Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    P

    I would like to add that we were very happy with the kids/explorer club. Linda,Luisa,Yuly,Angelica, and Laura were absolutly great.

    Reviewed by Peter AB, Canada on Mar 22, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Was scammed first 15min in the door. Was immediately offered an upgrade for room and preferred group for 300us . After declining was immediately sat down and offered the room for free with coupons if agreed to sit down for timeshare presentation. Constant upsell for spa coupons and restaurant . Be Aware!!! I have contacted expeda and west jet who are currently investigating the situation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    H

    Easy to walk, very friendly hotel

    Reviewed by HoneyChaps on Dec 10, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We travelled with our 11-month old baby first week of December 2016 and we had a great time. We are extremely pleased by the hotel staff. Everyone is so friendly. Only two negative comments: -1- mandatory sales pitch when you arrive, a bit annoying but after that it's over -2- rooms are not soundproof, we could hear the doors shutting in the hallway and neighbours sneezing. The best food was everything fresh guacamole, salad, fruits, juices, etc or grilled/cooked on demand fish, shrimps, omelet, chilaquiles, etc . Amazing breakfast. Okay restaurants best was the duck at French restaurant. There were always chairs and clean towels available at the pool and beach. There were sufficent shaded areas. Bars everywhere and food at all time. It's great to have Avis car rental on site for road trips. We were also there for honeymoon and they made something special in e room - but we reminded them 3 times, be prepared.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5938 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    8th time!

    Reviewed by Ksem(Kelowna, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First the good, this resort has the most amazing staff!! Everyone is friendly and works so hard to make your vacation perfect. Huge shout outs to Mario, Ana and Benito at the preferred beach club. Mario is a super star, he is so friendly and organized... remembering everyone's names and chatting with guests to make them feel appreciated and special. Daniel, Alam and Eliceo in the restaurants were all so friendly and welcoming. We really enjoyed our conversations with them. Watersports - Nick was great with our son introducing him to scuba in the pool. Super friendly and really knows his stuff. Unfortunately it was difficult to use the hobby, we were only able to do so one of our seven days. The captain wasn’t very accommodating, would be great if other staff was trained on it. We stayed in a preferred club swim out suite again and loved it. These rooms are located further back from the beach but that being said it is only a 5 minute walk to the beach and these rooms are nice and quiet. All of the staff that work to keep the grounds so spectacular need a shout out, the resort grounds are perfection! As for the food... this is where Dreams is falling short. The food is really closer to a 3 star not a 5 star. The buffet is loaded with lots of options but the a la carte dinners are average at best. Himitsu for dinner was awful, the worst meal we had here and I would suggest only eating here at a teppanyaki table otherwise skip this restaurant all together. Gohan was our favorite, the sushi was fresh and enjoyable. The Italian was ok, the pasta dishes were all very salty though unfortunately. The seaside grill for lunch has such a boring menu, it hasn’t changed in years. It should have some awesome tacos on the menu, everyone LOVES tacos! AMResorts needs to put more effort into the quality of the food they are serving, it really needs some TLC. The entertainment team was friendly and works very hard to include everyone and set a fun vibe at the resort. Ricky was amazing and went out of his way to make us feel so special on our 8th stay. He and Mario surprised us at the beach one afternoon with cochinita pibil tacos and a beautiful cake. It was just amazing and the tacos were AWESOME!!! All in all, we will definitely be back! The staff at this resort steal our hearts every year!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Dreams Tulum - all you need to know

    Reviewed by O995QMbent(London, United Kingdom) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We are currently on our last day here at dreams and overall the holiday has been incredible. Dreams is a good place to stay but takes a bit of working out. The room - the room is great, we had a swim out room and the preferred club access. I would highly recommend this route as the kids loved being able to jump straight in a pool from the room. The rooms are a really good size and clean. The preferred club give you access to the lounge and a private part of the beach, this is well worth it for better service and a bit of quiet. The grounds of the property are fantastic and the kids loved wandering around and finding new places to play. The Bars The preferred bar is really good if a little strange and god know what the chef is up to with the snacks in there, from a carrot and something mess that looked like it was the remnants from the sink after washing up to the scotch egg style grape with cream cheese and panko. Do not bother eating here but the drinks are good. The pool and beach bars are really good - great service and good drinks I recommend using these. The best kept secret is probably the bar at the lobby which has excellent drinks, a great terrace and is quiet. The Restaurants If I were rating the hotel just based on dining the score would be more 1-2/5. The best food is el patio for breakfast, great Mexican and western food and really chilled out. We also had an ok supper here. This is part of the preferred club (for breakfast) and really worth it as the main restaurant looked like a bit of a zoo. Hibachi- the teppanyaki you can reserve for is ok and the kids enjoyed the show. Do not bother eating at the other part of the restaurant it is awful. Italian - food was ok and if you buy a bottle of wine you are guaranteed a table. Otherwise you have to wait as with all the other restaurants there are no reservations. Seaside grill - very average but a nice setting World cafe - this place is as stylish as a prison canteen but the food is ok - nice to get some salads and grilled protein in! Pool bar food - very carb heavy, pizzas, burgers, nachos etc all perfectly ok and the kids loved it. We didn’t try the french place as we had kids with us and is adults only but the setting looked nice. Pools As well as the pool at our room there are two other pools, one lively with a swim up bar and music and the one we preferred which was much more chilled nearer to the preferred club beach. Also they will try and sell you timeshare at the resort, we saw plenty of people being wooed by sales people. My advice say a very strong no at the start, don’t get lured in and have a great holiday. We have had an amazing time here but my recommendation is eat breakfast and maybe lunch at the hotel and have dinner else where. You will need to get a cab (about £20-30 for 6 or us) There are some amazing restaurants in the town and beach area we went to several and were not disappointed with any: El canto El camello junior Kai Casa jaguar Gitano Burrito amore My conclusion is this is a great hotel for a family holiday and we have loved it but head out to tulum for much better food and a completely different vibe.

    Incredible stay and fantastic customer service!!

    Reviewed by Sunsearchingalways() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel is beautiful and food is good. Our kids loved everything about this resort. Black and red are a live music group of 2 amazing singers. Enjoyed them really much! And our 2 angels that took care of us at the beach: Manuel y Guadalupe, thank you so much for making our stay unforgettable. We will definitely be back again and soon!!!

    Tulum sitting on Caribbean ocean

    Reviewed by motekbouganim(California) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Excellent food all around Resort , non-motorized ocean toys volleyball yoga and dance classes on the beach Funtime excellent way to get away from the children's noise! Cenote only a 30 minute walk from Dreams Resort in front of very good restaurant! Casa Cenote not so clean but very cheap entrance fee!

    We and fiance (now wife) got married here, and it was the best decision of our lives!

    Reviewed by Ishanpatel1991() on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our wedding coordinator (Yesenia Garcia) was a god send, as she helped us plan all the little details, and more. She managed our wedding better than me or my other half could've done it even with all the help that we had. The resort staff was amazing and very helpful, although the service could be a little slow at times (may be that's the carribean lifestyle?) Over all an excellent experience and we will be returning soon!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX