Sandals Grande St Lucian Spa and Beach Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 8380 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    ABSOLUTE PERFECTION

    Reviewed by GregGerhard(Atlanta, Georgia) on Oct 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Sandals team members felt like family by the end of the week, especially Neville, Nyah and Nadia!!! Too many names to list them all. This is the finest resort in the Caribbean. You can visit 2 other Sandals resorts at St Lucia for dinners etc, but I highly recommend staying at the Grande!! They have the best location and beaches.

    What you expect from sandals but dated in parts

    Reviewed by phil222(uk) on Oct 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I would say this was my least favourite sandals, due to the fact it was a bit dated, and wasnt the biggest resort, however there was plenty of restaurants, its a good location and the beach is lovely, overall i would return as we like sandals but when the new one next door is built

    A Grande Affair

    Reviewed by Helandio1(Windsor, United Kingdom) on Oct 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Sandals Grande is the largest Sandals property in St Lucia. Guest can get involved in a variety of activities or opt for the more intimate relaxed experience. The choice of restaurants at lunch is great and there are good healthy options available to those who do not want to over indulge. The evening dining options and bars available are great and you will find happy staff engaging with guests at all times and ' dancing' during and at the end of a busy shift. The Pub at the resort provides entertainment and more relaxed dining options, which is of high quality. Gordons on the pier provides a more intimate dining experience in the evening and there is a wider choice of restaurants on resort to include, Indian , Japans and Sushi. The beach area at the resort is excellent, there is plenty of shade, a drinks service on the beach and a wide choice of watersports if you want to be active. The staff at this resort are amazing and welcome you to St Lucia and Sandals with a very friendly manner at all times.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Unforgettable for All the Wrong Reasons | Sandals Ruined Our Wedding...

    Reviewed by WillBeSomewhere(Toronto, Canada) on Oct 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Dear fellow Traveler, I remain unsatisfied and the only recourse that I have is to share my account of the experience that I had at Sandals Grande St. Lucian and my attempts to deal with Sandals Customer Service group. I know that I'm presenting you with a wall of text and it would take some dedication to get to the end of my post. I'm hopefully that after reading some of it that you might consider selecting another resort or even better another resort company all together. I know that Sandals is a big brand and people love them. I did too until they ruined our vacation and wedding. We purchased a 10-day "weddingmoon" vacation in February 2019. The Sandals’ website says that: “You’ll have an entire team to rally around you as you plan your special day, and to tend to every last detail. They know the Caribbean better than anyone else, have thousands of weddings under their belts, and have a passion to turn your day into something you’ve always imagined.” We did not have unrealistic expectations about what we should have received and experienced. Sandals set the expectations and they failed. Our wedding day did not turn out to be anything like we every imagined or dreamed of. Sandals has ruined the most significant and special day. The amount of poor service, lack of attention to detail, and an all-around negative experience in our 10-days at Sandals Grande St. Lucian is staggering and leaves little for us to be satisfied with in the way that Sandals attempted to address their mistakes when we consider the type of experience that we should have received for the duration of our stay. The magnitude of our unacceptable experience is further compounded by the fact that we also had our wedding celebration and honeymoon impacted by the carelessness of Sandals staff and representatives. As shared by Mr. Winston Anderson – General Manager of Sandals, Grande St. Lucian – via email on February 13th “…the issues highlighted are definitely not typical of a Sandals Resorts vacation and we can appreciate your disappointment even more so as you were celebrating such a special and momentous event…” Mr. Anderson further reiterated this point to our Expedia travel representative when he shared that “…At Sandals Resorts, we do pride ourselves on providing an amazing experience and exceptional level of service for all our guests. Mr. and Mrs. Gentle’s experience with us was indeed an isolated case…” We did not receive the “typical” Sandals Resort vacation. We did not have an “amazing experience”. We did not get an “exceptional level” of service. We did not deserve to get less than what we paid for. We did not deserve to have the “momentous event” of our wedding celebration ruined. All of which occurred because of the negligence of Sandals’ employees and representatives. We raised our concerns to our travel agent about the level of service we were experiencing on February 6th (the fifth day of our vacation) who confirmed that a Sandals representative would be in touch with us to address our concerns. Following our travel agents confirmation that Sandals had been contacted on February 6th and that someone from the resort would contact us. On the day of our wedding, I went to the salon for my hair appointment and waited for over 20-minutes for my appointment to being. I was a little rushed to get ready when I got back to my room. After our ceremony, we headed over to our reception spot. We had brought a wedding cake topper with us and asked to incorporate the decoration on the top of our cake. Our Sandals Wedding Planner said that would be no trouble. When we arrived at our wedding reception for the toast and cake-cutting event, the topper had not been incorporated on the cake. We noted the oversight and the Planner took off running to get it. We sat our reception table and watched as the Wedding Team attempted to add the topper to the cake, which was too tall and with no wire cutters around they decided to pluck decorations off the cake to hide the offensive wire. The experience was not pleasant and having to watch yet another oversight on detail was saddening. We waited for over 24-hours to be contacted. Contact was made at the start of our wedding dinner. The Sandals Weddings Representative said that she didn’t want to interrupt our wedding day and suggested that we meet the following day on February 8th to discuss the service issues that we had conveyed to our travel agent and we agreed. Following her departure from our wedding dinner table, we found my maiden name printed on the wedding dinner menu, I was served the wrong entrée despite selecting the dinner 4-days prior during our planning meeting with the Sandals Wedding Planner. The menu states steak and lobster and I was served steak and shrimp. When I enquired with the waitress she told me that there was a ‘shortage of lobster on the island’ and that I would have been informed. I said that I wasn’t informed and if I had been informed then I would not be surprised or disappointed. Following the main course, I was served a dessert with string/thread embedded in it. I informed the waitress, she took my plate to the kitchen, she came back with it and told me that it was ‘mango fibre’, I told her that it was not mango fibre. I had it in my mouth and it was not food. The Wedding Representative was called and she asked us to meet the Head Chef and his team. We had the displeasure of having a visit from the Head Chef and his team to our wedding dinner table where upon reviewing the photos I took of what I found in my food and had in my mouth, ultimately fess-up that he believes the string might be from the cheesecloth they use to strain the cream cheese mixture during the making of the dessert. The Chef apologized to us and asked us if he could cook us another special meal on another night and we said that we would need to think about it. The situation was overwhelming. Then one of the Head Chef’s team attempt to abdicate responsibility by trying to educate me about mangos – his assumption being that I had experienced very fibrous mango. I told him that what he was saying was unacceptable and that the conversation was over. The Chef and his representatives left our table and provided me with the opportunity to cry without an extended audience. The Sandals Weddings Representative then suggested that she would arrange a meeting with the General Manager of the resort for the morning of February 8th. We met with Mr. Anderson in the lobby of the resort and he conveyed that he didn’t want to dredge up the past, but wanted to focus on how he could make things right. He also said that he needed time to really think about how he could make it right. He asked for our trust in him to make it right and the Weddings Representative suggested that Mr. Anderson is a man of his word and when he says that he will make it right, then he will. We were left to wait for Mr. Anderson to think. It took over 30-hours before Mr. Anderson’s solution was revealed, which was a room upgrade. During our time waiting between the morning of the 8th and the late afternoon on the 9th, we had to request toilet paper from the concierge for our room because housekeeping was inconsistent in replenishing our room with supplies and failed to leave the back-up roll of toilet paper the previous day. The Sandals Club Level Concierge apologised and offered to have our room serviced and cleaned right away. When we returned after breakfast there was toilet paper, but the room had not been made-up. We returned to our room at 2pm and were locked out – our keys had been disabled and the housekeeping staff in the hall told us that we were checking out. We had to get our keys reset and entered our room to find it not made up! We went to the Wedding Lounge to speak to the Wedding Representative that was working with Mr. Anderson on his solution and were told that she was in a different part of the resort and she would locate us on the beach. From the time we raised our initial concern to the time when we were dealt with, it took Sandals 3-days to change our situation. By this point in time we worked through 7 days of mishaps and underservice. When the Wedding Representative located us on the beach, she apologized for the mix-up with getting locked out of our room and informed us that they wanted to move us to a suite with a butler and were given a complimentary couples massage. In the late afternoon on February 11th we received a call from a Manager from the Wedding team who was extending the offer of the private dinner on the beach to us that the Chef had offered and we reluctantly attended. By this point we were tired and defeated. The small and sporadic droppings of complimentary services were underwhelming. Sandals offers to freeze the top-tier of wedding cakes to take home to celebrate the first wedding anniversary. For something that is complementary, we were instructed to meet Amenda in the lobby prior to our departure so that she could personally deliver the boxed, top-tier of our cake. Amenda repeatedly apologized and asked what more could they do to make things right. We were at a loss at the time on what that might be. Even the thought of a refund did not feel like it was enough all things considered at the time. She let us know that Mr. Anderson would be following up with additional correspondence in the coming days and that the conversation was not over just because we were leaving. Amenda told us that she had personally arranged for a private transfer for us from the resort to the airport, which we were later told had a value of $140. When we got home on February 12th, I noticed that the cake did not feel very cold and it wasn’t hard. We decided to segment the cake for better storage in our small freezer. To our surprise, the cake was not ours! The flavour appeared to be red velvet and not the dark chocolate cake that we selected. Sadly, they also ruined the intention of the cake that was to be enjoyed on February 7, 2020. We received and email from Mr. Anderson one day after we returned home and he stated that he “…will be following up with additional communication regarding your stay.” We waited a couple of days to respond to him as we were upset and dismayed about the cake. When we did respond to Mr. Anderson and drew his attention to the new item that we’d been handed in the cake, we did not hear from him again. He did not come through with additional communications regarding our stay. We were left to deal with Sandals Customer Service and our service tickets. We had no response from Sandals. We enquired with our travel agent about what we should do because we were not getting any service from Sandals Customer Service and Mr. Anderson was not responding to us. Our travel agents advice was to tell Sandals what we wanted and suggested that resort companies don’t put offers out as a practice, but rather wait to respond to what a customer requests as a general practice. We continued to contact the general Sandals Customer Service email address. I called the toll-free Sandals support number on March 5th and spoke with a representative who informed me that there was a note on file about an offer that Sandals was making to us and said that she would forward it to my email address. That is when we learned about Mr. Anderson’s offer of refunding us our rental cost of the over-water-wedding-chapel ($750). Accepting the $750 rental refund came with the requirement to sign what amounted to a gag order and release. Unsatisfied, with the little that was done to address us and the unsatisfactory offer to refund our rental fee, on March 5, 2019 I asked the Sandals Customer Service department to escalate our service tickets for review. I reiterated that we were requesting a full refund. Our tickets were escalated to Alicia Spence, Senior Manager of Customer Relations at Sandals. Ms. Spence requested time to review the notes of our tickets. I had a conversation with Ms. Spence to discuss our displeasure on how our complaint was being addressed on March 14th and that the $750 refund was not adequate. I reiterated that we were seeking a full refund. Ms. Spence informed me that Sandals does not give refunds, but rather they compensate with stay-credits. She acknowledge that there was some value that should be placed on what happened at our wedding dinner, but to manage my expectations 10-nights would not be granted and that the stay-credit would be for the same type/value of room that we originally purchased (room category HC). I shared that before leaving the resort Amenda the Wedding Manager asked what could be done to appease us and that we were not able to articulate anything and that as time has passed I’d like a redo of our weddingmoon. I shared that my husband and I had discussed the possibility of renewing our vows on our first wedding anniversary and trying to reset our feelings about our wedding day. Ms. Spence agreed that a vow renewal at Sandals could be arranged and that having stay-credits to put towards the event would be a possible way to address our issues. I said that I did not want to go back to St. Lucia and she informed me that the stay credits could be used anywhere and that Sandals has experts to help choose the best resort based on preferences and needs. I informed Spence that we had been respectful and wanted to resolve the issue; we were holding publicizing our experience on social media because we thought it was solvable and should be able to come to some agreement. I followed-up with Ms. Spence and the offer that she came back with was the same – refund of the over-water-wedding chapel. When I pointed to my loss as to why we would discuss the option of stay credits, but Sandals not provide that she then came back and offered us the 1-night stay credit. One thing is certain, Sandals is consistent in the disrespect they have shown us throughout our time on the resort and the experience of our dealings with their Customer Service group and senior managers.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Fourteenth Visit to The Grande

    Reviewed by 355Neil10(Wickwar, United Kingdom) on Oct 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I have just returned from The Sandals Grande St Lucia after our 14th visit. It was my Wife's birthday and the team at the hotel provided us with an unforgettable experience. From the decorated breakfast table to the balloon's and decorations in the room to a very special dinner in a fantastic location at the hotel. We are obviously huge Sandals fans but this way above our highest expectations. We thank all of the hotel team for this tremendous holiday.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5