The Westin St. Francis on Union Square

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 677 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Accommodations

    Reviewed by John S(Saint Louis, Missouri) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This hotel was excellent. The cable car runs just outside the hotel on Powell Street. It is within walking distances of many shops in the city. We used Lyft to get around to the Fisherman’s Wharf area and to the Golden Gate Park. We rode the cable car once but only for the novelty of it. The price of Uber or Lyft is not much more & with a smaller wait time.

    Unauthorized charge on credit card

    Reviewed by Tylerspapa(Canton, Massachusetts) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Our trip to Yosemite/Sequoia National Parks were cancelled due to snow in Sequoia in May 2019. The Tour Company ,Tauck Tours ,promised a full refund of any expenses we incurred while staying in SanFrancisco. We were cautioned by the tour director to make sure that we had no outstanding charges on our credit card ,which I did . Lo and behold doesn't the Westin charge me for a breakfast ($142) that was supposed to be paid by Tauck . This charge was added a week after the tour ended . After, countless e-mails and phone calls to Westin Hotel & Resorts, whose billing billing department is on a foreign shore, and trying to straighten this out I finally got a name from Tauck for someone at the Weston St Francis who has strung me along for another month promising a refund that they agreed to a month ago . Today, the quest services at Tauck said please let them handle this from now on. Tauck hasn't been able to fix it yet .Hopefully, they will soon .I have informed Tauck that if they ever have a tour that stays at a Westin . I'm not going .

    I wanted to like this place, but...

    Reviewed by HotelFashionista(London, United Kingdom) on Aug 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I wanted to like this property! I had taken recommendations from a friend who both stayed here AND works for Marriott. Suffice to say, my expectations were high. (I also knew of various fellow colleagues that had previously stayed here.) . Regardless, where to I begin....with the positives of course. It is literally the best location in the city. You are near shopping, restaurants galore. You are not near the "touristy" sights, but the cable car is close by. There are two parts of the building...the renovated pre war part and the 90's looking tower. I got kicked out of my renovated room, so I cannot say if this was better looking and more updated, but I have to assume it has to be. The tower is so 90s and needs an update. But, I will get to that in a bit. My check in was relatively friendly and swift. "Natty" recommended I go to the tower because the rooms were huge. I regret her talking me into it as the rooms were UGLY. My first room had a dirty comforter on the king bed (so dirty it was the first thing I spotted from the door) and wallpaper peeling off the walls. I quickly turned around and went all the way back downstairs to ask for a change. The gentleman that helped me next (Chicago sports guy) apologized and with his friendly demeanor changed my room. The new two queen bed room was fine...better view, clean sheets, but still 90s ugly. I took a shower and realized I had left something in the old room (around the corner). Since I had the old keys, I went and got it. But, when I went back to the new room, the new key didn't work and I was locked out with no shoes on. It took over 20 minutes for security to let me back in! After I unpacked, I realized I had not gotten my cable car vouchers. Back story, I reserved through the Marriott hotline using points and gave them a code for the vouchers. They said I should be able to receive it, wrote notes on my reservations and told me I was all fine. Well, it WAS NOT fine. I went downstairs and "Cielo" helped me. I told her about the code and she looked up my reservation and said she saw nothing. I explained my situation and told her what the code was and she blankly stared at me and said "I don't know what you're talking about. I see no vouchers and I have never heard of such a thing." So, I asked for a manager. She left and promptly came back and said "Yea, no one knows what you're talking about." So, again I say to her "The code 11P should give me vouchers, please at least have someone call me upon researching because I really would like to have those." She says "OK, someone will call you on your cell." I also had a shower mishap and asked for housekeeping to come up and restock my bathroom. I figured I would be gone for work and it was enough time. She agreed and supposedly made a note for housekeeping. Low and behold, NO ONE called me my whole stay. I came back from work and my bathroom was still wet from the showerhead accident. So annoying. If the vouchers were an issue, at the very least call me and say you cannot not help me...but to be ghosted by the hotel is ridiculous. I can deal with bad housekeeping. That's just life. But, don't claim to be a 5 star hotel and ignore an Elite member or any customer for that matter. That's just rude. ALSO, the check out promised me 10,000 points for my trouble...NEVER got it as expected. So, overall, my stay was just OK and no, I will never go back. The Palace can now have my business.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    average

    Reviewed by travellover080(Denver, Colorado) on Aug 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    pros we got a nice size room and loved it we got a checkin at noon and loved it the location cant be beat cons service is non existent esp housekeeping is the worst.. they will count every bottle of water and ask you to call front desk over and over if you need even a single bottle more. Not done!! Room service food is abominable ...and they dont care when you tell them the salt is too much , they wont re-do the dish..they simply dont care..we tried various things and they were all OLD and REFRIED ..AVOID!! Cafe in the ground level is VERY expensive with average food They can improve the service a millionfold!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-1

    Historic Era Hotel

    Reviewed by Mshaliwah(Trinidad and Tobago) on Aug 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I stayed here on the very first night of our 17 day California holiday. Wonderful atmosphere in this hotel that’s over 100 years old. Piped music from the 50’s era. Framed black and white historic photos of famous visitors like President Eisenhower and Shirley Temple. Original grandfather clock in the lobby area and a very interesting hotel tour by a very knowledgeable past worker.We learnt that there were tunnels leading to Speak Easy locations under the hotel. Did I mention that this hotel was in the perfect walking location to shopping, the street cars and China Town. Best of all was the amicable, helpful doorman Michael (with the rose in his lapel) who made our stay very memorable. Be sure to ask for a room with a view.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX