The Reef Atlantis

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 2048 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Nice Hotel...long lines...

    Reviewed by josephvF4839QB(Freehold, New Jersey) on Mar 28, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Reef end of March 2021...love the Hotel...clean...comfortable...BUT...The Reef is away from all activities...there is a Starbucks in the lobby...15 to 30 minute wait daily...could be longer...the closest place for a drink is at the pool...Casades...lol...plan on waiting in line for drinks 20 to 30 minutes....so poorly managed....make reservations for dinner because half the fine dining restaurants are closed...just like half the specialty fun pools....like every other day....I recommend staying at the Cove or the Royal....

    Amazing stay at Atlantis

    Reviewed by bpf1977(Boston, Massachusetts) on Feb 23, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Reef - 2 bedroom suite in Feb 2021. Family of 5 -2 teenage boys and a 10 year old girl. Room was great - plenty of room with two couches that fold out to queen size bed so kids all had their own place to sleep. Also had a full kitchen. We picked Atlantis since it is hard to keep teenagers occupied and they have an amazing water park. We were not disappointed. Two main areas, the temple and power of tower. They alternate each day which one is open - BUT since the resort is not fully booked you never wait on a line. Lifeguards were saying it is usually a 30 min wait for each slide - we never waited more than 5 min and most times 0 wait time. Slides and lazy river were great. some tips 1 - Do get groceries before you arrive. Especially breakfast food. Most of the restaurants are closed or only open part of the time. And the food is EXPENSIVE. Not worth waiting hungry for a breakfast table and having that eat into your day. Also if you want some alcohol for your room you can pick it up right in the airport. 2 - Cabana is expensive but worth it for us. Special thanks to Dora who took care of us. Nice to be able to throw in your food order and hit the slides a few more times, then come back and your food is there. 3 - Dinners are expensive. Nobu and SeaFire cost us ~$400 each time. Food is very good though. Again limited options because a lot is closed but the Pirate Brewery is an OK alternative. 4 - Casino is fun but limited tables and seating so get there early. Great sports book also. Dealers were awesome Overall if you are looking for a nice, fun vacation with the family this place is hard to beat. The service was also incredible - everyone was no nice and worked so hard. Added plus on how strict they are with Covid - we felt very safe with all the requirements to get on the island and the onsite testing after 5 days.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great Stay at The Reef, Hot Tips and Just a Few Gripes

    Reviewed by Stay257442(Brick, New Jersey) on Feb 10, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My family spent a week at The Reef last year right before COVID swept the world and closed all travel. The resort is definitely top notch. We had two adjoining suites and it was plenty of room for my wife and I, our three kids, and my parents. We cooked most breakfasts in the room which I highly recommend as food is very expensive at Atlantis. You should take a cab into town and buy your groceries there as it is much much cheaper than the grocery delivery service available through the hotel. The suite itself was quite large and very comfortable. My only complaint is that it’s a little dated and the kitchen was beat up a bit. But Atlantis itself is a great resort, especially if you’re looking to just hang out and relax by the pools or beach and not embark on a cultural trip. And the name The Reef is no joke: there is a literal reef directly out from the beach there. My daughter and I saw two sea turtles, a giant sting ray and tons of fish just several feet out from the shore.

    5 stars for stay in Dec 2020

    Reviewed by Kim01198() on Dec 30, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Currently staying at the Reef. Very low occupancy so some service are not available but staff overcompensate for it and you do not wait anywhere. The water park is great for kids, currently no wait time. They do a rotation on which one slides are open so we can try them all during our stay. If you are planning a last minute vacation now is a great time for the Reef or any other Atlantis related hotel. I doubt that the current unique situation will repeat itself. Special thanks to all employees, as of now none would be less than 5 stars.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    3 Months, No Refund, No call

    Reviewed by Holderad() on Nov 09, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    It would be a serious mistake for anyone contemplating a stay at Atlantis to ever turn over money to reserve a room. It is now 3 months since I was promised my refund and still have not received it or any communication from Atlantis guest services. I would strongly advise any traveler who is considering a stay at Atlantis in the coming two years to only consider booking if they DO NOT CHARGE your credit card. Why? If there is any problem, you will never see your $10k+ again. Here is the ploy: their website says: WE ARE OPEN! You book, they charge the entire fee, and a day later you get a letter stating that the resort will remain closed until further notice. They are taking reservations after December 1st, and this is happen right now. It just happened to a colleague. Please, Please, Please do not book with Atlantis. This resort has become notorious for robbing its customers. COBID is one thing, we are well past that. This is flat out deception. I urge customers NOT to book until they relinquish there policy on charging the entire stay (or even. portion) prior to arrival. By the way, COVID is on the rise in the Bahamas and they are pressing forward with re-openning the tourist industry. Where is the disconnect? Where is the law?

    Individual ratings:

    Value

    Value-1