VIK hotel Arena Blanca & Cayena Beach

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    s

    Not a great first impression, but enjoyed this hotel overall

    Reviewed by sfseibel on Jan 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Family vacation 3 kids (11,10,6) We learned to enjoy this resort. Great pool, fantastic beach. Basic amenities in room (one towel & pillow per person, no clock, no dresser, 5 hangers in closet, 2 chairs on balcony for a family suite). Room was always clean and lots of bottled water placed for us in our mini fridge. Buffet was great - kids found lots to eat, adults enjoyed the variety. We were approached at many points for upgrades, tours, services etc. at the resort and on the beach, but never harassed - people take no for an answer. Kids mini disco each evening on the stage was a great highlight for the kids. Glad we brought pool toys/floating mats/masks for the kids - kept them entertained for hours at the pool. Read thorough the reviews, bring some extra supplies, create reasonable expectations in your mind and this is a very good budget-friendly family resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Lobby needs TLC - deceiving web site

    Reviewed by Debbie on Feb 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    The advertisement is very deceiving. There are only 2 alacartes at one time. Main Buffet was closed and due to open by end of week Feb 24/2017 but remember thats dominican time . 2 restaurants for an 11 day week is repetitive but the food is very good. They used one of the restaurants and converted to the Buffet. Was considerable smaller and you sat with strangers most of the time. Fridge in room you have to pay $75 for the week one time fill that is not on this site either. site also has to be updated. very old pictures. If the price is right i would recommend but please note lobby is very depressing when you first see it. rest of resort is great. it just needs a little TLC I would return if price was right and to see the knew buffet we couldn't use.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    f

    French speaking and smoking resort

    Reviewed by froggygirl on Mar 25, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great location! Nice beach! The staff was not accommodating at all. We paid for a King bed and got two twin beds and they never changed us after we complained right away. Oceanview was more like ocean peek. Could hardly see the ocean. Food in the buffet was really good and a nice variety every day. The a la carte restaurants were not very good at all. This resort was a majority of French speaking people. If you are a non-smoker, don't go here. People smoke every where, except two sections of the buffet. I would never go back to this resort :

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    This resort is for smoking and french speaking people.

    Reviewed by Joyce Reitsma on Mar 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The VIK Hotel Arena Blanca was a good hotel but it has the majority of French speaking people that go there and they are catered to. The smoking at the resort was ridiculous! It was every where, except two sections of the buffet. We paid for a king bed and got two twins and they never changed us to another room. The hotel was clean and the food was good in the buffet with quite a variety every day. The a la carte restaurants were not good at all. I would go back to the Dominican but not this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3777 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Best Staff

    Reviewed by shannanjohns(Thornton Heath, United Kingdom) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Visited here in October 2014, so quite some time ago now. I went with my partner for two weeks. The staff at the resort were so friendly and gave the best service I've experienced. The restaurant staff got to know us and what we ate and drank. My partner and I would be given a drink refill at the restaurants before we had even finished the other one. The hotel had a free pool table which surprising not many hotels have anymore. The rooms were abit dated at the time, however were making changes to renovate the hotel especially the rooms. We made lots of trips that were also cheap they had a guy called Andy at the resort who sorted out all our trips. We even visited a different hotel in the area two years later and came back to Andy to rebook trips as he always sorts us out with a good deal. Overall, the staff made our experience so great and we really enjoyed to holiday.

    Plesent surprise

    Reviewed by MariaPiaS5() on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What can I say amazing trip, very clean, well kept buildings and grounds, beautiful clean beach, Good food and lots of it, very good pizza available all day, buffet very plentiful, a la carte very good no reservations needed. Lots of places usualy near the bars coffee, cappuccinos, lates availabel all day with cookies or sandwiches. Hotel not too big everything close by, plenty of beach chairs (no reservations). Entertainment fair Carlos and Patrizio came to talk to us even though we did not participate in any activities that they were offering. The staff very helpful in our group one of the rooms had a problem with the lock, maintenance came right away with a security agent that stayed with the workers, so that the guests could be free to go where ever they wanted, which was very appreciated. All in all very enjoyableplace. Thank you to all

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    My first trip to Punta Cana

    Reviewed by Gwendolyn B() on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My sister and i decided to get away this winter and I picked this resort based on the reviews and the price. We went with Transat. We arrived late in the evening and our room was not what I had expected as a "supreme" room. The next day we met with George the rep for Transat and we received excellent service from both him and the resort in changing rooms that day. They moved us to building 1 and we both agreed that it was much better. The choices for food gave us an opportunity to choose where and when we wanted to eat. When we ate at the beach, the selection was small but everything we could want. Both of us had a massage with Angela for 1 hour. She only charged us $65 US. Since both of us had different areas for her to work on and we were more than satisfied with the results. The main reason for us to travel this year was to get a break from the winter. We spent most of our day at the beach or pool. Both areas had lots of available space for either shade or sun. George had advised us that when you wish to purchase anything from the vendor shops on the beach to really reduce the price. I purchased a beach coverup that he was trying to tell me sold for $80 US. I would not go over $15 and that is what I got it for. It was not a large resort, which was nice. Lots of families from different countries. Not rowdy, but lots of evening activities that you could choose from. We would go again to this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing trip!

    Reviewed by GrandTour41889() on Feb 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Character. Cleanliness. Kind, smiling staff. Wonderful pools. Incredible white sand beach that you can walk on for miles. Never an issue getting a beach chair. Good food. I have no clue why people have left negative reviews other than negative people like to leave negative reviews. My daughter and I loved our stay, and this was after looking at other hotels during our Bavaro beach walks. The hotel is older, but well kept, and that's what gives it its character. Terrazo tile walkways beat concrete anytime. The restaurants were good, especially the mexican and the buffet always had plenty of good choices. The staff were very accommodating and happy. And the beach! Magic. It will very relaxing. Not so big that you felt "lost", and we prefer a smaller, more cosy place, but definitely not too small. We will definitely return. Ignore the negatives - if some are founded, I am sorry, but I didn't experience any.

    6th Visit, Great Value

    Reviewed by Lyncal(Elkton, Maryland) on Feb 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Stayed here for the 6th time Feb. 9th to 16th. Quick check in and bell boy to take our bags to the room. Santos on the front desk was incredibly helpful with a room issue (one king bed, when we requested two doubles) He spoke excellent English and went out of his way to help us out. Room was clean, fluffy towels every day. Only complaint we had for the entire week was the lack of hot water, it was warm but never hot. Think it was a resort wide problem at the time. Only ate in the buffet restaurants. Great selection at all times. Breakfast was my favourite meal and Leonardo, the egg guy, was fantastic. He has worked there years and is certainly a great asset! I recognized a lot of staff members from previous visits and found them all to be friendly and happy to help. Grounds are beautifully maintained and seaweed on the beach kept to a minimum. Beach has plenty of palapas and we had no trouble finding space at any time of the day. There are no reservation signs on all palapas but not sure how well that works. Overall would highly recommend this resort. It is one of the smallest we have stayed at. Not the livliest place for young people but enjoyable for us older folks! Great value for the money and would happily return again. See you next year!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX