Oceano Palace Beach Hotel

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    S

    You get what you pay for, no more, no less.

    Reviewed by Sylvain on Dec 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    I would classify this Hotel as a fair deal. Food: not much variety, but excellent. Gym close on Sundays and Aqua bar and grill was close on the first Monday and the reason given was that there was not enough guess at the hotel??? The staff is excellent, specially the server Jose on the beach and Felipe at the sports Bar. I stayed in better 3.5* hotel than this one before, but they were more expensive, so yes i would go back if the price is right.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    Not worth the money for All Inclusive

    Reviewed by Marissa Rae on Oct 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Mountain view room is loud, dirty and small. Beds are horrible. All inclusive does not include water bottles, or any of the restaurants but the main one. The resort is dead during the week so you have the same menu for lunch and dinner everyday, and not everything on that menu is included either. They take a 500 peso deposit at check in and almost none of the front desk staff speak english. The pool is nice, and the ocean view is amazing. We ended up upgrading for 1800 pesos more to an oceanview room which was much better than the mountainside room we originally had. During the week the hotel is dead, but weekends are super busy! If you stay here get an oceanview room, and don't pay for the all inclusive.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1733 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Location!!!

    Reviewed by krazykprice(Browns Valley, Minnesota) on Jun 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Enjoyed our beach vacation staying here. The rooms were clean and well stocked for the most part. Bottled water was provided daily. Coffee was not restocked after 4th day which I was a little sad about. Many fun restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Overall, a great place to stay and enjoy Mazatlan vacationing.

    Can’t beat the location

    Reviewed by HeidiB2909(Henderson, Nevada) on Apr 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Personally, I really like this place, can’t beat the location if you want to be on the beach. It is. It the most updated but it works and you can’t beat the price for being right on the beach. I stayed here and at the sister location next door coral marina . They are both on the beach but I prefer the layout here . Seems more open , your pool and restaurant are looking at the beach from all angles . As mentioned by others, there is noise, this is not the hotel if you want quiet. It was ok for a few days, I found the neighboring coral palace to be quieter and a bit more updated but I like this layout and prefer this one in spite of live music until 10 pm.

    Beautiful location but.....

    Reviewed by Mark L() on Apr 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Pro's: 1) Beautiful location with a gorgeous beach 2) Large room with a large shower 3) Great balcony with beautiful sunset views 4) Good restaurants although variety was lacking Cons: 1) Service was marginal at best 2) Failed to get wash clothes and/or hand towels over half our days. 3) Running toilet that was fixed with a Coke bottle in the tank 4) Bartenders were novices and drinks were not good 5) All-inclusive had many qualifiers and confusing rules and times 6) Getting bottles of water was like asking for bars of Gold 7) They forgot coffee for the room coffee maker 3 of 7 days Overall, the experience was okay but one thing I would note before booking a stay here. There are very few English speaking staff members that made communication difficult. I do not blame the hotel for this, I just think it should be pointed out if you are a poor Spanish speaker like myself.

    Don’t go there

    Reviewed by LindaF54(The Pas, Canada) on Mar 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We checked in at 9:30 am and that part went okay, we were given a room but no bands yet and would not get it until 1:00 , they said because check in isn’t until 3:00. So we were very thankful we got a room as some on our Sunwing group did not get a room until 3:00. Also we had to give them a 500 pesos deposit, not sure what that was about, we were not told why.We could not get food or anything to drink unless we wanted to pay for it .The lobby is way too small when they are checking in people and out and guest are trying to cross it. We were sort of explained about the sister hotels, and they did give you a printed sheet. It is very confusing though, some resorts you can have breakfast only and you can only have lunch and supper at the oceano which is buffet. If you were at the Luna resort(quiet pool) you could have lunch but would have to pay. If you ordered a drink off the bar cart at Oceano you paid, confusing. When we checked in we were told we had to pay for anything as we were all inclusive . There are so many different colour bands I felt bad for the staff trying to sort things out. We had to wear 2 bands , 1 for all inclusive and 1 to identify us as sunwing client, why I don’t know, they couldn’t explain. Nothing like any resort I have ever been at , and we have been to quite a few. Staff- most of them were so nice and friendly, and hard workers, didn’t have a problem there. Food - not so great, the main buffet at the Oceano had minimal choices, and the inserts were not marked so you weren’t sure what you were eating So let’s say you do recognize it as let’s say pork it is on the tough side. They very rarely changed it up and it was 6 inserts only of hot(lukewarm) food, 2or3 salads , and a Mexican Station . We ate at the Roxy (ala carte)about 5 times, it was delicious . You need reservation, make it in the morning and there is no limit to how many per week you can do. We also did the romantic dinner at the Star which was good as well. We did eat breakfast at theLuna or the Star, the selection there were a little better, they will make bacon if you ask, but they don’t always have it . Rooms - we had paid for ocean view room and it was okay. We did have issues with lack of hot water and the toilet running all the time. You can hear a lot of noise from the hallway as well. We had so much noise one night from the beach and from one of the rooms until 5:30 in the morning . We did complain but they didn’t seem to care. We told the sunwing rep and he said he would try and move us to the Luna which is quieter , but we wanted to see the room first and he said it would not cost more. He would let us know the next day. So when we talked to him the next day he said it had to be done today, but we were leaving in 15 minutes for a city tour, which he knew as we booked it with him, we were not going to be back until 3:30 when he was gone, so we didn’t have a chance to do it, not so sure he really cared. Our housekeeper, Jupita was wonderful , always had a smile for us and even tucked the jammies under the pillow. You can hear the Tuba band from the beach and all the noise from the pool , just like the party is next door. We were on the 4th floor. beach& pool -the beach is wonderful for walking , lots of people swimming , shell collecting. Not enough chairs out there on the beach. We could not find a chair for 3 days on the beach or the pool. A lot of the chairs are broken and really need to be replaced. Pool at Oceano was crowded and noisy . From what we understand they sold day passes or weekend passes and there were way too many people there. Thankfully we found out about the pool at the Luna, and that is where we spend our last week( we were there for 2 weeks) very quiet and the bartender and servers there looked after us. They have bands there that feature a TUBA, they are walking up and down the beach and play, play, play. They try to outdo one another, so annoying .....They start after lunch and don’t stop until after dark. realize that is not the resorts fault at all and they play all down the beaches not just here. Side note, very very cool and windy in the afternoons. Activites & entertainment - where were they? Didn’t see too much of them , not even sure how many there were. They played volleyball some mornings, and heard bingo some days. I think they have to work all 4 resorts as I saw them at the Oceano & Luna so it just doesn’t work . They have shows, Friday , Saturday & Sunday only. The theatre is in the basement , we saw 2 and they were good. Odds & Ends - A lot of signs were in Spanish only, although we were few (English speaking )it would be nice to have all signs bilingual. -Some of the beach chairs were taken up by non guest on the beach, not too many to begin with so left guest without any - be nice to have a coffee table set up in the lobby for early risers. Nothing is offered until buffet opens at 7:00.although we did get coffee and hot water for tea at 6:30 from wonderful buffet staff . Would I recommend this resort, never, never, never . Enter at your own risk. Not even sure if we would go back to Mazatlan because of our experience .

    Well it wasn't snowing

    Reviewed by sundesire(Lethbridge) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I booked this location based on a charter company offering a discounted rate for a week all inclusive holiday and probably got what I paid for 3.5 star hotel Hotel was clean staff friendly and helpful Food: buffet offered average choices Al-carte Roxy's really enjoyed good food Paradise we reserved for the first seating service was rushed and the food must have been prepared well in advance as it was cold from being under the warming lamps. Hotel rooms: very plain lacking amenities- no hair dryer, coffee machine, bath tub

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX