Playa Vista Mar

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    L

    Buyer beware!

    Reviewed by Love on Mar 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    BUYER BEWARE! Horrible hotel for Young girls to travel, Staff is unprofessional and inappropriate. Hotel is in the middle of no where, keep in mind there is no nearby hospital in case of emergency. The rooms :had big beetles that would creep in and the bathroom smelt like sewer and poor plumbing, sheets were stained and dirty, the double lock on the room can be opened by the key and hotel staff.The Food: The buffet food was always the same, a mystery meat that they would have each day and a recycled salad bar filled with little fruit flies. Only good thing was breakfast. Drinks: Tasted like dirty water. Go to any other resort but this one

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Nice modern hotel.. terrible service

    Reviewed by Jhanson on Jan 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Very modern beautiful place amazing beaches. Now the downside. We stayed from dec 26-to Jan 2nd. First few days we good..then took a turn for the worse.. if u dont speak Spanish ur ignored. I speak a little enough to get by and still was ignored. Getting food at the buffet was a struggle my 3 year was push knocked to the grown and had her plate knocked out of her had numerous times. Buffet is insane we basically lived at the snack bar which was supposed to be 24/7.. but ran out of everything and half the time they would just tell u sorry no food come back in half hour to an hour. But yet watched them hand out food to Cubans and other guest they favored. The Cubans are allowed on the resort and it got insane they got into the restaurants with out reservations, they hired to the beginning on the lines . They just go around behind the counters and talk to the chefs and they get served first. 50 mons in line for pasta which is already cooked!! We went at 8 and it open at 7 and all the stations were shut down. Sorry no more food.. it's open till 10. Getting service to get drinks were a nightmare we ended up buying our own and drinking in the room or making bbn our own drinks. The staff ignore you. We are tippers and they still dont come back around. I've been to Cuba 6 times and it's the worst service I've ever experienced. And talking with other Canadians they were having the same problems we were.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 440 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Extremely deceiving

    Reviewed by johnpY8736DZ() on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    BEWARE The hotel staff doesn’t care about you and are very rude until you show them a TIP. Staff make you wait until they finish their conversation in Spanish before they answer you and look at you like you’re bothering them (sometimes waiting for 5 minutes or more) The buffet was awful, not even the white rice was edible. Snack bar never had nothin and the staff just wanted to do nothing NO WAS THE ANSWER TO EVERYTHING. NO Hamburger NO pina colada NO NO NO but when you show them money, they find you everything. ROBBERY They FORCED me to pay for a late checkout before noon but my checkout was at 3pm with AIR CANADA ???? THIS IS PUTTING SOMEBODY IN A HOSTAGE SITUATION AND ROBBING THEM, it happened to us. WIFI had 6 hours included in my package, I had to pay 1 $ the hour for the Wifi not to work. AGAIN THIS IS ROBBERY. We tried to eat at a restaurant à la carte but there was never any place ??? Not able to get any beach towels, nobody was never there only 1 time in 7 days. No hygiene in this hotel, they never clean, never, never, never they don’t even clean your table when you finish eating, they just prepare it for the next person, everything just stinks. Every bartender looks at you like you’re bothering them. Especially the ones at the beach. Positive point : Beach was really beautiful 3000$ of hard earned money saving up for 1 year wend down the drain with this hotel. Thank you to all the staff from Sercotel, Playa vista mar, Grand Aston for ruining our family vacation. P.S. I will be making a complaint to Air Canada and to my travel agency ( THIS HAS TO STOP)

    We had a fabulous time!

    Reviewed by morg07(Ontario) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We travelled early April 2019 when it was called Playa Vista Mar. This was our third time to Cuba with our boys, 5th time overall. We wouldn’t hesitate to go back. The food was typical for Cuba. We had omelettes and smoothies for breakfast. Burgers at the 24hr snack bar most days for lunch, or grilled meat at the pool or beach. We loved the Italian a la carte, and for other dinners always found something at the buffet. Is there some weird food? Yes. Do they run out of things? Yes. However we survived without fries for a week just fine. We’re on holidays and didn’t let anything bother us, and just tried to focus on how Cuba does the best they can and to be grateful for our experience and holiday. We loved the layout of the resort. The pool was amazing! Our room was basic but good. Wonderful rain shower! Great views from our patio in building 5. Met some really wonderful staff who we will keep in touch with. I understand there’s some concerns with staff and young women, and perhaps because we were a family we didn’t see this. We all loved the snorkelling off the beach and even saw huge star fish our first day. Again, we would not hesitate to go back here. And hopefully we will. Some improvements with the food would be good, but we did just fine as is.

    Inappropriate Staff

    Reviewed by Happyandsafetravels() on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I traveled with my wife and another couple a short while ago to this resort.  The food was interesting, the rooms had many issues and the service was at times terrible. We can handle this because we travel alot to Cuba.  What we couldn't handle was how inappropriate the animation staff seemed to be. We ventured into the jazz bar or so what we thought it was a few times.  It was stomach turning to see how the male staff were dancing and looking at women in there.  We noticed them even doing so to younger girls, in their teenage years.  As parents of teenagers, we were sick.  They would bump and grind with one then another.  The second night brought us back to see if it was the same thing.  And it was!  We actually saw one staff member grinding with one guest then lead her into a back room?  That sat so unwell with us.  Nowhere did we see a manager or supervisor watching over these employees.  Are they left to do what they want???  I wished it ended there with the inappropriateness of the staff but it didn't.  On our last evening there we stayed up late and sat near the pool then snack bar.  Staff sits among guests and drinks with them? One left with a female guest who had obviously been drinking a lot.  Never in all our years of traveling have I seen this?  I can only imagine what else is going on at this resort!! I will not return here as it was sickening to see this. 

    Professional by Day, Scumbags by Night

    Reviewed by noesbueno(Ottawa, Canada) on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    ***recently renamed to Grand Aston Cayo Las Brujas Beach Resort & Spa This is a WARNING FOR ALL FEMALE TRAVELERS going to Playa Vista Mar (formerly Sercotel) in Cayo Santa Maria.. There is a huge problem with the male staff working here. They will relentlessly try having sex with women and young girls.. It starts off so innocently. They’ll seem so genuine, so sincere, caring and attentive. They will groom and earn the trust of your family & friends during the day when everyone is around. It seems innocent at first. They are so smooth you don’t even see it coming! They will without notice grab your hand and start leading you away. Offering to take you to the bathroom. Asking you to talk. Pointing or physically guiding you to a private or enclosed location. The ONLY INTENTION here is SEX! . . Your clothes are already getting peeled off before you have the chance to process what’s going on. They are individually sleeping with multiple woman a night and not using protection and are lying about it. In the bathrooms, in the stairwells, in the nook at the back of the Jazz Bar, at the private beach, in closed restaurants. They are forceful in their attempts to sleep with you and repeatedly ask even if you declined more than one time. This can go on for hours or days.. They know where all the cameras are. They know how to get away with it. They cover for each other (verbally and physically) no matter how bad these encounters get. . As the night goes on the drinks become increasingly stronger. . Some won’t take no for an answer. They will keep pressuring you into coming with them, they will even go as far as slamming the door back to a closed and locked position if you try to leave. . I’ve witnessed it first hand and heard other girls/woman talking about it. In some cases they will keep you from leaving by pulling you back.. One of these guys were completely honest about their intentions while all of the others were incredibly deceiving. No respect or manners for the female gender. They objectify you.. Keep in mind that we are the ones drinking. They are sober. WARNING SIGNS: 1) You are a single female, roughly 16+ yrs 2) Being attentive to you and your friends/family throughout the day 3) Asking you who you are traveling with, what room you are staying in, where your bf/husband is, asking how long you are there for, asking where you’ll be throughout the day, asking you how old you are, asking you to come to the Jazz Bar **these questions can be extended over several conversations, or by several guys working together, or all within the same conversation*** 4) Asking you to “dance” with them at the back of the Jazz Bar (nook beyond the stage & DJ area) 5) Saying “let’s talk” (motioning or guiding you to a more private area) 6) Grabbing your hand and leading you away from the group, other guests, friends, family 7) Offering to show you to the bathrooms or walk you back to your room 8) Telling you that they like/love you, you are beautiful, you are sexy, you have beautiful eyes, don’t want you to leave, or that they want you to live with them in Cuba 9) Dancing with you throughout some time (day and night, always making sure to come back to you throughout the day/night) 10) Making flirtatious eye contact with you, smiling at you, winking at you (they’ll take your return gesture as consent) 11) Offering you more drinks, bringing you drinks, bottles of booze or Rose 12) Asking to come to your room 13) They pull the “no English” and don’t understand card when confronted with their behavior 14) Anyone being overly nice to you, inviting you to come to the Jazz Bar (karaoke then dance), snack bar 15) Pulling you out of sight from the crowd*** 16) They brag about who they hooked up with. These girls become greater targets the next day. **the sexual advances are happening primarily later in the evenings and early morning hours. Disgusted and appalled, Former Guest

    the good the bad the ugly

    Reviewed by Jackie D() on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The good check in was quick but we had paid for an ocean view on the 3rd floor was given ground floor swamp view the front desk staff quickly fixed the problem walked up to the room to make sure it was clean and had a view it was perfect. A few staff went above and beyond we had great service from the staff enteranment staff great The rooms were clean and spacious The Italian restaurant was great The bad mosquitos never have we had an issue traveling at this time of year bring spray... the UGLY the food we have been a few time to cuba in the past and never have we had food issues. Yes you always find omething to eat but not the same things for 14 days. No bread for 3 days no eggs for a day pasta bar only sometimes food never hot poor desserts the pizza people raved about didnt exsist no hot dogs till our last day no fries ice cream machine never on. The resturants french ran out of food when I asked a manager why i was toldthe had an issue with their suppliers, This resort Has changer names 3 times since opening not that long ago. wont be back

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX