Royal Kona Resort

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    P

    We enjoyed our stay. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The room was a big disappointment

    Reviewed by Pat Boudreau on Dec 13, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We loved the location. Walking was excellent from this hotel for all downtown Kona. Service was excellent but the hotel is getting really run down and needs lots of upgrades to their room. We were so disappointed in the rooms. The tiki bar and entertainment was excellent and we loved this location right overlooking the ocean.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    well worth the money. stay here!

    Reviewed by Andrew on Mar 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The Hotel on the outset looks aged... but it is very well maintained and in good repair. Reno's have brought it up to the 1990's at least. Typical tropical open concept. It's Hawaii... who cares. You have to pay for the intenet if you want it in the room, but it really isn't a huge issue to use it at the bar, that is open from 11am till whenever you go to sleep! Rooms are clean and exactly as expected. Pool overlooks the ocean. While that seems redundant, its not. there is really no beach to speak of. Only Lava Rock and a small lagoon off to the side. But who needs a beach when the wildlife come to you. There wasn't a morning that I was down using the internet that I didn't see fish, dolphins, Manta Ray's, or whales breaching off the shore. A true highlight of the trip. The hotel was great and the staff friendly. Service was impecable. I would recommend to anybody.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3511 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great location

    Reviewed by MrsGraham1029(Scottsdale, Arizona) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Second time staying at the Royal Kona Resort. It’s a nice hotel. Beautiful views, convenient location, comfortable rooms. Hotel grounds are well kept, lobby, pool and lagoon, and bar are all great. Rooms are a little dated, but they are clean and comfortable. Will return in the future.

    Great time as always

    Reviewed by 347keithe(san Diego) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The rooms are large, the bed comfortable and the view was fantastic. We had a great view of the ocean as well as the luau show. Located right at the south end of town the hotel is an easy walk to shops and restaurants. The lagoon is great as you can just stand there and see the fish, or snorkel. At high tide we entered the lagoon and swam to the open ocean and there was excellent snorkeling there. The food at Don's is pretty good and no more expensive than restaurants off property. We usually eat there at last once.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Fantastic View, Great Location

    Reviewed by greenpriscilla3() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hotel located in an area where everyone hangs out but it's on it's own rock so when you decide to sleep, the ocean is all you hear. A little pricey but if you save before you vacation, the price is worth the luxury.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Beautiful time in Kona.

    Reviewed by Diana A(Santa Rosa, California) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Great location with easy access to shopping and dinning. Resort is in need of a facelift as it's pretty run down. The walk way around the pool area is chipped in areas and pieces are broken making it difficult to walk on. Rooms are comfortable but in need of attention. No free internet, no room service. Pluming in bathroom is old and difficult to work and sliding door is difficult to open and shut. View is spectacular. Costs is acceptable. Would I come back to this location? Probable not! Did have a great time though.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Central location, relaxing and a quiet refuge after a touring the island

    Reviewed by IanP1301() on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had an excellent time at the Royal Kona, it was nice to get a free upgrade to an oceanfront corner suite, we were not expecting that and the room delivered everything in comfort that we were looking for. Yes the room is a little dated but honestly for the amount of time we spent in the room, I cared more that the bed was comfortable, which it was. The bathroom was a bit on the tiny side and low shower head makes it more challenging for this 6'3" guy but the water was hot when needed. The resort itself was quite enjoyable, the breakfast buffet offered a great way to start the day, love the oceanside tables giving a beautiful vista to the ocean in front of you watching the spinner dolphins swimming and jumping nearby. The lounge was a great place to relax after a day of exploring and the live music on the Thursday was awesome. Not much of a pool guy but I really enjoyed the salt water lagoon, do a little swimming, some snorkeling and watching the waves crash over the rocks. I will be back for certain, we had such a great week and the staff are all so friendly and accommodating regardless of your needs.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX