Iberostar Costa Dorada

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    G

    Great staff, but the facilities were poor. Not worth the price paid.

    Reviewed by G on Sep 11, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: August 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff was great, but the facilities were quite run down. Everything was dated, and poorly maintained. There were a lot of things broken in the hotel. Our air conditioner was broken, as was the mini bar fridge. The patio window didn't lock properly. A lot of the beach chairs were broken. The ice machine in our building was broken. I chose this resort because it had great reviews, but there is a pretty big discrepancy between the reviews and reality. Quite disappointed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    T

    Great property!

    Reviewed by Tracie on Aug 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The buffet was good. Sakura the Teppanyaki restaurant was really good. The resort was clean. The pool was very active. The only issue was no hot water first thing in the mornings but the rest of the day seemed okay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    t

    Poor value for the money.

    Reviewed by travel82 on Jul 13, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We were there for 2 weeks in June 2015; we are very disappointed. We regret coming here and not listening to the negative reviews because we thought people were over-reacting. We really do regret not listening to the honest negative reviews and instead listening to the positive reviews that all suspiciously seem to be worded exactly the same. We arrived in the hotel after 3pm. There were no welcome drinks not even water and after waiting for at least 30 minutes we were told by the person at the front desk that our room would not be ready for another hour and were told to wander around in the mean time. The room was generally clean. Our request for bed configuration was ignored. The ceiling in the bathroom was broken in a few places. There was what looked like mold in the bathroom. Sometimes something was dripping from the ceiling. The bathroom was in horrible condition. There were a lot of mosquitos, so mosquito spray is a must here. The water was good. However it got really windy in the afternoon, which made it near impossible to stay at the beach after lunch. The tables and beach beds were dirty and old. It seems like they were never cleaned. Several of the beach beds were broken – so when people would get on them in the morning they would get the lovely surprise of falling through them. There were quite a lot of weeds both in the water and on the beach. We did not stay near the pool so we have no comments on that. The food was okay. There wasn’t much variety though. The only time the food was actually good was when there was an inspection. The ‘fresh pressed’ juice in the morning was less juice and more water. The fresh fruit was delicious. There weren’t any ‘top shelf’ drinks – the highest quality I really saw was Johnnie Walker Red Label. The wine in the restaurants and the buffet wasn’t chilled and was kept at room temperature around 36°C . There was no point buying it. Another party of guests told us that they saw a rat in Building 5.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8391 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Outdated, Needs Work

    Reviewed by bikeacrossusa(Menasha, Wisconsin) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    If you want to come to a resort where the locals come to party, a dirty pool, and poor air conditioning, this is your place. We were here with a group and were less than impressed. Air Conditioning does not work well and rooms only have one outlet to charge your devices. Food was decent but gets very crowded, so get there early. The courtyard looks cool at night. I would not consider bringing my kids here.

    Time of my life

    Reviewed by AngelMarie1(New York City, New York) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Honestly, It was kind of scary to go through with my reservation with everything being said on the news. Upon check in we were greeted by everyone, chartered to our room and asked about everything that we heard on the news. The staff understood, and then went to explain that we will be ok and nothing of what we heard is true. My friends came later on in the day - we stood for 6 nights. I can honestly say the staff there is amazing. Never, during our trip did we encounter someone who was rude. They have so many places for everyone to hang out at. Nothing was ever too crowded. The food there was ok for an All Inclusive Resort. We went to the pool every single day, they had activities for the guest to participate in. Really nice to watch. They have the cutest Disco - stars on the ceiling and great choice of music. I will go again and again! Thank you to everyone who works there!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing resort with amazing staff!

    Reviewed by SharleneDias() on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We visited Iberostar Costa Dorada, for 8 days. We are a large group as we have 5 kids and the star prestige concierge worked diligently to get us rooms together. There are 2 levels, the regular visit or in “star prestige” which is a level up, to give you access to private beach area with cabanas, 2 private bars, and concierge service. My experience with this service was great! Elizabeth is very happy elpful in helping with any request from dinner reservations, to booking spa treatments. Yokaira was my personal concierge, she was simply amazing. Every day checking in to say hi, is there anything we need, greeting all the family by name when she sees us in passing, it really made us feel welcomed and at home. The food is good, the buffet (like most all inclusive resorts) gets a bit repetitious but it’s a decent selection. Sarita was one of the servers in the main buffet restaurant, his warm smile greeted our family every morning for breakfast, and (as I mentioned, were a large group with 9) as he saw us coming in he would arrange a table setting by putting smaller ones together to accommodate our family. The a La carte restaurants are fairly decent. The Mexican has a good menu selection, good service and friendly staff. The Teppanyaki, food if good quality, takes a little long to get your meal started. The hostess staff is not the most polite, we were late by a few mins and the host was incredibly rude to my children and I, our table was reserved and we could see the empty table, but he insisted they would “run out of food” for the next seating if he served us late. Not sure if that was a language barrier or just plain ignorant. He wasn’t sympathetic that we have 5 kids and after spending the day at the beach And pool in the hot sun getting everyone ready and downstairs for 6:30 is not always the easiest task. He did not offer any type or solution or later seating, just closed the large wood sliding door, so we couldn’t see inside. I went over to the star prestige concierge and Elizabeth immediately got me another “later” reservation for another day. Rooms are clean, and everything was in working order. No pests or bugs. Housekeeping staff is friendly and helpful. Overall we had a great trip. A great place for families, lots of entertainment in the evenings, shows wine tasting (with Henry, very kind and knowledgeable) bands in the court yard, there is lots to do!!. Not a huge resort so not overly crowded at the pool or beach. If you’re looking for a party type environment, (foam parties etc) this is not the place, if you’re looking for a nice relaxing vacation I would recommend it. I’m sure we will be back again!

    July visit

    Reviewed by Davvvvvvvvvvvve(Pensacola, Florida) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My trip with family was a good one. Hotel is dated but clean. Food was very good at the evening restaurants and buffets offered plenty of options to find something to eat. The snorkeling trip was a highlight and David(Black Shark) and Chico we great guides and an huge asset. They were far above on their customer service. Most of service staff was good also. Problems I experienced was the swim up bar on the weekend with locals(all very nice, but bartenders spent most of their time talking to them and not serving others non-Spanish speaking guests. The only other issue was front desk staff did not have money to make change and frankly did not care about my multiple requests. I like to tip workers when the service is good. Plenty to do throughout the day if you wanted to join in...

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Good place.

    Reviewed by Alabamagirl45years(Mobile, Alabama) on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I read tons of reviews before we left. This was our third trip to Dominican Republic. Two former resorts were Iberostar La Romana and Dreams La Romana. If you want an honest and fair review then here goes. The resort is great. We had two kids with each family and got family rooms. Parents have a room with king bed and kids have an adjoining room with two double beds. Rooms are clean. Reviews in June said they are renovating building 5 but now they are in building 6. Reviews also said workers were creapy. They were not. We stayed in building 7 which was perfectly in the middle. The food was great. Specialty restaurants were all good. Make your reservations as soon as you get there for all nights you want to eat at the restaurants and not at the buffet. Two days they had special lunches on the beach which were fun. We went diving with the resort and David and Chico were great. Loved the activities and shows every night. We never felt unsafe and were always busy. This side of the island is windier than La Romana but we never broke a sweat which was nice. Water is rough again because of the wind. So here you trade calm water for no sweat and always a great breeze. Yes Dominicans paid for stays during the weekend but they partied respectfully and were nice people.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX