Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma
    6. Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    Snorkeling right off the beach in this smaller 150 room hotel which is max 50ft from the beach! No golf carts necessary... Great for kids!

    Reviewed by KyBosh on Feb 21, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    50ft from the beach... small 150 room resort where you actually get to know the staff and many of the other guests. Great for kids... and great entertainment every night culminating with the fantastic bbq seafood dinner with latin dancers and fantastic music. Pelicans diving for fish right in front of us on the beach and snorkeling right on the same beach. They have a shark net which also keeps away the pesky seaweed which is seasonal in these parts... Food was better than the other bigger hotels AND they didn't try to HARD SELL us on the time share like at the massive hotels. They do ask if you are interested but as soon as you say no thanks, they don't keep trying to sell you.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Of all the resorts and vacations in my lifetime (100+), this resort was the best!

    Reviewed by Nancy Polleis on Feb 11, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The whole vacation was flawless from start to finish. I have to say that whoever manages this resort is someone pretty special because everything was as promised PLUS - right down to the finer details. The two of us felt completely at home because the staff was so friendly, humorous, accomodating, fun, energetic and playful. The activities were non stop and very well organized. The front desk management was extremely professional (especially Oscar!). The beach, bar and restaurant staff were SO much fun treating us like family all the time (especially Raul, Avolino, Enrica, Noel, Eduardo, Manuel, & all staff at Blue & Grill). The beach activities were lots of fun and well organized. The long walks on the beach were amazing. Snorkelling was wonderful. Spa was great. Food outstanding. Cleanliness abosolutely perfect. I can't think of a negative thing to say (and normally I'm pretty judgemental). So, my friend and I plan to come here 2-3 times a year now. There's no reason to search elsewhere. Everything we needed was right here. Thanks Azul for a great sunny happy vacation!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Best ever and loved it.

    Reviewed by Senior Gary and Mama on Jan 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    BEST EVER, Food awesome, service you could not ask for better, personal service, warm, friendly and safe. We started going 1 time a year now going 2 times a year and do not want to go anywhere else. We highly recommend this resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4579 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Absolutely incredible!!!

    Reviewed by sarahwest97(Cheshire, United Kingdom) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my first ever abroad holiday and I was blown away with how amazing this hotel is. The restaurants had the best food, the service was impeccable, staff extremely friendly and happy to help, our room was outstanding. Made the perfect first holiday- the security was excellent and everyone was very welcoming. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here, I have had the best week ever and would love to come back again. In May there is a lot of seaweed on the beach, however that has to be the one and only downside. The staff even helped us on the way home in the airport to find where we needed to go. We Went to dolphin discoveries while staying here which was truly incredible and would definitely recommend going to. Couldn’t have imagined a better holiday!! Thank you to all the staff there

    Could be improved for adults...

    Reviewed by Olympias_Daughter(Vancouver, Canada) on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Good hotel, good food, great staff etc but unfortunately adults without children get the short end of the stick on this resort. We were told there was live salsa at night in the restaurants but that felt like false advertising. Nothing else was provided or suggested for adults. There was a show when we arrived but having a half hour show by native dancers for one evening could be improved upon. Considering you have to find and arrange your own entertainment, the third party company in the hotel lobby that do the activities booking could use a little more oversight from the hotel. Patti is pleasant but lacks follow through. There was zero coordination between the hotel and the snorkel booking company in the foyer when we had issues with Albatross Tours. Room service was good, restaurants were good. Staff was amazing. Good size rooms, quiet surroundings. Overall it was a good hotel but not great. However it was much better than the zoo that is The Azul Fives in Playa del Carmen.

    Perfect wedding

    Reviewed by mowgli1990() on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Wow - such a beautiful and incredible resort which surpassed all expectations. We also got married here and cannot thank the amazing wedding team enough- Ilianes, Elana and Rafael you made the day run perfectly and completely put Daniel and I at ease from the moment we met you all. The restort itself is beautiful and secluded but still has full access to wonderful excursion activities which we took full advantage of. The room vary as expected with prices but all rooms are comfortable, clean and nicely presented. A special shout out to Claudia from the reception team who was always so extremely helpful and always smiling. We cannot wait to return next year !

    Small, personal, great for family

    Reviewed by osmurad(Toronto, Canada) on May 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Absolutely excellent. Good food. Good service. Good tequila! The tequila bartender was amazing and helped me choose some good tequilas to take home. Food was excellent. Great ceviche. Liked the Latin restaurant. Italian was a second. Was small, personal and great for kids. We had a swim out suite by the front small pool and it was perfect to access most of the resort. Room was nice although needed a fee small fixes but overall 5 stars. Definitely going back. Keep it up. One of the good ones.

    Azul Beach Resort Riveria Maya - Villa Casa del Mar

    Reviewed by Carolyn K() on May 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The entire team who worked at the Villa Casa del Mar were exceptional and made our vacation so special and memorable. They were attentive, friendly and professional. Our butler, Cesar, went above and beyond to arrange excursions and troubleshoot any issues like getting medics to treat one of our guests. Cesar’s understanding of the English language is superb. We have had several butlers at other resorts and César is the best. Our chef, Primitivo (Chivo), surpassed our expectations with the food he prepared for us. He aimed to please and he did. He surprised us with the quality and quantity of food at every meal. Victor also aimed to please through top notch service of drinks, snacks and meals. Victor was very observant about our likes and dislikes and catered to them. One time when we ate breakfast at the resort instead of the villa Victor carried my plate to the table noticing I chose bacon from the buffet. Next breakfast at the villa included bacon. Leticia and Brenda did a great job of cleaning our rooms and the villa. We appreciated their extra touches of chocolates on our bed. They were like ninjas cleaning up after us...always cleaning in the shadows. I can’t say enough about this villa team of staff. They are simply amazing. When they say “it’s my pleasure” they truly mean it. By the end of our one week stay at Villa Casa del Mar they felt like family. The villa itself is beautiful. We wanted a memorable family vacation and we got it here. By sharing wonderful meals and pool time together we all grew closer. The only problem we experienced at this villa was plumbing in some of the rooms. Cesar was determined to get that fixed.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX