Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 9189 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    POOR 3* HOTEL

    Reviewed by davidh142(Upton, United Kingdom) on Sep 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Visited as a party of 17 for a wedding in August 2019. On approaching the hotel via the long drive it looks very impressive, however that changes when you get into reception where you discover that there is no air con. After a quite quick check in we where taken on a long walk to our room & this is when the horror hit - the room was dissgistingly dirty, damp & smelled like a cigar factory. The bath room was un acceptable with regards cleanliness plus the the bath was that high my wife couldn't step into it. We settled on our 2nf choice room but a member of our party settled for their 4th choice room!! After unpacking we set off to explore the hotel & discovered the only place to have air con was the bedroom, whick made drinking in the bar & eating in the restaurants very uncomfortable. As for food it was pretty disgusting in the buffet with the Al a carte fairing not much better. Breakfast omelette's which where made to order where pretty good. We basically lived on chips & pizza from the 24hour snack bar. Don't eat burgers chicken or hot dogs from there - I watched the chef place a raw burger on the grill then a bread roll then turned a piece of chicken then put hot dog in roll all with the dame utensil. NO FOOD HYGEINE ANY WHERE. The general cleanliness of hotel was poor as you will see from pictures. The wedding we attended was great & the staff pulled out all the stops & worked hard even opening the beach bar for us at a cost. Overall the hotel looks nice on the surface & the staff are great but need some direction We expected far greater from an Iberostar & from Thomas Cook whom I can't believe have this hotel in their brochure. The drinks are good, little on strong side which spoils some of them, great pina colada slush from beach bar - get it as soon as they open at 10am. Beach is amazing but pool area could do with more shade & a deep clean. Al 17 of us where ill at some point but can only be expected with the hygiene standards. All in all Cuba I Wil be back, just not at this horel

    Fix the air con!!!!

    Reviewed by proudy74(Bridgwater, United Kingdom) on Sep 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    If you like eating your meals in 40C heat then this is the hotel for you. No doubt the Quality Manager will respond to this review thanking me for my views, but quite frankly people have been mentioning the air con in these reviews for weeks. The very common trait at this hotel is to acknowledge there's a problem, apologise but then do absolutely nothing to fix the problem. There are good bits though: - the beach is nice, a little deeper than other hotels further along the strip (drops away quickly to about 3-4 feet so deep enough for a 8-10 year old to have to actually swim rather than walk). - the pool areas are excellent. The main pool is the hub of the hotel, plenty of space (albeit very little shade) and very relaxing. There are two other pools behind the two wings of bedrooms which are equally pleasant but much quieter and sometimes offered better access to a breeze. The pools have lots of shallow areas and don't get too deep. - some lovely waiting staff. Other downsides: - main restaurant (besides air con). Cannot cope with demand - frequently ran out of juice, plates/bowls - the basics really. And spoons - for God's sake just put them on the tables rather than hiding them! - wifi - dropped out every 60 seconds and had to reconnect constantly. - room - booked a room for 4 but got 1 double bed and a sofa for 1 person (beware, this is a common feature of Iberostar hotels). - minibar - two cokes and one beer. Seriously?

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Very good Resort

    Reviewed by JoeLee123() on Sep 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I don't know why people rating this resort 1 star. I just come back from this resort 3 days ago (02 Sept 2019), I spent 8 days and 7 nights at this resort. I won't give 5 stars for this resort but I will give 4-4.5 stars for this resort. All staffs are nice and friendly. Food are very good. I spend at least 18 meals in the buffet in my trip but I never see any cockroach in the buffet area. Staff keeps wiping the buffet area. Honestly, there are a lot of flies and some birds in buffet area but this is an open area and also a lot of tree outside, I completely understand this is nature. Buffet food are out of our expectation, all food tastes good especially dessert area. Room are clean and A/C is working all day. Towel is not changing every day except you requested. Toilet is clean and working well. Room refrigerator always keeps 1 large bottle of water, 2 cola and 1 beer. Wifi is 1 CUC per hour. Only in specific area can use wifi.

    Guaranteed fun for you and your family!

    Reviewed by Beto_CAN(Mississauga, Canada) on Sep 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Very good resort. Helpful staff, reasonable food and clean rooms. Kids club, clean pools and great shows. My fourth time in Cuba and would gladly return to the Laguna Azul. Wonderful beach, my favorite in Cuba. In my opinion, better than Cayo Coco and Holguin. Resort is only 30/40 min from the airport. I recommend this to anyone and have a good time.

    Second time!!!!!!

    Reviewed by ChristopherKayy() on Sep 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent hotel and in my opinion the best in Varadero. Excellent staff and very accomodating. Highly recommend if visiting Cuba. This is my second time coming here and my family absolutely enjoys it. Would love to come back again.