must go should you choose this resort. Andres is quite the waiter also. I have to agree with other reviews that certain issues can be addressed without major cost. Like the women's washroom near lobby. Put a seat in toilet #2 and always always make sure there is toilet paper, especially when you are expecting a bus load of guests. This will def. help with the first impression!! Note that the hotel is not the only resort with some issues. Regarding the A LaCarte restaurant. Japonese is by far the favorite of most. I went twice and enjoyed both times very much. You need to wait for the deep fried ice cream dessert at the end of your meal. Oh so worth it. Went to the Cuban, the service was excellent. Went to the Italian, again great service. There is also a seafood resto, but we did not get to try. Our only outing was Lenny's Bar and Grill (LOVED IT). There is a 24hour newly built snack bar. It does the trick late at night. Tried the pizza place and enjoyed my pizza (bacon and cheese). The beach bar had excellent service at all times (Mike and Joannie and El Capitan). You can order some chicken or pork sandwiches there. Very very good !! They offer lobster specials also. 11 pesos for a plate. Saw a few and they looked great !! They have 4 tables set up for you to eat outside or just sit and chat. The ocean is BREATHTAKING and I was in it a whole lot. A clear warm bath !!! The first week we were there, there was NO entertainment. We had an "aquatic show" on the friday night. Really nice. Second week, entertainers came and sure made our trip quite special. We enjoyed the shows very much. Some nights they would play in the lobby if weather did not permit outside. Wow, made us appreciate them even more. Yes, there is a Michael Jackson but this one is something else AND without a ton of make up to boot. The entertainers will ask if you want to go to the disco nearby (via bus). I went a couple of times, enjoyed myself but too much reggae-ton for moi. Customer service at this resort is great. You will find them at the desk on the right of the lobby. Adriana is commited to making things better for the guests at all times. I had the pleasure of enjoying 2 lobster meals as my friend was a return guest so we were invited for "guest appreciation meal". Remember to bring your own facecloths, giant tiger travel ashtray/ benadryl cream tube. I posted pictures of a room, it is not mine, it is a newer room in building 4. Just wanted you to see. All in all, resort was just fine for my needs, yes, there were mosquitos at times but creamed/sprayed my legs. Our room did not have a moldy smell at all (I hear some buildings do) And my favorite part of all was meeting the workers and so so many new people. Memories to last me a life time. Thank you so much Hotel Playa Coco.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Pleasantly surprised

    Reviewed by SSENDNIK() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I've just returned from a one week stay at Hotel Playa Coco. There are quite a few reviews commenting on the beauty of the beach; it is exquisite, but I'm writing to tell you about the hotel staff. They made my stay! The employees at reception were professional, polite, patient and above all, accommodating.The women at the desk went out of their way to ensure we were satisfied with the location of our rooms and the ammenities and services at the hotel. I fully appreciate that there are certain circumstances beyond their control but if they can help you with something they will. Thank you to all for a wonderful vacation!

    Nice Beach

    Reviewed by iMelanieMe(Niagara Falls, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    First visit to this resort, the beach was gorgeous and I never had issues finding a shady spot (I did run down early in the morning to save a spot). If you’re going for the beach and you’re not too picky about anything else, this is the place for you. If you’re going for the full inclusive experience- food, service, amenities & entertainment, I don’t think this is the place for you. Our housekeeper was amazing! Our room, which was in building 8, was very clean. No issues with bugs, AC, mold, leaks etc. It is very humid and nothing ever seems to fully dry, but we didn’t mind that. No issues with getting toilet paper, towels and water replenished- we never went without. We didn’t bother with the large pool or swim up bar so can’t comment on that, but the quiet pool was nice and the bar service was always excellent- the coffee was very good. The service in the lobby and piano bar was very hit or miss. For some reason, despite being excellent tippers, we could never get service, we always had to go inside to the bar for service, though we saw many other people served at their table. We always tipped at least 1 peso for each drink but sometimes had terrible service. I asked for a glass of red wine and was given a tiny plastic cup, which was fine. I later asked for a glass of wine ‘for here’ and was met with some serious attitude. I was given a cracked, dirty juice glass for my wine. We’d have a Spanish coffee each night after dinner and 8/10 times we had poor service. The food. First- every server we encountered in the buffet was excellent. Friendly, professional and prompt. The food, however, was at best just mediocre and sometimes inedible. I’m not at all a picky eater but I stuck to veggies for most of my trip. Breakfast was pretty good- I stuck to boiled eggs and toast but the omelet station was pretty good. Lunch and dinner were full of mystery meats for the most part and I stuck to veggies. If you’ve any food allergies or restrictions I’d recommend being very careful as I can’t count how many times I watched customers drop food into other food containers and cross-contaminate by using the same tongs in multiple places. The Japanese à la carte was basically fried rice with chicken, beef and fish- but it was fresh and the best meal we had. The snack bar by the beach (24hrs) was pretty good! The hot dogs and playa burger (meat patty with a fried egg & slice of ham) were good and popular with everyone in our group. Ultimately, we all felt that the hotel caters to return guests, regardless of how much you tip- unless you’re a ‘regular’ don’t expect good service on a regular basis. I don’t know how a business expects to build a customer base if they ignore new customers in favour of repeats.

    The people make this hotel a better place

    Reviewed by Kathy S() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Nine of us ladies went for our vacation mid April. The hotel is nice, beach is superb! Never went hungry or thirsty. ?? Yenny in Customer Service was a delight to deal with. She went above and beyond to be sure our trip was great. As we went to celebrate my birthday, she made arrangements at the Japanese restaurant which we highly recommend. Some of the minuses I must say were the lack of beach towels and bath towels. But we made the best of it. Also, some of the bartenders, specifically at the lobby bar, were not the most pleasant to deal with. We tipped and they were still rude. Two big exceptions were Mike at the Beach bar and Jorge and his colleague at the snack bar. We have met some of the best, most talented and friendliest of staff – the entertainment staff! They made this trip an unforgettable one. We truly enjoyed each performance and friendships we have created. Yenishell, Kenia, Linieska, Lachy, Leony, Alexis, Ernesto, Jordi, Loiver, Raiko and Chocolate to just name a few. One traveller said you come back for the staff and that is 100% true. Being a Travel Consultant, I do pay attention to all. I still would recommend the resort and would love to go back. For the people! Thanks for your hospitality! Kathy and the ladies.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Number 6th visit

    Reviewed by Amigocat99(Kitchener, Canada) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Went April 11th-18th. Once again it was incredible. Amazing food with different selections. Many will say they don't offer much but you must be creative sometimes. The place has a new beach restaurant with 3 different options. The pizza place is great and the snack bar has great burgers, hot dogs, fish n chips. Try the Cayo Coco burger, very tasty. We had a minor room issue and they quickly fixed it. We heard some people complain. One lady was very upset the maid forgot a bottle of water for the room. She berated the front desk person & said to people how she would never be back. Berating & yelling will get you nowhere. We had a bottle not sent and the front lobby bar, gladly gave us one. One thing people should do.Please don't litter!!!!! Keep the resort and beach clean. There are garbage cans everywhere. The staff are amazing and will help any way they can. The resort is getting better and better. For restaurants my favorite is the Toykyo restaurant. We will be back next year for number 7!!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX