Occidental Tamarindo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    A

    the daily activities and evening enterainment was the best i ever experienced, with the dancers at broadway level of quality, amazing!!!!!!!

    Reviewed by Anakyt on Feb 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    great hotel with an amazing helpful staff, great delicious food, entertainment was above any other resort, loved the location, the beach, a perfect holiday.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    We loved our stay. The manager of food and beverage is amazing "William" very interested in making the stay enjoyable

    Reviewed by Doyle on Jan 30, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    We had a great time! We just got back and we would go again to this same resort. We have NEVER said this before. the rooms were clean, the food was excellent. the pool warm and lots of room around the pool area to get out of the sun if you had too much. All in all perfect!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3489 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not what was expected

    Reviewed by Antonio M() on Jul 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Call center made it clear that check in was at 10am. Reception was rude and made it clear that rooms were never issued at 10am. We were issued our room key at 4pm which was terrible due to traveling with young kids. We were told to make reservations for the main restaurant because space was limited. The agent said that there were no issues making the reservation later. We went the following morning to make reservations and they said it was closed and there was no more space for the length of our stay. Very poor customer service. Never recieved welcome gift in our room which the call center stated we would receive. Needed to call daily for extra towels for our room. Speaking of towels, we never were able to use pool towels because there were never ever any available. The attendant would always say to check back in half an hour but they never came. Housekeeping ruined a new shirt because they spilled Clorox on the bed in our room and my child and I laid on the bed not knowing and our clothes was ruined. My child complained the rest of the trip from throat pain. Not our best trip to Costa Rica from this experience.

    Best Bang For Your Buck

    Reviewed by AaronEch() on Jul 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    You would be hard pressed to find a better value for your money than this resort. You have 3 meals a day available and the food is average to above average depending on the item. The pool is great and you have immediate beach access. The best part of the beach though is you aren't covered with other tourists or people selling stuff on the beach like you are on the main strip in Tamarindo. It is either a $5 ride or a 30 minute walk into Tamarindo so you are close enough but away from the activity if you want to be. Staff were very helpful and courteous. We will definitely stay here again.

    Not the best Barcelo

    Reviewed by OCsenior(Signal Hill, California, USA) on Jul 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Virtually every room assigned to our group of 47 persons has minor to serious flaws including failed air conditioners, toilets, showers; poor drainage in bath tubs/showers and lavatories; cracks on walls, painting overdue in many areas and rooms.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Just don't do it.

    Reviewed by NorthStar12616272938(Richmond, Maine) on Jul 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Not as advertised in any aspect. Pictures look great resort not so much. Food was mediocre at best. Rooms smelled. Staff at bar and snack bar seemed angry ALL the time. So sad! We also stayed in another resort and the people were absolutely lovely. My guess is this staff is not paid well and they resent the guests.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-1

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-1

    My dive adventure.

    Reviewed by Vacation17766059283(Columbia, Missouri) on Jul 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We flew from St. Louis Missouri to Costa Rica. On the way down to Costa Rica or Miami flight was overbooked we end up staying in Miami that night and took another flight the next morning. The people at American Airlines was helpful. We rented a car at Alamo everything went well. The country has a 13% increase in everyone’s taxes on everything starting July 1 so some of the other companies tried to jack up our rate because we left June 26 and the tax increase date was while we were visiting, I did not go for it and did not get charged ultimately. Hotel staff was great the food was good our rooms were large I would recommend this place

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX