Iberostar Selection Playa Mita

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    Pick another resort

    Reviewed by Louie on Feb 14, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    WestJet should seriously consider reviewing this resort and dropping it from their offerings. Definitely not a 5 star. Worst resort we have booked through WestJet over 14 years.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    T

    Never again.

    Reviewed by Thomas on Dec 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Watch out. They will try to upgrade your room at check in. Do not accept as the upgrade prices are outrageous. We got sucked in and regreted it. They give no other amenities with the upgrade at all. We paid over $3000.00 to be be upgrade to the Presidential Suite and all we got was a larger room. although it was very nice. Even the miniibar did not come with liquor as promised.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    J

    We love it here. This is our second time and it won?t be our last!

    Reviewed by Julie on Mar 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We absolutely love this hotel. Everyone goes above and beyond to make your stay a pleasant one. The food is amazing. The hotel and grounds are perfectly maintained. The pool is lovely. Rooms are immaculately cleaned daily and the turn down service is such a nice touch. I really cannot say enough about how friendly and accommodating all the staff are and I recommend the resort without hesitation. We will be back for a third stay!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Amazing experience! Nothing bad to say.

    Reviewed by Nicole on Jan 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    The staff were amazing, all amenities included - the cafe was amazing for coffee every morning. Cool billiards room to escape the heat every now and then. All restaurants had great food. Room service was fast. Amazing - planning our next vacation here already.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    First class all the way

    Reviewed by Angela on Dec 27, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    WOW!!! What A great place to stay..Everything N everyone was first class..

    A

    Can't wait to go back.

    Reviewed by Andrea W on Nov 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    I loved this resort. I feel like we got an amzing deal through Westjet. The flights and transfers were flawless. The resort is secluded and scenic.I was able to walk the beach for hours and see just a handful of people. The rooms are nicely furnished. Well stocked and very clean. We had fun everyday at the resort and felt no need to leave. The alcohol is "top shelf" and the food was fantastic. Even for vegetarians like me. If this resort is in your budget, do not hesitate to book! You will not regret it. I have to mention that the staff is amazing. Every single staff member was friendly and helpful.They will go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Great place for all ages and totally worth the drive from PVR.

    Reviewed by Andrew on Apr 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This is one of the few resorts we've stayed at where the hotel is better in person than it looks in the photos. The resort is large enough to have lots to do and lots of space, but small enough that it didn't feel like we were constantly walking a few miles to get anywhere. We travelled Thursday to Thursday. On the Sunday of our stay, apparently that was the start of a big Spring Break week in the US according to another guest from Chicago yet our hotel wasn't overrun with spring breakers, likely on account of the higher price and the distance from the airport. This resort is perfect for families of all ages. We had our two kids 5 & 3 with us and they had a blast at the splash park and kids club, and in the pool. It was a very good mix of people: families with kids, couples without kids, young, old. It was nice to have lots for our kids to do but the place wasn't completely dominated by families with screaming kids. We would go back here in a heartbeat.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4036 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A Great Place for a Destination Wedding

    Reviewed by John H(Vancouver, Canada) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife and I attended a destination wedding at this resort for our niece. We booked an ocean front room. We travelled with a large group who also stayed at this hotel. Customer service was top notch from almost everyone. Personally I would retrain the Concierges. Talked to four about an issue over 4 to 5 days. Not one resolved yet each said they would. The beach was beautiful, and one could go for long walks on the beach or swim or just enjoy the sun and surf with an umbrella and lounger. They had two life guards when we were there. First time in five plus trip to Mexico have I seen a life guard. The buffet food was plenty and was of large variety. No one would starve or get bored by the selections here. Service in the Buffet at times was excellent and other times just ok. However, given the resort size they did a fine job in all the restaurants overall. It is a quiet resort far from Puerto Vallarta but close to the surfing town of Sayulita, 20 minutes by cab. Rooms were very good and very clean. The maids were hard working and did a great job during our week stay. The specialty restaurants: Mexican- good, Steak House-good, Japanese good and the French- fair. Portions sizes in the latter two were just too small and food quality was lacking. Each did not do a very good job of representing the specialty areas they were noted for. My wife and I expected a bit better from a claimed five star hotel. We have had better food in specialty restaurants on our many trips to Mexico. However, our stay was a good one and the food in general was very good and lots of variety. The nightly shows were exceptional. The wedding held and the after party and DJ was run very well. I would definitely go back to be spoiled another time. I would say this hotel rates 4.5 stars. Just a few things need fixing. Be prepared to walk if you go. Large resort. It is one of the better outside of Puerto Vallarta and 45 minutes North from the Airport.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Great Hotel

    Reviewed by AnnieW1013(Portage, Michigan) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I stayed here for a long weekend over Easter. That was actually the only downside of the hotel, it caters to families and the place was packed ot the gills with them. My mistake obviously being a solo traveler in the most busy time of year for family travel in Mexico! The hotel is about 45 minutes outside Puerto Vallarta so it's secluded but the hotel has very reasonable rates on daily shuttles to the nearby cities or back into PV if you want to make the trek. The staff at the hotel are fabulous! I don't remember the last time I had such great service! The cleanliness of the hotel is unsurpassed and everywhere you go there is someone cleaning something. Great pool area with sloping entrance at the kiddie end. Beach and beach service were amazing. Surrounding views were breathtaking at sunset on the deck. Food is just average for an A.I. Not great and not terrible but it's what kept me from giving this place 5 stars instead of 4 because everything else was fantastic. I'll be back.

    Kids happy Momma happy!!

    Reviewed by Connector84670() on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I cannot say enough great things about this place!! They did an amazing job at everything but what really impressed me was their Star Camp. Totally flexible daycare for kids without making the kids feel like they were at daycare. My daughter begged to go everyday. They watched them from 9:30am till 10:30 pm (with only a dinner break). They involved the kids and had a huge variety of activities. Our kids ranged from 6-13 and all 4 of them had a blast! The kids were happy and my husband and I actually felt like we got a vacation. We could come get the kids whenever we wanted. The flexibility was amazing. The staff was amazing. We will definitely be returning!!

    Highly recommend for families with young children - can’t wait to come back!

    Reviewed by Clarisse M(Port Coquitlam, Canada) on May 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just got back from an 8 day vacation at Iberostar Punta Mita. Second time in Puerto Vallarta, 4th time in Mexico. Of all the resorts that we’ve been too I feel that this is the best bang for your buck for families with young kids. The resort is beautiful - it had a nice big resort feel but it wasn’t too big that you needed a shuttle or golf carts to get you around - perfect for us since we have 2 young children - 3 YO and a 10 month old. Food was great, maybe not as much choices as other big resorts would have - but as said having 2 young kids we couldn’t really sit down long at a restaurant to fully enjoy the experience anyway. Having said that the service that we received at the restaurants were amazing - staff was efficient and super friendly. The rooms were ok, maybe needs minor cosmetic adjustments but the attentiveness of the cleaning staff made up for it. Rooms were always well kept, and housekeeping was quick to respond to our requests. I have to give the biggest compliments though to the staff at the kids club. Karla and the rest of the ladies and gentlemen at star camp are sooo amazing. My lil boy had the time of his life doing all the activities and the staff there were soo attentive. These ladies have soo much energy - they’re as fun at 9 am until we leave the club at 10 pm! The biggest reason I’d definitely come back would be for the kids club. I don’t normally write hotel reviews but Karla and the staff had wowed me soo much that I had to write a review to give them some love! Thank you iberostar!

    Average

    Reviewed by 435bonnieb() on May 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    It’s ok if you’re not a frequent traveler and don’t know any better. I typically stay away from all -inclusives because it’s about cooking for and serving the masses as efficiently as possible and making it look tropical and serene, but its really not high end food or amazing service. If you are used to anything better than a cheap all inclusive deal where you feel like you are part of the herd being fed average food then this is not for you. But if you’re trying to save a buck then you’ll enjoy it.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX