Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
    6. Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    Beautiful beach, great room, wonderful housekeeping and waitstaff but nightmare with customer service regarding an offered upgrade.

    Reviewed by KM on Jan 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    Our room was clean, cool, and well maintained. The outdoor shower was wonderful, and the room quiet! The food on the night of our arrival was amazing but we were a bit disappointed to find that the food was not like this every night. The food was okay at the buffets for the rest of our stay but repetitive and the same at all the restaurants. The a la carte restaurants are the real stars! The food was great and we found the waitstaff to be wonderful! We also used room service, which was included. It was fast and tasted good. The beach was clean, with fine, white sand, and the water was clear. The exclusives at the hotel for members of the TravelClub and the TRS resort are not clearly marked. There were areas on the opposite end of the resort from the TRS that were exclusive only for them but had no signs. There are also exclusive shuttles that would completely ignore you and drive off empty. Shuttles for non-club members were few and far between. We were also offered an upgrade by a letter left at our door. When we went to reception before noon the next day like the letter said, we were told it was first come, first serve and that we were out of luck. When we tried to plead our case, we were offered a cheap, free beach bag and a tour of the areas that we would not be allowed to use without the upgrade. No where did it say that it is first come, first serve or we would have gone to reception when we received the letter. The customer service was appalling considering that they offered us an upgrade and did not carry through, then did nothing to compensate. The attitude of the people we spoke to at reception and with the Travel Club was very dismissive and we felt that our concerns and frustrations were brushed off. As a 5 star resort, they should have customer service to reflect that rating. Had our experience with customer service been more positive, we would have no problems returning to the resort in the future

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    m

    not the best

    Reviewed by michels on Apr 30, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is our 3rd all inclusive resort. I would not give it 5 stars. We were a group of ten and every morning at 0800 went to line up to make reservations for restaurant dinners. We were always told that it was fully booked or you could have dinner at 1030 pm! We asked multiple times and received no answers as to why there was always empty tables in all of these places when we walked in to try and get in. We also were told to use the APP but it worked very seldom. Then we were told to leave a message on line for reservations which ended up with 2 different times chatting with 2 different people. The WIFI only works in the lobby and sometimes in the rooms so it was hard to find our group and make plans about excursions etc. Everytime we had a question about anything the staff all had different answers. We were told the shuttle between hotels was closed as it was late night so we walked only to find out the next day that is always running and we had been given the wrong info again! It kind of started to be a joke for us! The buffets were all pretty much the same and the food was always lukewarm. We did get to 4 of the restaurants and 3 were good. The bartenders , waiters, dining staff, and housekeeping were all very good and worked hard. I feel that the resort is so big that you dont get that 5 star feeling because there are so many guests. The beach and pools are beautiful but the open smoking everywhere was an annoyance.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7001 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    The Perfect Mexican Resort

    Reviewed by Reginald S() on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I definitely recommend this resort to anyone. Whether you are on a family vacation or a romantic get away the staff is friendly, the activities will keep you entertained, the shows are spectacular, the food is great, and this resort provides you a more than a worth while experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Enjoyable vacation

    Reviewed by Explore36327939313() on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were on a destination wedding trip it was excellent and relaxing time. Enjoyed it immensely. Resort was awesome and a great place to stay. Would recommend to my friends and family. Love the excursions.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Rocky Beach

    Reviewed by Renata M(Mississauga, Ontario, Canada) on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We stayed in Grand Palladium in December. The overall stay was pleasant. Edgar was very helpful throughout our stay. Danniela who worked for Air Transat was also very helpful and nice. However, we had an issue on Saturday. The room wasn't cleaned and our fridge wasn't restocked. The beach was our main problem. You could not go into the water without water shoes. It was just far too rocky, everywhere. The pools were also very cold. We recommend going to the restaurant El Dorado. The steak was very good there. Osalde also had good food and pleasant waiters. Overall, our stay was good. Pack water shoes.

    Great place

    Reviewed by Journey53575352778(Moncton, Canada) on Jun 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It was a beautiful resort, loved the beach, the pool, the drinks, the food. Truly felt like paradise, the night life was great the sports bar had some of my favourites snacks. The staff was always friendly and helpful

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Girls trip to Mexico

    Reviewed by April M() on Jun 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Recently my best friend and I went to Riviera Maya using a Groupon deal we had found. Going into the trip we were a little nervous.. being 2 girls we were constantly being lectured about how unsafe Mexico is and we did not have a great experience in the past at a resort in Punta Cana (dirty, crummy food etc). Needless to say we were a little wary during our hour long taxi ride to Grand Palladium, ready to make the best out of whatever situation we were getting ourselves into. All that worry though immediately subsided when we pulled up. The expansive eco-resort was absolutely gorgeous, our rooms were clean and felt secure, and the food was PHENOMENAL! We are hardly picky travelers but this was next level from anywhere we had experienced before. We had the time of our life and wished we could have stayed longer. The Grand Palladium really felt like home! Some highlights in particular: - All the resort staff were so kind, patient (we only knew “un poquito” of Spanish) and friendly. In particular we loved hanging out with Adriana, Igor and Salvador from the POP crew, Santiago from the Colonial bar, and Jo the photographer. They definitely did their part and made us feel so welcome. I personally am dairy free and at each restaurant the managers or servers took be through the list of what I could and could not eat. I thought this was an incredibly thoughtful touch! Our personal favorite restaurants were La Lola, Adelita, El Dorado, and Poseidon. We didn’t care too much for Sumptuori or Chang Thai but that could just be our own personal tastes. We decided to go all in and get the Zentropia massage which included a day pass to the spa. We scheduled halfway through the week with the intention of giving our skin a break from the sunshine. It just so happened to rain that day and was the perfect activity- we ended up staying all day! The massage (my first ever) was wonderful and the facilities were top notch. We did go on the Akumal/Aktun Chen excursion to snorkel with the turtles and see the Cenote. That will be one of my fondest memories and highly suggest it to anyone going. I was nervous going in and ended up having so much fun. I would suggest bringing biodegradable sunscreen and bug spray from home though because the price in the hotel store was sky high (almost 40$!!) The beach did have a significant amount of seaweed but we balanced our time between there and the pools so it really didn’t affect us that much. All in all I wholeheartedly suggest this resort to anyone looking for the perfect mixture of relaxation, adventure, and fun!! We will miss all the people of palladium ??

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX