Aston Islander On the Beach

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    G

    A great stay

    Reviewed by Glenn on Mar 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Spent two weeks at this lovely place and will be going back for sure. Great location & wonderful staff. Grab a free coffee or two between 0730-9am at the lobby. Nice pool area, simple & small, but that's all it needs. Poolside bar opens daily at 2pm and usually goes to at least 10pm. Lots of beach or lawn area to lay about. If you're staying more than just a few days, rent a bicycle to get around. You'll only need a car for two days to see the island. Make use of the taxi's, they are great and can take you out for a tour or day. Don't judge by 1st looks when eating out as there is some great food to be had. Paradise Deli, 5 min. walk towards the bridge, just behind the Shell gas station makes some great breakfast sandwhiches think omelette in a bun . Wahoo Seafood, 5 min walk towards Kapa'a, very friendly and great food. Bobby V Pizza, 10 min walk towards Kapa'a is one of the nicest thin crust I've ever had & they are planning to move into the Coconut Plaza when it's ready. Speaking of that, about half reno'd now with quite a few shops open. Don't forget the Lava Lava Club just down the beach or the Fish Market Cafe has more than fish just outside the main entrance. About 15 min drive to airport-$23 usd taxi ride.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1902 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not as advertised nor pictured.

    Reviewed by jameswalkington() on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    It looks like a run down apartment complex that happens to be by the beach. You cannot access the ocean from this resort due to volcanic rock. Insides are very dated. Cheap furniture. Haven’t seen a TV this small in a room since the 80’s. We had a PlayStation console in our room that the joystick didn’t work even when plugged in directly. Bathtub is small and shallow. Inadequate weatherstripping around the entry door. Some kind of fungus on the baseboards. Gutters hanging off the fascia. Can hear everything outside of our room! Just not at all a 4 out of 5 star that was listed.

    Clean, quiet, friendly

    Reviewed by JReichanadter(Indianapolis, Indiana) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We really enjoyed our time at the Aston. The staff was fantastic, the room was clean and quiet. We even had free movie rentals, free coffee and juice, and a free bike rental. The only thing we didn't like was the lack of fitness center. We didn't realize there wasn't one on the property. It's walking distance to a basic grocery store, a few restaurants and shopping. We would recommend this place for sure!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    First Visit to Kauai!

    Reviewed by wemblelw63(Victoria, Canada) on Mar 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We really loved the grounds of this hotel, a beautiful setting indeed! The pool area with hot tub and outdoor bar was very nice too. Nice beach area to enjoy :-) Our unit was clean enough but could stand to be updated. It had a small kitchen area with microwave, mini fridge and keurig coffee maker. There was lots of drawers to keep our belongings out of the way. Our neighbor was quite noisy late at night which was quite annoying. We tried to contact security but couldn’t reach them as the front desk isn’t manned overnight. They did a good job of checking things out the second night! It’s close to a market, coffee shop, and bike rentals etc.

    Extra Star for Location

    Reviewed by rolandt620(Lihue, Hawaii) on Mar 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Fantastic location on the beach, Great pool and pool bar. Grounds are kept immaculate. Love the outdoor areas of the resort. However, if you plan to spend much time in your room you might want to look elsewhere. Rooms are small and definitely in need of some updating and modernization. Lighting is poor in the bathrooms. The bed could use a new mattress. Just in need of some updating all around. But why go to Kauai and stay in your room. Just get outside and you'll enjoy your visit as much as we did. And near the Coconut Market which has many shops and local attractions.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Comfortable, great location and staff, nice grounds, good value.

    Reviewed by MrPopcorn(Minneapolis, Minnesota) on Feb 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We returned for an extended stay this year after enjoyable visits in 2018. Talked with a number of people that have been returning for years. It's an older resort, small, comfortable and more traditional than some of the more glitzy resorts on the island. It's right on the ocean, peaceful, nice pool and hot tube area, place to grill, poolside bar opens in the afternoon, there's live romantic music on the weekends but all is quiet by 9:00 o'clock. The grounds are well kept with beautiful examples of tropical plant, trees and flowers. It feels like it's a community off by itself, secluded, but in fact it's in easy walking distance to 7 or 8 restaurants, a coffee shop, drugstore, grocery and health food store. A couple of restaurants very near are as good as any we have eaten at on the island. Close by is a great place for a stroll on acres of undeveloped beach front. We have reserved our stay for next year and may only rent a car for planed excursions as in the past we have rarely used it. The rooms are efficient with comfortable beds,TV/DVD. They are non cooking but do have refrigerators, microwaves and keurig coffeemakers. The staff is wonderful. They are friendly, easy to like, very genuine people. If you are on the island to sight see, Islander on the Beach is a great home base location, central to all the major sites. Returning from a busy day of touring, Islander on the Beach feels like a refuge, a great place to sit on the lanai and watch the waves come in......... We have stayed in the Caribbean extensively and by comparison think the rates here are reasonable.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX