Paradisus Playa del Carmen

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 12112 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Overall Great Experience at The Reserve

    Reviewed by spH6046AN() on May 11, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Loved the property and the staff. The service on property was EXCELLENT. We had a private concierge, Brayan, who was phenomenal, at The Reserve. He accommodated all of our requests without question. I loved our room. Housekeeping was great and super thorough. The private reserve beach was great. Service was excellent overall, especially Elvis! Love Elvis! My only complaint is the quality of food and drinks. The food (with the exception of some of the Reserve restaurants) was subpar. Room service menu was quite blah and unhealthy. No healthy snacks in the mini bar. All of the mixed drinks tasted very artificial.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great Service, Poor Logistics

    Reviewed by N8229QGchrisr() on May 11, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Background: Early 30s couple with 8 month old baby during May 2021 with pandemic. One bedroom master suite booked through Costco Travel. No reserve upgrade (not sure if you can even do this with children). The Good: Beautiful resort. Kids pool was great. Unfortunately our child was too young for the separate and awesome looking water park on the resort. Other parents seemed content with the child daycare services but our child was too young. Food (when you can actually get it) was good at Fuego, Mole, and Bana Family. Getting COVID test prior to flight back to US was super easy to schedule and complete (on site at the resort). Results took 20 minutes. Staff at the resort were kind, polite, and professional. Fresh fruit and smoothies available at the buffet for breakfast and lunch for babies. Airport transfer (via Costco Travel using BD Experience) was ok. On arrival, they make you download their app to arrange for transfer back to airport. It spammed by phone with ads multiple times per day so I eventually deleted it despite being told not to. There is someone from BD experience at the resort daily in person to help. They forgot the baby seat on the departure transfer but it was sorted out after 20 minutes. Our room was fairly quiet. We did have a loud wedding our first night just outside our room but I think the music stopped at like 10-11 PM, very reasonable time. The Bad: Communication pre-arrival. We emailed and called multiple times to make sure a baby crib was available as well as a microwave in the room. We couldn't get a consistent answer about microwave despite photos of the room having a microwave. When we arrived, there was no baby crib but a microwave. We had also emailed to make reservations at the restaurants. All the good non-buffet restaurants require a reservation and fill up fast. We had read this complaint by other reviewers and hence emailed ahead of time to get it. No responses. When we called, they said they would email us to get our preferences and that never happened. The Melia app is awful and wouldn't allow us to make reservations either ahead of arrival. I don't know if this is related to us using Costco Travel or not. Also unless you claimed poolside chairs with umbrellas by 10 AM, you might not have any shade. People would put towels and their stuff down only to not come back to the pool area for hours. I don't think this selfish tactic is necessarily specific to this resort. It was difficult to lay by the pool without being bugged every hour or so with someone trying to sell you a package etc. It wasn't over the top annoying like other resorts but just something minor to consider. The Ugly: Restaurant reservation system is awful. When we arrived, we finally got the Melia app to work only to find out that nothing was available the night of our arrival or the following night. The third and fourth night, the only available restaurant was Vento (italian. Its ok). The fifth, sixth, and seventh night we booked Mole (mexican), Fuego (peruvian), and Bana Family (sushi). They were all great. Fuego is adults only so we went individually an hour apart while one watched the baby. Such a shame, we paid thousands of dollars to come to this resort with reportedly good food and could only eat it 3/7 nights we were there. Breakfast is the buffet or a coffee bar with pastries. Lunch is the buffet or grills at the poolside bar. We couldn't eat at Olio (not Reserve). The buffet was ok although a good variety. Poolside grill had great fish tacos. Drinks at the poolside bar were tasty but watered down alcohol. I'm just going to point out that your expectation of food is going to vary a lot by what you usually eat. Are you from small town with one chinese food restaurant in town run by a white guy? Yeah, the food is going to be exotic and great. Are you from a big city and eat a variety of foods? The buffet food is going to be disappointing. Also, you can get food delivered to your room for $5 fee but it is only from a specific menu that includes stuff like burgers and fries. You do not get access to restaurant food like we were initially told. Finally, we did not eat at Sal (steak) as nothing was included. The entire menu cost extra. Oh and all restaurants have a house red/white wine on top of the usual included drinks. Overall: I would not come back. Despite the resort being beautiful, the lack of access to the good restaurants via their reservation system made it not worth the money.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Best hotel with everything you will need

    Reviewed by mrcamargo(Mexico City, Mexico) on May 09, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    A very luxury hotel where it is visible that the guests are the priority for this hotel. Room service, buffet, staff and other amenities are well taken-care-of and well maintained. Rooms in the other part are big and expansive, with great views at any height. The fact that everything is included in your stay, including snacks, drinks, 3 meals and an unlimited bar feels like there’s nothing you can’t do Very good hotel and I would (for sure) return again

    Vacation

    Reviewed by slewis721() on May 09, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Our first stay at this resort in November 2019 was outstanding. We returned in April 2021 hoping to repeat the same experience as the first, but were extremely disappointed. We arrived with a paid in full reservation, but at the check in was told to pay for a reservation again. After about 45 minutes, the clerk finally found the we had paid in full already. Also, the resort awards program sent us a free room upgrade offer prior to arriving. When ask to use this upgrade, the resort refused to honor the free part. There were little to no entertainment during the week stay. Not all the restaurants were open. The variety of excursions were great and reasonable priced. The staff were very friendly and always helpful for the most part. We will not return to this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Excellent staff

    Reviewed by Vitaliana M(Danbury, Connecticut) on May 07, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent vacation! We had the best service, the beach and pool staff at the Reserve were outstanding, shout out to Daniel, Alfredo, Elias& Eliseo & Elvis! They were friendly and provide excellent service, everything was COVID safe. Exactly what we needed for this trip.