Hotel Club Kawama

2.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 2 and 3 stars. 2 star - Budget accommodation with limited facilities and services. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    o

    needs renos good beach , good location

    Reviewed by oliver on May 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Single

    hotel needs renos but good location good beach

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    Leyda and staff along with the guest from different places made another great holiday

    Reviewed by Brenda and James Power on Apr 27, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    third time at Kawama for 2 weeks and hope ro return. Had a little medical issue and everything looked after at clinic with no hassle

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    It is our cottage in Cuba.

    Reviewed by Mike Down on Oct 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Have been there 17 times. Cheapest sun vacation available. There are a couple cheaper but not as good as Kawama. Many people complain that to in summer but I find less bugs and rude guests in winter. Take bug screen for lower legs during evenings. Check out videos on you tube.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Would only go on a vacation package deal.

    Reviewed by Marzena Feuchtwanger on Sep 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Excellent access to beach, but pool was a green pool of algae the whole time we were there. Not the cleanest, staff were friendly but at times didn't seem to want to help. Entertainment was very minimal, food was ok. West Jet vacation staff wasnt always on time to answer questions.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    A

    budget vacation to the max!!

    Reviewed by Andrew on Feb 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is hotel is fine if you're looking for a cheap budget vacation. We booked a standard room which was ok, nothing special at all. everything in the room was working fine, beds could have been better. power outlets in room are 110V for charging electronics so adapter is not required. Pool and area was descent, beach is great. The food however was awful, I did find some things to eat on the buffet that were acceptable at best. There are plenty of places to eat outside of hotel within walking distance and even more if you take the double decker bus for 5 pesos, this gets you on and off the bus as much as you like for the entire day. I would return to kawama based on the price alone. We booked 5 days for $520 All inclusive, I doubt you could find anything cheaper anywhere to warm you're feet for a few days, heck you can barely fly anywhere for that price. Don't expect glamour at this hotel, take it for what it is and enjoy your time away.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    F

    Wonderful in every way!

    Reviewed by Fiona on Mar 25, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Wonderful and better than we expected for what we paid. Food was great, pool a little cool but the beach was amazing. Service was excellent, drinks were great, room standard but clean. Right mix of fun and quiet. Superior room really worth it and bring a pillow. Nice walk into town. Coffee in lobby much better than in restaurant. Will definitely return and highly recommend this place as affordable and wonderful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    We love Kawama. The do everything they can to accommodate.

    Reviewed by Dmae on Mar 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We love this place. Been there five years and plans of going back. Staff are friendly and very accommodating. Food isnt like home but it is very adquate. Staff remember us from year to year. Its our home away from home. What more can I say?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    V

    We had an emergency in the middle of the night with our granddaughter and they bent over backwards to help.

    Reviewed by Victor on Mar 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Great holiday! Room 3*, very comfortable beds, shower was ?? and the air-con was perfect...and normally I dislike air-conditioning. Beach is nearly 1 kilometre long and facilities 5*, food and services 4*. I will definitely return there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2159 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2.5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Another Wonderful Holiday at Club Kawama

    Reviewed by Scott T(Halifax, Nova Scotia) on May 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We continue to return to Club Kawama year after year because of the amazing beach, the location, and the super friendly staff. This was visit #17 for us and we have become very fond of this hotel and the people. It's worth booking a superior room and we are always fortunate to stay in building "16". Such a great spot! This year I noticed a few improvements and things I liked better. The coffee bar or "Natasha's Coffee Bar" (as we refer to it) is now open early in the morning which takes some of the pressure off of everyone trying to get coffee in the lobby at the same time. The food at the Italian restaurant was probably the best I've had in years. A big thank you to the chef at "It Risolino". Our special Cuban meal in the "Grove" next to the Dining Hall was very tasty and fun to be eating outside. We always like going to the far end of the resort to visit David, Osiel and Nesca at El Brocal snack bar. We were glad it was open some of the time during our stay. It's a nice break from the busy pool area. A big thank you and appreciation to the following staff : Madelaines, Dayne, Raul, Jonathan, Margarita, Yaniel, Yamile, Gretel, Kenai, Yulia, Claudio, Peruccio, Natasha, Nancy, Ivan, Vivien, Alina and Heidi. We are grateful for your dedication and good service to us. Special mention to the omelet chef Reymel who makes amazing omelets each morning. Also special thanks to Leida who continues to work non-stop ensuring guests have a wonderful experience during their time at Kawama. It's truly amazing to watch her work around the clock - multitasking and still smiling at the end of the day. Thank you Leida for all you do for us at Kawama. As I have said in previous reviews this is a resort for the more "relaxed traveller" who doesn't have high expectations. If you want friendly people, good drinks, a beautiful pool and an incredible vast beach, this is the place for you!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    dont waste your money

    Reviewed by 58rosie() on May 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This was not my first trip to cuba to start out...I know you have to keep an open mind when travelling here. To start with the check i was fine,,no issues...we were taken to our room on the very end of the resort..the lightening was very poor on the drive to the room...we drove through what we presume was the staff quarters...our driver stopped and chatted to a bunch of men that were drinking and carrying on...and when we asked if they were tourists or staff he wouldnt tell us. We got to our room...it was on the second floor..no one else was in our building at the time...it felt a little eerie. When we entered our room we were more than surprised,,,very run down and old. We didnt have a balcony and couldnt open the one window that could open because of bugs...no screen! The driver reassured us that we were safe even though we fest very unsafe. We ended up walking back to the front desk to see if we could get a room closer to the main buildig and were told no..come back in the morning which we did..once again we were told no rooms available til the next day. we were given the runaround the next day also...totally disgusted!! We could have upgraded we found out later for the low price of 25-50 pecos per night. Water was only provided once..we had to buy it after that. The main lobby bar served warm water and no wine...the pool bar and dining room were the only places to get cold water and wine...bottled or canned beer you had to pay for also. The food was ok...but we didnt expect 5 star..a little variety would have been good. The entertainment was ok...the first night it was 2 drunk girls dirty dancing with each other..felt like we were in a strip bar. The second night they has a rock band and they were great...but that was it! Luckily most of the staff were friendly and we met alot of great people! the only good thing I can say about this resort is the location...its close to Veradero..you can walk or take the double decker into town. I will never go to Club Kawama again...it was a disappointing experience

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-2

    It's Cuba!

    Reviewed by Tom C(Vancouver, Canada) on May 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Resort has seen better days but everything worked in the room, bring a cheap pillow. The public washrooms were dirty but staff kept the rest of the resort somewhat clean. Food was good compaired to other resorts we stayed at in Cuba. The last day (sat) a lot of local day guests arrived, pool was full, food disappeared quickly and drink lines were long. Beach was amazing and most shows at night were actually not bad. I think most would be diappoited if paying full price.The Club Kawama actually grew on us and we would return if the price was right > 750. Remember to lower your expectations when going to a property rated less than 4 stars and focus on why you are there, beach and weather. This property has both and a 90 year history and is far from shinny and new. It,s Cuba!

    Club Kawama, my home away from home!!

    Reviewed by sunlovingcdn(canada) on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Another 2 weeks in Paradise!! When people ask me how I like Kawama I am always very quick to praise my home away from home. Many people complain about many things..some things are warranted but many are just people complaining.Yes there are some issues, complaints about the rooms, the food, etc etc but many do not realize that Kawama is an almost 90 year old resort, it comes with so much history and yes there are things that could be improved. The rooms do need updating but many have already been done and they are lovely and historical. The food comments, whether you go to a 3 or a 5 star you will still hear people complain. The food at Kawama is actually better than some of the 5 stars from what l have heard from people who only go to a 5 star. The food has shown much improvement over the past few years and there will always be something for everyone....go with an open mind enjoy the culture and the wonderful people who are always eager to please. There are 3 pools on the Resort, the main pool recently re done and lovingly cared for by Carlos, the pool guy. The beach is stunning and always a place to sit and enjoy with Umbrellas and chairs. There is never anyone on the beach hounding you to buy stuff, Fernando the Bartender at the beach bar is charming and will keep your glass full. The Animation team are a talented and energetic team that will always keep you entertained. I am looking forward to my next trip and count down the days till our return......Much love to all of our special friends in Cuba!!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Home away from home

    Reviewed by Suzan F(North bay) on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Another great vacation. A mix up in room but was settled next day “thanks Leida”! Much older resort but so great to stay because of historical significance. We always book superior as standard is often risky. We typically stay for 14 days - 9 years in a row. No complaints with food-amazed at how creative master chef can be to ensure no food is wasted. I look fwd to the fish, fruit and local fare! Staff are amazing and extremely hardworking. Remember - hotel and staff do their best with what they have - we are reminded at how fortunate we are in canada - I’d like to see one of our own work as hard as they do. As a matter of fact, our waiter was a young licensed lawyer. Love the local beer. Mixed drinks were not so great - if you want a good pina or margarita i would suggest you bring Malibu etc. We found Malibu downtown but not the same as ours - too sweet. Location of hotel is the absolute best. Walking distance to down town via Main Street or via beach walk. Great way to walk off all those great meals. Lots of places to eat or stop off for a cold brew, take in sights etc. The beach is stunning as is the water for swimming. FYI, the empty liquor bottles, beer cans/bottles that you see on the beach and on road side is not local garbage but is from the tourists having no respect. As part of our daily beach walk, my husband and i would bring a bag and pick up some of this garbage. Summary: great hotel, super staff, awesome location, comfortable room, great beer, not so great cocktails, good food, clean, cant wait to go back

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX