Legends Beach Resort

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    S

    Good property if you are looking for basic amenities at a reasonable rate

    Reviewed by Sandy on May 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great location, Relaxed Atmosphere, Friendly Staff

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    B

    Amazing staff and beach!

    Reviewed by Basia M on May 11, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Located on a great stretch of 7Mile beach. The garden side rooms are much quieter at night and located in a gorgeous setting. The beach side rooms are more active with the restaurant and bar being really close (It can be quite noise in this side due to a nightclub/bar close by). This is a family owned hotel and the staff is amazing.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    R

    Gorgeous sunsets and great service!

    Reviewed by RR on May 09, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Legends is great for those traveling to explore Negril. Close to restaurants and night clubs. Beautiful sunsets, and the staff is amazing- super friendly!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    Family Owned - Guest Friendly

    Reviewed by MJ on May 09, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Legends is a great option for guests looking to experience authentice Jamaica at a reasonable price point. Great staff!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Beautiful beach that is close to many amenities in Negril

    Reviewed by Kelly on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    For an authentic Jamaican experience, this is a great place to stay. The rooms are clean and the location is close to restaurants and clubs to experience Negril. The beach is beautiful. The staff was attentive and friendly.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    The Real Jamaican Experience!!

    Reviewed by Mel Dawe on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    This hotel is perfect for people who want the real Jamaican experience! The rooms are small, a bit dated but clean! Also the WIFI does not always connect, but the beach is absolutely amazing! The bar service is fabulous - it does shut down at 10PM but there are nearby local bars that have music

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    N

    Gorgeous sunsets from the beach front restaurant and bar.

    Reviewed by Nada on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great location. Resort is situated on the famous 7-mile white sand beach. Its a value based resort that offers basic ammenities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    S

    Super chill vibes and beautiful beach!

    Reviewed by Sam on Apr 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Very relaxed vibe! Really lives up to it's name, as they were playing some fun music, as well as had live singers in the bar at dinner time! The beach was beautiful, the water was amazing!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    B

    Staff great, Facilities very poor

    Reviewed by Brian V. on Jan 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    I believe the owners are delivering a product the absolute cheapest way they can with total disregard to the customers needs. The All Inclusive is a joke. They have very little to include. Very minimal food buffet choices. No wine. Cheap, cheap bar booze. No snacks. Rigid 2 hour dining hours No beach toys. Only two towels in rooms and they were thread bare. They took the towels in the morning , washed them and brought them back in the afternoon. Not enough towels to do a switch. Tough to take a shower mid day. No beach towels. Maybe consider Legends if you can get it cheap. Absolutely do not pay for all inclusive. This place is barely a 2 star

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1068 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Perfect spot to stay for Reggae Marathon!

    Reviewed by briana_lacey(Cleveland, Ohio) on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I stayed at Legends Beach Hotel in December 2018 over the Reggae Marathon Weekend. It was the perfect spot to be around all the action over the race weekend! Legends is along the race route and a shuttle picked us up and dropped us off right in front of the hotel. I usually stay at their sister-resort, Samsara, so I was familiar with the property but I never stayed in a room. Like Samsara, the hospitality, clean rooms, home cooking and friendly staff were also at Legends! We stayed on the garden side and were very pleased with how the security guard and local taxi guys would look out for us when we needed to cross the street! I loved waking up every morning to watch the sunrise, take a walk down the beach and go for a morning swim. I am never disappointed by these family-owned resorts and always look forward to my next visit! Thank you!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Laid back beach vacation

    Reviewed by hell0surf(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    If you are looking for luxury and amenities of a large 5 star resort - This place is not for you. This hotel is very relaxed and laid back. Bring your OWN beach Towel. Rooms are basic - bring your own soaps, shampoos and face cloth. Food was tasty, however choices very limited. No wine included in the "all inclusive meal plan". Jean who works the buffet was amazing. Always friendly. Special acknowledgement to the following dining staff: Kendrick the food services manager - very friendly, good at his job. Made an effort to get to know the guests, and was always there to please. Waiter - named Kes, outstanding. He made our breakfasts and lunch enjoyable. One other waitress who works in the evening - I forgot her name.( She is young, tall, very thin,) She always great at her job. Beach - Michael deserves a big acknowledgement as well. He does a great job every day. He will set up chairs and umbrellas for you, as well as keep the "vendors" moving along to lessen the harassment. He was always watching out for my daughters. If he tells you to "be careful" - heed his advise. The water is beautiful and swimmable. The beach is walkable - except for the constant hustlers that will bother you non-stop. Pool on beach side is very small. Resort was clean and maintained well. We did day trip to Samsara resort - nice change from beach. Beautiful views, great snorkeling. Not an area for non-swimmers. Water is deep, no shallow beach area there. I look forward to our next stay at this resort.

    Wonderland

    Reviewed by sippycup12(Milwaukee, Wisconsin) on Apr 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Weve never been out of country before. My bff and i did out research about all of negril and hotels. We found legends/samsara resort. We picked legends cuz it's closer into the mix of things and right on the sandy beach. We paid extra for the beach side room and I'm glad we did. It was beautiful. Staff was excellent. Rooms were awesome. Beach was the best. This is perfect location. We walked up and down for 4 miles each way and seen so many shops bars food other hotels people houses. It was awesome. Across the street is the mall for everything and anything. Then t herre is a club like 2 buildings down which was a lot of fun with locals drinking with us. Security was amazing. Everyone was so helpful with taxi and services if we wanted to go other places which we did go to ivans beautiful restaurant. Glad we picked a smaller resort rather than a big one tho. Loved everything and recommend to anyone. Miss you legends!! Your wisconsin chicks !!!

    Making Memories In Jamaica

    Reviewed by Marlin1978(Ocean City, Maryland) on Apr 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This year 5 of us decided Jamaica was our out of the country destination. I typically spend a ton of time pouring over reviews especially when leaving the country. Legends kept coming up in my search over and over, not only as having mostly good reviews but also being really affordable. I went back when we got home and read the reviews again and realized that you can't make everyone happy but Legends sure did make these 5 travelers so happy. You can stay in an all inclusive gigantic chain resort (nothing wrong with that, I've done it myself) or you can chose to stay in a smaller family owned resort which offers the option of all inclusive. We took the all inclusive and 3 rooms on the beachside. So glad we did. Never had to worry about the exchange rate or having enough cash. We took a bunch of ones and fives and tens for tip money as these lovely people work their tails off to keep everyone happy. I had no problem leaving the cleaners a couple dollars a day and a note to please leave 4 bath towels which they gladly did. The rooms were spotless everyday. I've never seen tile floors at a beach resort so clear of sand in my life. There's a large tv in each room but we didn't turn it on once, too busy loving life there. There are no safes in the rooms but nothing of our personal belongings were ever touched, never did I feel there was anything to worry about. There is not a fridge but since we were there for 6 nights, we rented one for $12 a day. The beds are about the only bad thing I would say about the resort, they could definitely be softer. The A/C and the fan in the room worked perfectly. There was a lovely balcony overlooking the resort. Plenty of locks on the door to make you feel safe. They provide small soaps in the bathroom but you must bring your own shampoo and conditioner. Every morning we woke up and headed to the restaurant to get breakfast. Along the way the cleaners were smiling and kind, the landscape crew would always say good morning with a smile. Breakfast was everything you would need without going overboard. Fresh omelets and eggs were made to order along with several other different items each day, fresh fruit, cereal and muffins. Lunch and dinner was the same way. There is a chef there to make made to order items along with 5 or 6 different accompaniments, some standard American fare and some Jamaican dishes. I recommend to try them all! The bartenders are great, there's a really long list of all inclusive delicious drinks or they'll pretty much make you anything you want. One of the nights we were there they had a wonderful family band come and play music while dinner was going on. They were incredible. The beach is gorgeous, there were plenty of chairs while we were there to sit on. People came and went as the day went on so there always seemed to be open chairs. The security on the beach is great, he'll help you in anyway he can. Yes, the local vendors are there alot but I would suggest trying some of their wares, after all you're in their country, try something or buy something local. They literally have EVERYTHING you could ever want. The meat pies were awesome. There is a driver that will take you to Legends sister resort, Samsara. It is free only two times a day, 10:30 going to Samsara and 4:00 coming back to Legends. However, it was only $2.50 a person any other time. So we paid the front desk and went to Samsara at our own leisure, had lunch, swam in the pool, laid on the sun chairs and jumped off the cliffs there. Great place to visit but I personally am glad we chose the beach resort over the cliff resort but to each their own. At Samsara you won't be bothered by the vendors at all. We walked to Xtabi (I don't recommend walking, take a short taxi ride, walking was super dangerous). That being said Xtabi is amazing and just a few minutes down from Samsara. Xtabi is a restaurant on a cliff that has caves underneath that you can explore, you can jump or climp off the cliffs or snorkel all day. We stayed for dinner at night and it was delicious, stunning sunsets too. We did some day trips also. I was flying blindly booking this trip so I wasn't sure who I should book our excursions with prior to going to Jamaica. Word to the wise, don't go with the big tour companies. The front desk at Legends has it all. We booked a Catamaran trip with a snorkel stop and a lobster lunch on an island from the front desk. $70 a person which included everything, I will never forget having lobsters cooked on an island for lunch. We booked a whole day trip which included YS Falls, Black River tour and a trip to the Pelican Bar (it's a bar a mile off the shore and another memory you'll never forget. I believe it was $60 a person but there was a $20 fee to enter YS Falls and a $20 fee to do the Black River boat tour. We had a private driver all day and a private boat ride to the Pelican Bar. It was late when we got back so our driver stopped at an incredible road side stand for jerk chicken. Every part of these excursions were 100% worth every dollar and all because of the hook ups the front desk has with these great local drivers. And please TIP, TIP everyone that you think made your day extra special. These people work so hard to keep everyone happy and safe. I couldn't ask for a better vacation thanks to the wonderfully beautiful people of Jamaica, the people of Jamaica are what make that country great. We had such a great time in the beginning, we had another person decide to fly to Jamaica and stay with us. Legends added him to one of our rooms (for a nightly fee of course) and provided him with the same all inclusive meals and a roll away bed to sleep. We used the pool at Legends on most of our 6 days, it was a great way to cool off after a hot day of excursions or laying on the beach. One evening we got back after dinner service had ended and just walked literally outside the gates and ate a road side jerk chicken stand. The restaurant and beach access does get locked down at 10pm but if you want some nightlife (and we did) we just walked down the road to Bourbon Beach. Nothing beats dancing to live reggae in the sand with a drink in your hand and the waves crashing behind you. We walked along the beach a little at night, we didn't feel unsafe but I can see where some would. It's not the most lit up area. But there's so many people around it's hard to feel alone. Everything is just so accessible at Legends, there's a little something for everyone. I came home feeling like I was immersed in the culture of Jamaica and the unforgettable beauty of Negril and wanting to return so badly. I don't think you'll get that at some of the bigger walled off resorts. The thing I remember most about Legends is the beautiful staff. Everyday someone was either singing or whistling or humming or smiling and that to me, reflects happiness. Which in turn made me happy. So Thank you Legends and your amazing staff of hard workers for making my vacation a perfect one.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Awesome Holiday

    Reviewed by LAMSummer(Kitchener, Canada) on Apr 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We recently returned from a 10 day vacation at Legends in Negril. We decided to stay in a smaller hotel and after seeing the size of the Riu or Grand Pladium I know we made the right choice, they are massive. We had an awesome time, the beach is amazing and in my travels I have never swam in warmer water. Remember at this resort to take your own beach towels or buy one across the street at the shopping centre for $10 US. There is also a Scotia Bank ATM in the shopping centre that disburses Jamaican dollars and US$. The food is home style cooking, basic but good. We went all inclusive and I loved that the cook served your food avoiding anyone taking food and putting it back which you sometimes encounter at a buffet. Kenrick was awesome, knowing our room numbers and names by the second day. He always made sure that our needs were met, we could get a table for four and managed any additional requests that we had. A shout out to all of the staff from the reception area who made change for us daily, and the maids who kept our room extremely clean. Michael was the best, educating us about burying the seaweed, ensuring that we got beach chairs and kept the vendors at large. I don't know how he does this all day but I can attest that our vacation was much more pleasurable with his presence. At the bar I can not say enough kind things about Latoy and Jennifer who served us many delicious drinks alcoholic and non alcoholic with a smile. All the bartenders and servers were great. The only negative thing I could say is the beds could be more comfortable. The rooms are a little dated but very functional. There is no refrigerator in the room, about three days prior to the end of our vacation we found you can rent a refrigerator. We never thought to ask at reception, probably should have. The employees at this resort work very hard to ensure you have an enjoyable vacation. I'd like to remind vacationers that although you are on vacation please pick up your garbage, it's not necessary to leave plastic glasses and butts in the sand. It takes a minute at the end of the day to clean up after yourselves. It's just common courtesy.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX