Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    L

    We will definitely go back!

    Reviewed by Laura on Jan 07, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2014

    Trip Type: Family

    Our family vacation at the Waikoloa Marriott was awesome! The location is one of the best; there's a great beach, history, trails, shops. If you do want to leave for a day trip, there's even a a car rental counter in the hotel. Take advantage of the cultural classes, you may even have a private lesson with the local expert as not many people sign up. My son and I made beautiful bamboo stamped art. If anything, the staff could have been a little more organized at the front desk, but the tourist centre staff were excellent. We are planning on returning this year, we loved Waikoloa so much.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3251 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Lovely location -With lovely rooms and facilities

    Reviewed by etnbanker(New York City, New York) on Mar 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were greeted nicely and liked the room accommodations and location on the beach. They offer free yoga classes every morning on the beach. The conceirge was very helpful and made us reservations at Huggo's which was excellent.There is a nice fitness room and pool where they offered us free drinks.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Marriott left me disappointed, but Hawaii is AMAZING!

    Reviewed by Llopez704(Alpharetta, Georgia) on Mar 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Of course being in Hawaii is an immediate plus, but this Marriott was a bit of a disappointment. Let me say first that the staff is GREAT! Always smiling, extremely polite and helpful which has made the stay nice. The other positive is that you are steps away from the beach. It is a public beach. There are limited chairs that are open to anyone. The water is beautiful and you just might have a sea turtle swimming beside you...kind of cool! The pools within the hotel are nice as well; one infinity pool and one regular pool. Oh and a little slide for the kids or big kids. So the disappointing aspects...well we can start with the $35/day resort fee even if you are just staying on the hotel side verses the Vacation Club section. It includes your welcome necklace, 4 drink tickets (for your entire stay, not per day), some water sport gear, and a reusable bag. Not worth it at all. Secondly, there is only one restaurant on site and the selections are limited. If you don't like or can't eat seafood, you are limited even further. Now with that said, my short rib dinner was very good as was the burger I had poolside. The restaurant adds an 18% service charge while poolside and room service add 15% service charge. Yes, we tried room service and twice they ran out of what we ordered. Needless to say, leave the hotel for meals. There are plenty of options near by and everyone has a happy hour! As for the rooms...we did select a larger room at time of reservation and it ended up being a good size with a sofa. We are platinum Bonvoy members for but received no upgrade which is not a big deal for me, but some with status do expect. However, I was surprised that we were given a second floor room with a balcony view of a tree...nice. The rooms themselves are nice and clean. The walk in shower was lovely. And yes there is a safe and mini fridge in the room.

    Perfect Beach & Shopping Location

    Reviewed by 417SharonK(Honokaa, Hawaii) on Mar 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This hotel property was just perfect. It wasn't too big like some of the massive "grand" hotels that are like cities and it wasn't too small. Every experience I had there was perfect. The rooms are contemporary and had everything we needed. We had a red-eye home and they allowed us to shower in a complimentary room that was not being used after we were finished on the beach before heading to the airport (that was major!) All hotel staff aimed to please and were very friendly. I loved that they had a beach and pool area; spent most of my time on the beach. There is a lovely path to the right of the beach that takes you to a little private area where the surfers gather. Definitely worth the walk; it is beautiful and fun to watch the talented surfers. The hotel has a bath to the left of the beach that leads you to a very popular restaurant (Lava Lava) that is right on the beach and has beautiful sunset and the food was awesome. We went twice during our stay. The gift shop is very nice and has something for everyone. We attended the Luau right on hotel property and had the most beautiful sunset and they roasted the pig right in the ground. Staff was professional and so nice, making sure everyone had a good time! I did have a massage at the spa and they made you feel comfortable and welcomed and the massage was lovely. This hotel was just PERFECT. Clean, friendly, restaurants, shopping, beach, spa, Luau, nightly entertainment and awesome staff. I highly recommend this hotel. Not overly big but big enough to offer everything you could possibly need or want!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Perfect location for a decompression trip

    Reviewed by William G(Pleasanton, California) on Mar 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife had just recovered from an 8 month long, very serious illness. So we just wanted to relax in a beautiful, warm and restful place. The Marriott Waikoloa was a perfect choice. Plenty of things to do, but also a great place to just decompress. We quickly became aware of the the daily tropical drink special at the bar, and walks on the beach were very enjoyable. The hotel and grounds are very well kept, and the staff is friendly and attentive. There is a mandatory $30 /day/per room resort fee, but we took little advantage of it. The room (with king size bed) had been recently renovated, and it was very nicely appointed. We had a "pool view room" which provided a beautiful view of the pool and the beach beyond it. The sunsets were amazing. The hotel is outside of Kona and much quieter. We reserved a package deal through Costco for ~$2800 for 7 nights, including the room, breakfast, car rental and an all-day tour of the big island. The current best price on Trip Advisor is $313/night, or $2191 for 7 nights, just for the room, without breakfast ($60/day/couple), car and island tour. I highly recommend the Marriott Waikoloa Beach Resort and Spa for an Hawaiian vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great resort, awesome location, just a couple things to improve

    Reviewed by clhdoctor() on Mar 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The room: 5 stars. We stayed in one of the Hale suites, and it was stunning. Private lanai, outdoor private shower, huge room, all you'd want in a tropical vacation The location: 5 stars. Right on the beach, and the village surrounding it is easy to get around, charming, and a great addition The food: 4 stars. Overpriced and under-portioned. What you would expect from a big chain in Hawaii. They do have daily happy hour/specials though. Also, for such a large resort, there is only 1 restaurant, which seemed odd to me. Food service: 4 stars. Only 1 or 2 pool servers, and not in the middle of the week. No beach service. *Speaking of beach: beach is PUBLIC, and the chairs out there are first come first served, so non-resort people can come and steal them.* General hospitality: 5+ stars, and the reason that this review got a five star from me. We got a room upgrade, answers and responses to every question we asked with helpful information, a smile from every single employee there, and even a hospitality suite on our last day since we left on the redeye and needed somewhere to shower at the end of the day. Would certainly stay here again, and we had a lovely time!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX