Iberostar Grand Bávaro

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Luxurious Getaway

    Reviewed by JR on Jun 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Nautical with old world style. It sort of reminds me of the Venetian in Vegas in regards to the d?cor. The food is excellent with the highlight being the Italian restaurant. La Tentazione. The steak was to die for (and I lived in Calgary the home of some of the very best steak) and for me a treat was that even though it was an Italian restaurant there was very little garlic (love it, but it doesn?t love me) in the dishes. Lots of variety in restaurants, shops and entertainment There was an outstanding Saxophone player in the evening that you definitely have to see. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms were lush and comfortable with plenty of room and nice amenties included. They also often have fabulous golf specials so definitely ask about them if you like the sport. There is a fun Pirate Ship Bar and Disco that I recommend you check out. Also if you stay at the Grand you also have access to the Iberostar Dominicana and the Iberostar Bavaro Suites. Will definitely be back for a stay here, plus walking through the sister resorts was nice as there were lots of cool places to stay when you want to get out of the sun for a while.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Great food in a stunning environment. Absolutely loved it.

    Reviewed by Theresa on Jun 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Absolutely gorgeous location. The day we arrived had a few clouds in the sky which totally made me compare this location to the inside of the Venetian Hotel in Las Vegas where the gondolas are. It was absolutely stunning with the 'lake' complete with a pirate ship. We had dinner at the fine dining French restaruant complete with sommelier which was fabulous. The service was excellent. I would definitely come back again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 12295 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not a Grand only an Iberostar

    Reviewed by Banshee1Luv(Cavendish, Canada) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    On arriving at the Grand we were greeted with nice cool towels and a welcoming drink which is nice after travelling all day. At check in Rafael was the desk clerk and we were surprised by Rafael telling us that our room wasn’t ready till 12:00 but for 60.00 US each he could find a room for us. We declined and said we’d wait in the lobby bar till 12:00 since it was 10:30. I have never had to wait for a room at a Grand no matter what time we arrived. Rafael called us back to the desk at 11:00 (somehow he found a room without being paid 120.00 US) and said he could give us a room overlooking the interior of the resort but we would have to sign a waiver stating that we would never be given an upgrade again. This was my fifth time at a Grand and seventh to an Iberostar property; I guess there is no loyalty program in place at the Grand’s anymore. We were tired and signed the wavier. When we arrived at the room there was no view only of Palm leafs and nothing in the mini bar or bathroom. They no longer stock the mini bar with small bottles of alcohol, small bottles of wine, chips, chocolate, or nuts. If you want a drink of some alcohol you have to call your butler to bring it to you which can take time in-between drinks. The resort is still as beautiful but selection of food has gone downhill. The only place you could get a decent steak was at the poolside grill station, they offered strip loin steaks. All the other steaks in the buffet were very small and thin. There was Alaska king crab and east coast lobster in the evening buffet but I couldn’t find snapper or calamari. The Alaska crab was delicious. A couple of great chefs are Jose and Javier, these guys work so hard to keep everyone pleased. Our daytime room attendant was Lucy, several times I went back to the room to get something and Lucy always had the door to our room closed. Why??? Nothing was missing from my room but this made me very uncomfortable. All the other rooms were cleaned with the doors opened. Our evening room attendant Diani was awesome! She cleaned our room so well and was a joy to talk to. Thank you Diani! Smeldin was a very helpful guy, he always had a smile or kind word for us, thank you Smeldin! Biorquis Rondon from public relations was very helpful in quite a few matters, thank you Biorquis! Andrew Wright was very kind to us; he always had time to talk to us which is nice. We had an emergency back home and made a phone call, Andrew had the charges reversed. Thank you Andrew! Before we went on vacation I talked to many people on Trip Advisor who use to love the Grand Iberostar Bavaro but after management changed hands would not go back. I totally understand what they are talking about now and we also will not be going back to the Grand Iberostar Bavaro. There are so many other resorts that care about their clients to spend my money on. Obviously this Grand doesn’t.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Best Service!

    Reviewed by e_cuevas19(Queens, New York) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our stay here was nothing short of amazing. We went for a wedding and felt fully taken cared of. The onsite butlers were always available to help us book reservations or assist with any requests. The food at the restaurants, snack bar, and buffets were all delicious and had great variety. The alcohol was all top shelf. With all the recent bad press, the hotel was bit empty which was a shame. My family is from DR and so disappointed that propaganda is influencing mass American opinion. It is completely safe and fine to travel there.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Fantastic Week

    Reviewed by Thatwhiteguy(Dallas, Texas) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great food - with the exception of the French restaurant. Very nice, very clean rooms. Resort grounds are well maintained. Butler/room service was good, though they seemed a bit annoyed at how many beers we were requesting; I guess they aren't used to heavy drinkers. Great place for couples, newly weds and almost deads, no a whole lot of singles. Out of the five different resorts I've stayed in the DR, this is hands down the nicest, and quietest. Staff everywhere has been top notch.

    Relaxing Getaway

    Reviewed by vjconti04() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I went to the Iberostar Grand Bavaro for our anniversary. It exceeded our expectations. The food, service, beach, amenities....were exceptional. The staff made us feel special at all times. The service on the beach by the Star Prestige staff, especially Carlos, was on point. Each day they made sure we had plenty of ice cold water and beers. Thank you for a remarkable stay....we will be going back!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Amazing!!!

    Reviewed by Gpfwilson() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have just returned back from spending 2 weeks here on holiday! And wow what an experience, absolutely amazing staff, butlers, restraunts & room. We tried and loved all restraunts, buffet had loads of choice! Our butler Edward couldn't of helped us enough, always there asking if we was ok or if we needed anything. Armando and Ruth were amazing entertainment team, always came around and asked if we wanted to go join in with the activities, very friendly and both every bubbly people who always made effort with us. Maids always left beautiful towel art in our room and on our last night made us a bath with champagne and rose petals. One night when at a restraunt one of our family had cold and a man in a suit (cannot remember his name) came over and told us he had put the air con on because he could see that he was struggling with coughing - this just shows the extra mile that they are willing to go to Just to make sure you enjoy your stay. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning!!! We had planned to surprise one of our family members with it being their birthday with having the table decorated and wow they didn't help pull through!!! We had glitter and rose petals all over table a handmade flower centre piece and some champagne! They then came out and sang happy birthday with a cake. Franklin(not sure of his real name but that's what everyone called him) sang and had an amazing voice. He also made loads of effort with us making sure we all was ok and had drinks. Only thing that was slightly gutting was that they had closed the Theatre and was doing the shows in the lobby. Luckily on our last night they did the Vegas show in the theatre and it was amazing!!! When watching shows in the lobby it felt like the band, singers and dancers where very restricted.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX