Sheraton Kona Resort and Spa at Keauhou Bay

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    J

    Very nice hotel, meals a bit of a challenge at times.

    Reviewed by Jim on Apr 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This was generally a very nice hotel. The staff were excellent, the room was clean and well maintained, and it was beautifully situated on the big island. However, it's very expensive and they will likely charge for any extra that you may need or want. For instance, a roll-away cot in your room is listed at $65.00 a night seems very expensive and even though the breakfast buffet starts at $15.00 US and goes up from there if you want any eggs or bacon they will charge extra for apple juice if that's not what they've put on the buffet that morning. That seems a bit nickel-and-dimish. The greatest problem we had was finding supper. The only place on the property that had supper was Rays on The Bay which was a bit expensive for a family restaurant and always had live music playing, so conversation was very difficult. Going down into Kona town was a challenge in that parking is difficult to find and restaurants, while plentiful, are not always family friendly. And some highly reviewed rib and barbecue joints close at 5:00 PM!?! Crazy. We also found the WiFi on the property very hit and miss. It worked great for some but not at all for others.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    A beautiful location!

    Reviewed by Charmbelle on Mar 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The hotel was nicely situated away from the busy downtown of Kona, but within a short drive to all the amenities and great restaurants. The rooms were spacious, modern and very comfortable. The pool was great. Hotel staff were very accommodating in providing recommendations and assistance. The restaurants were on the higher end price scale, but the food was wonderful. The luau is a must! Great entertainment and great food. The sunsets were spectacular. During our visit, we were able to watch the whales from our the balcony.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    I

    Nice place, good location close to Kona, variable food & service quality but ok, manta rays are the highlight.

    Reviewed by Islandhound on Jan 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    Nice hotel but still pricy. Some of the valets were rude but others were outstanding and very friendly and accommodating. Very good concierge service. Centrally located on the dry side of the island, so short distance to Kona for shopping and restaurants. Limited restaurant / bar choices at the hotel with only the pool bar food and drinks during the day. Restaurant open for breakfast then closes, diner restaurant / bar doesn't open till late afternoon so only pool bar open during the day with staff more interested in watching TV than keeping your glass full. Food ok but nothing spectacular returned a strip loin steak as it was like shoe leather . Cleaning staff very accommodating and helpful. The manta rays viewed from the hotel properties was the the highlight - observed every night. Loved the big island, great for the adventurer and relatively low tourist density vs Oahu and Maui.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3156 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Wonderful break from Alaskas long winter

    Reviewed by staticcharge() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The staff was very friendly always greeted my husband and I will a hello. One staff member in particular Veronica with check in services helped us out tremendously. We weren't too happy with our room location because the balcony had a high wall that we couldn't see over and it over looked the pool which we didn't want because we did have to do some work on this vacation and we wanted to work on the balcony with our laptops. Veronica made this happen. We got into a great room. 2216 saw whales, dolphins and lots of boats. Loved the room, it was very quiet, played hours of tennis, dark courts at night though bummer, restaurant was expensive for bland alcoholic drinks and food was bland for the price, breakfast buffet was overpriced but great service, great views and convenient when your tired and you don't want to drive around and I didn't want to leave..

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Nice hotel on a great energy spot ... great place to watch manta rays as well!!!

    Reviewed by CDNTerry(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Really enjoyed our stay here. Nice rooms with all the amenities: hairdryer, safe, desk and chair, TV, fridge, iron and board. Actually stayed twice during our trip, first room was a partial ocean view (partial is right!!) and second room was a full ocean view - very nice. The restaurant (Rays on the Bay) is good, open patio style seating which can get cooler at night but good views of the bay and at night they turn on the spotlights into the ocean so you can see the manta rays come in and feed. The ocean view room was an upgrade to a club room, good idea if you want some extra perks i.e. free breakfast in the club lounge (pretty much the same breakfast as at Ray's, except no omelet station) and also free appetizers after 5pm where they put out a pretty good spread, enough that we didn;t eat dinner a few times as the apps were more than enough (tacos, chicken wings, pizza, stir fry's etc.). Overall a good stay, do be prepared as there is a resort fee ($30/day) so if you don;t take advantage of the yoga/Hawaiian language/ukele/etc. lessons you'll pay $30/day for nothing and onsite parking is $20/day, more if you use the valet service. Hotel location is just south of Kailua-Kona, about 2 miles and there is a free trolley that runs into town so very easy to get into town for shopping and restaurants. There is also a dolphin experience right next door to the hotel as well as a golf course. Hotel doesn't have a good ocean beach, all lava rock so not good for ocean swimming. Hotel pools are good and a big water slide for kids (big and small!!).

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Left SK after one night of seven. Not for couples who need quiet

    Reviewed by Eric Hans B() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Be forewarned this is not a quiet property by day or night. There are no quiet rooms due to layout. Filled with groups and families. After three tries for quiet room we gave up. Took no 3 and immediately rebooked at a real Marriott. Staff didn’t pay any attention to requests for quiet room even after gentle reminders. This property needs remedial Marriott guest service training. Few staff looked happy; probably because it is clearly understaffed. Food at one lunch was excellent but dinner at Rays was adequate- great view though. However the restaurant is minimalist 2000‘s with no suggestion you are in Hawaii. In fact most of the hotel could be in anywhere North America. Also it is a worn property. If you want pure family be or group party and don’t mind above but if you want some quiet as a couple, look elsewhere.

    Awesome time at the Sheraton Kona

    Reviewed by deanwark(Stevensville, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Spent 5 nights there with my family this past week. It was an incredible experience and a terrific place to stay. The grounds were impeccable with stunning views everywhere! The pool area was fantastic with plenty of room and options! We never felt crowded in this space at anytime. Every staff member that we came into contact with from front desk, poolside servers, cleaning and maintenance staff, activities staff, etc. were warm and friendly. Room was comfortable and functional with a large balcony and beautiful views. We did a fair bit of touring on the island but certainly would have been content to stay at the resort! The sunsets were also stunning! I highly recommend this hotel......we were left with only unforgettable memories!

    Many nights at this beautiful hotel.

    Reviewed by 286natec(Ellensburg, Washington) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    You will love the great landscaping here, the ocean views, the quieter south end away from the bustle of Kailua-Kona but still a 10 minute drive away. Fantastic oceanfront restaurant and bar. Convenient walk to the boat docks at Keahou bay for your snorkel trip.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX