Roc Arenas Doradas

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    X

    Has seen better days

    Reviewed by Xadur on Jul 01, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Only stayed here briefly, but how can you even rent a room (822) that has a toilet seat that is stained on the top and bottom with some sort of black mildew or something it would not wipe off. Absolutely gross. Compared to other hotels this one is priced like a 2 star which is about what it is. If you are only looking by price then maybe it?s for you. Another note, the Lobby is open air, no A/C.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    This place is Awesome.... No shirt, No shoes and Excellent Service!

    Reviewed by Janine Baxter on Mar 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    We had a group of 9 so the initial check in, sorting out rooms, safes and exchanging money was a bit trying. Probably because of language barriers but always double check and confirm exchange rate and monies returned. If you need anything, extra- water, toilet paper or towels etc ..talk to your maid directly - they are very willing and can make it happen! Front lobby bartenders and the coffee barristas made our trip. Mulatas are to die for -hot or cold. Friendly and attentive always with a smile. It is an all inclusive so the younger crowd liked to indulge, they were rowdy and having fun, some older people did not seem impressed but we had no problem... it is everyone's vacation. Good times and let loose! Definitely try the Italian restaurant across from coffee bar it was the best food there with 5 courses and good music. The free shuttle to Varedero was convenient for shopping and The Beatles bar rocks. Sadly, my only complaint was the beach, littered with cigarette butts and cups. Not any fault of the resort or staff, just guests being ignorant. We did the katamarand -make sure it's hot and not windy, the Havana day tour -a cooler temps best, comfortable shoes are a must, lots of walking and don't go on a Sunday, and the Jeep tour was great. We would definitely do it all again. Special thanks to Roly, Annens and Maria, you are good people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Great family experience!

    Reviewed by Luv2trvl on Jan 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our first Westjet Vacations experience and also our first visit to Cuba and the Arenas Doradas resort. Although this resort is listed as a 3.5 star, I picked this resort because of my budget and most of all the reviews. My family and I were SO PLEASANTLY surprised by this resort. Proximity from the airport - A! You just want to start your vacation. You don't want to have to travel another 45 - 1 hour after getting off the plane. The WS transfer from the airport was so convenient. Well organized by WS. It's a guided tour along the way. Staff were great! The resort itself - A! Come with an open mind and you'll find the value. Rooms were spacious and clean - A! We brought our two kids age 7 & 3. Lots of activities for them. Mini club and its staff were so awesome. Kids pool - great! Lots of food options for them. Food was decent. Just get creative with condiments. The coffee bar - A+!!! It's Starbucks on Cuban coffee. We stayed in Block 5 and it was such a great room. Ground floor - easy access. Quiet AC. Spacious Room. Love the Villa Style resort so that you don't have to keep waiting for an elevator to get to your room. Beach access was so easy and beautiful! WS staff meets you the following day to help you plan your stay and confirm your return to the airport. Honestly, such great value! Thank you WS. Always a loyal customer.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    H

    Perfect

    Reviewed by Hogie on Apr 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    The hotel was great. The staff was very accommodating. We would go back in a heart beat. When we first got there the first 2 days were a bit overcast so we went to Varadero the first day then Havana the 2nd. After that the days were beautiful. Town of Varadero fun to walk around. Havana tour was great to learn about the history of Cuba. We would recommend this hotel. Special thanks to Rocio at the front desk who kept her composure even when customers around her are sometimes rude & hi to Jesus at the pool bar. He makes everyone feel very welcomed. We found the food at the buffet good. Good selection, no complaints. We celebrated our 40th anniversary while there. For our anniversary supper we took in the international al a carte, it was perfect. Thanks again Paul & Sandra

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Westjet shouldn't be offering this resort.

    Reviewed by Scott on Feb 02, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    First of all let me say that our stay was ruined by weather. It was cool and rainy and windy most days of the two weeks we were there from Jan 16-30 2016. The water and beach were truly beautiful but it was a rare occasion to see people braving the often impressive waves. Beach walking was the only way to be close to the water but it was depressing to see people in sweaters and heavy jackets trying to enjoy a walk. It wasn’t that bad every day but the wind was relentless. What I can blame the resort for is the very frustrating time we had in the buffet restaurant. The coffee machine rarely worked properly and the famous Cuban coffee we so looked forward to never happened. Coffee cups were usually absent. We resorted to soup bowls for coffee, until they also were all gone. We had to scrounge up our own glasses, silverware etc on a daily basis. Sometimes we just couldn’t find any. The frustration level rose daily. The staff were overworked and barely had time for a smile. I realize that Cuba doesn’t have access to food we take for granted, but at least it could be hot! The bread and toast were great. The breakfasts were good if you went for fresh cooked eggs. Bacon was nearly raw. If you don’t like cigarette or cigar smoke, stay away from Cuba. Because of the inclement weather most people gathered in the one big bar/lobby area, but unless you went outside to look for a table cool , it was way too smoky for non-smokers. Our room:…..in bldg. 500, top floor…nice sound of waves, very close to beach. No hot water, ever. Water barely trickled out of the sink tap. Very old ugly room. Bathtub was so gross I took pictures to prove it to people. After a week of cold showers I asked for a different room. Got one in 100 bldg. Right close to lobby and ‘mess hall’. It was beautiful in comparison! Like a Mexican 5 star! It was recently renovated. Then evening came and we found out why it was available. We were the closest to the night club and the show stage.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3886 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    180° Reversal from Christmas

    Reviewed by Jim R(South Indian Lake, Manitoba, Canada) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    My son and I returned to Roc Hotel Arenas Dorados July 2 for a week because we had such a good time. I will never go there again. The food frankly was terrible except for the eggs and ham in the morning and the fish. The buffet had a lot of mystery salads, terrible tough beef, lousy pizza. Our last evening there were no set tables and many that needed to be busted. Being hungry I bussed a table myself removing used plates etc and rounded up clean ones. The waiter came over and proceeded to argue with me about how their had been a clean table that I had swapped out. I asked for a manager and was given to a another waitress. Last but not least I began to choke on a piece of beef. Not one staff member knew what to do. Fortunately I got the meat out myself or I would have choked to death. The mini-club which had been the highlight of my son's visit in December was barely functional. Go to the beach in the morning and play a little in the pool in the afternoon. Our room was kept incredibly clean by our housekeeper who I tipped daily. Front desk staff was highlighted by one woman who gave the impression she was doing me a favor by answering questions, breaking big bills to smaller ones. Save your money and go Airbnb or other service. I was so disappointed!

    Service generally great (with a few exceptions), Great Beach and Pool, Some places need upgrades/maintenance

    Reviewed by Kimberly_I_1971(Hillside, New Jersey) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    If I wrote the review based on my first evening, it would not have been a good one, but the attentiveness of the maintenance staff, bartenders, & waitstaff in the restaraunts really turned my initial experiences around. Our first night was a late arrival. The woman checking us in made the process quite complicated and confusing. . The pool was already closed and we had a number of issues with our room (lights not working, broken shower curtain rod that fell on me, cribs instead of roll out beds. Dinner that night was gross . The waitress was lovely. Saving grace: the snack bar opened at 11 (tasty burgers). The staff addressed our concerns &fixed the shower curtain rod & the light in our bathroom (though it meant we had someone in our room working for two hours one morning) The remaining experiences at the restaurant were better. The waitresses recognized us and went out of their way to greet us and remembered details about our group. We were not able to book at any specialty restaurant due to limited availability and time to book. Bummer! my kids loved the pool & Pool bar and the activities that were scheduled. The beach was beautiful, uncrowded and peaceful with plenty of umbrellas & chairs. The towels in the room were to small to be useful. There resort can be really amazing, but they need to spruce it up and attend tos some details (for example--empty water feature ) It was still a pleasant stay (good location, a great staff and my kids had a great time).

    Cuba Trip in Roc Arenas

    Reviewed by Valeriago123() on Jul 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    super friendly vibe in the resort! Loving staff who will do everything to make you comfortable and they are always around. Entertainment was great and it’s only 15 minutes away from downtown varadero.

    Horrible room, great resort

    Reviewed by tilda2013(Waterloo, Canada) on Jul 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I really liked this resort and my son loved it however there were a few things that could have been better. We were in the 200 block and our room was pretty crappy. Both the front and back doors were broken. The front door had a huge crack which allowed tons of bugs including massive flying cockroaches to get in. The back door was constantly jamming and a complete pain. The shower offered very little water pressure and wasn't even as warm as the ocean. Our fridge in the room barely worked. The room cleaners seemed to do a good job however my son noticed that they were emptying the ashtray outside along the wall instead of a garbage can. Why?? The lighting in the room was horrible. A couple nights other guest were up late partying in their rooms and it was very loud and disruptive. I was also disappointed in their pina coladas. I have been to a few different cuban resorts and this was the first one that didn't make the pina coladas slushie. Instead it was juice with ice cubes :( Other then the room and pina colada's I really liked this resort. My 6 year old loved the swim up bar, ice cream window and clown shows. Everyone was very nice and the food was pretty good. The international a la carte was amazing.

    Vacation with friends

    Reviewed by Pipeher14() on Jul 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Arenas doradas was a very welcoming place with super nice workers, great food, and amazing service. The entertainment was also a pleasure, beautiful pool and lots of things to do. Would recommend it anyone who is looking for a great time in Cuba! Santi and Yoandy were very helping people and they made sure we had a good time.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX