Ocean Casa del Mar

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    d

    So much potential but horribly serviced

    Reviewed by dctraveller on Apr 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The good…Excellent location, very private, secluded from other resorts. Feels like you’re in true Cuba natural landscape. Beautiful white sandy beach where you can walk in many directions for miles. Grounds are well landscaped but not matured yet. Buildings and grounds very well maintained. Pools areas are beautiful. Easy walk everywhere on the resort thru concrete sidewalks. Really friendly and courteous staff. We could get into any and all A la Carte restaurants as long as we were there right at 7pm. The bad…Minimal entertainment. No welcome drinks in the lobby and nobody at the front entrance to welcome you. You have to take your own bags/suitcases and lug them around everywhere. Upon check in we asked for a trolley to bring us to our room and when we arrived at our building, we had to carry our own luggage up to the 3rd floor to our rooms. Not a lot of lights at night and can get tricky to walk from one end of the resort to the other. Beach towel supply was very low and rare. Buffet area/food supply was too low for the amount of people that are at the resort so trays were often empty and VERY long lineups at the 3 grills meat, pasta and fish grills . Very long lineup at all areas. Food in restaurants was of the same quality as the buffet, i.e. not bad but sometimes tough meats Asian meat was horrible , cold food and took HOURS to be served. Privilege restaurant was very good with service and quality of food… we had to tip big time to get in there… we just wanted to see the difference in restaurants…like night and day… that kind of frustrated us when we realized that everything/everyone else was treated 2nd class… not right in my opinion. The ugly…Bath towels in the room were grey and very stained. In the shower in the room,, there was no water nightly between 6-7pm. Shower drain worked minimally so water stayed in the shower for 10 mins and often flooded bathroom floor. Air condition not working.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Wonderful vacation at a beautiful resort!

    Reviewed by Careylw on Aug 22, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We spent a week, mid August, at this resort and loved it. Everything looks exactly like it does in the pictures. The staff could not have been nicer and nearly everyone speaks excellent English and French. The food was acceptable, remember Cuba is not known for having great food. There wasn't much that we tried that we couldn't eat. It may not all be to one persons taste but finding something good is not at all hard. The portions at the al a cartes are quite small but you can order multiples of anything if you want to. Our room was clean and well attended by the housekeeper. Massages at the pool are inexpensive and very good. The only negative we had was that there is no food served at the beach. You have to go to either the buffet or snack bar to get lunch. It's not that far though. I have a feeling that this will change in time as the resort is still building and there appears to be a space for a snack bar at one of the beach bars. I wanted to mention the staff again. They are worth a second mention. They really bend over backwards for you and always with a smile. The staff really pushed this trip over the top for us. They take the time to learn your name and treat you like an old friend. It felt very genuine.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2238 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    How to feed 1000 people with rice and cabbage

    Reviewed by Tricia D() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This was our 4th trip to Cuba , 3rd time to Santa Maria. I love Cuba!! Despite a lot of negatives about this resort, I would still go back to Santa Maria. I just wouldn’t stay here again. Pros: our room was spacious and kept reasonably clean. The shower had lots of hot water. No trouble with towels in the room. Mini bar was stocked daily. -close proximity to walk to a market - Paella and chicken cooked in the beach was really good but locals and those flashing cash will be served first. Cons: we were not able to exchange our beach towels even once in the 2 weeks we were there. ( I bought towels at the market) -long walk through an empty ditch to the beach -poor quality of mixed drinks. All liquor, minimal mix, no ice. Almost impossible to get Cristal beer. LONG LINEUPS at the bar. Service was better if you threw around a lot of cash. -It was literally like pulling teeth to get a bottle of water. -Extreme shortages of food. Often the main buffet consisted of various forms of cabbage. And orange rice or white rice with mystery fish and tough beef “stew”. There was literally no bread or buns for 4 days. LONG LINE UPS FOR EVERYTHING -the menus at the snack bar were useless. Basically just had to ask “what do you have today”. Usually chicken burger patty with no bun and plantain chips. Rare for there to be fries. -the procedure for booking a la cartes is laughable as is the menu inaccuracies. We were only able to book 2 a la cartes in the 2 weeks. ( there is a LONG line up that starts at 7-8 am. The clerk books from 9-1030 am only. He is finished at precisely 1030 regardless of how many people are still waiting in line ) As an example of the a la carte menu fiasco , I had “wonton soup” ( beef broth only-not one wonton ) and “Chicken teriyaki” ( spaghetti with soy sauce -no chicken ) Not worth the headache to book and both times we had reservations, we went yo the buffet immediately afterwards. -the “ice cream shop” was not open the entire 2 weeks despite our group watching a woman stock it with tubs of ice cream. When my friend asked for ice cream she was told “no sorry, we are out”. We then witnessed the bar manager spoon feeding a waitress a bowl of strawberry ice cream behind the bar not 5 min later. When confronted with this he begrudgingly gave my friend a small bowl. -garbage removal needs drastic improvement - so many broken lounge chairs on the beach -very little to do around the resort. No animation team at all on the west side of the resort. It was a long walk for us from the Far West side to the east side activity pool. We went once. Lots of staff standing around. There is a “schedule” of activities that are supposed to be running but it seems that’s non existent. Not worth the walk. -other than the same 2 musicians playing music at the lobby bar ( they were pretty good) and the extra loud theatre show there is zero nightlife. Once again, I love Cuba! I understand there are shortages of supplies. I’m not expecting 5 star service and I totally agree that you get what you pay for. In my opinion , this resort would be a 2 star at best. If you love standing in lines , eating rice and cabbage, drinking poor quality rum and having staff ignore you then this is the place for you.

    I will be back

    Reviewed by kaniyaa22() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is my second time in Santa Maria, last year with my daughter and this year with my mother. Loved both times. If I were to complain about some thing it would be the travel time to and from the airport.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Excellent Service- Get The Privelege

    Reviewed by Toaster2() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I recently stayed here and we enjoyed it immensely! The beach was beautiful, the pools relaxing and the service was excellent. Because it is our anniversary, we sprung for the Privileged package which eliminated wait-time at the restaurants, a private breakfast restaurant (Elizabeth the waitress was a sweetheart), put us on a more convenient/ less crowded part of the beach and placed us closest to the main lobby and restaurants. Another huge benefit was that we got our own butler who ensured that we were always taken care of and could be reach at any time (shout out to Arley!) If you’re looking for a loud, hard-partying resort where guests are piled on top of each other, then this place isn’t for you. But if, like us, you want to relax and have a few drinks at the beach, this resort gets a high recommendation.

    SERVICE PLUS

    Reviewed by Braceletbrother(Ontario, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The staff were all extremely pleasant and friendly. Their English is much better than my Spanish. The food choices and quality exceeded my expectations. The option of ocean vs pool is a great choice to have. One cannot go wrong at either one.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Keep it up Cuba!

    Reviewed by Chantal N(Sudbury, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is our 7th vacation to Cuba since 2005. We have travelled to many other countries also. We are a couple in our late 40's. When I write a review, I compare to other resorts from the same country. You cannot compare Cuban resorts to Mexican resorts in the same star category. Cuba does not have access to the same construction materials or drink or food options. With what they have, this does not feel or look like a poor country. Whats amazing about the Ocean: *the service, such nice and friendly people. They will go out of their way to make sure you have the best vacation. Thanks to: Buffet: Hector, Leo and Magdiel. The maître D in Limoncello and all bartenders! *The room: very nice, very clean,huge stand alone shower. Only down fall...long, flat pancake like pillows. Such an easy fix. No big deal. Clean towels, Yes thin towels, Not a problem. Our maid was very attentive and nice. Room 0525 *Resort: Lush, clean, easy access to everything. Only down fall...like other Cuban resorts, they just can't easily replace broken things. Hopefully this will get better with time. *Food: Again for Cuba...very good. Always found something to eat. Didn't starve by any means. Yes, I would like more veggies, but whatever, what they don't have like home, I'll just have when I get back. This is another country, people, go with it!! *Beach amazing! Lot's of chairs and palapas. *Very nice pool! Again, many chairs. *No washroom close to beach, yes a bummer. We walked off all our booze for sure! *Beach towel service was sparce, so what! Not a problem for us. I easily recommend this resort for families. We traveled with another couple who had never traveled. They we're amazed with the Ocean's. I think that we chose very well for their first experience. A side point: I was and still am upset about the last reviews posted about this resort. This resort deserves a solid 4 1/2 star for Cuba!! For those who wrote less than desired reviews, I hope that you never go back to Cuba. You do not derserve their hard work and service. For anyone else planning to travel to this resort. Have a great vacation with very few misgivings!! Adiòs!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX