Ocean Varadero El Patriarca

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    We absolutely enjoyed our stay and would love to go back. It was the perfect location to bring our family together.

    Reviewed by Linda on May 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We loved the layout of the property as everything was within easy walking distance. The rooms were quite nice and the restaurants were more than adequate. We got excellent service from our maid, Gleisey, and the service in the restaurants was warm and friendly. Even the groundskeepers and pool attendants were friendly.. The only negative of our visit at this hotel was the service at the front desk. We found the staff there to be much less friendly and accommodating than the rest of the staff at the resort. Our visit to Oceans was to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary with our family. When we checked in, they told us that we were being upgraded. However, the upgrade to "Privilege" only gave us a slightly larger room but caused us embarrassment, as we were not allowed to us the "Privilege" facilities in our section. Perhaps Oceans should consider NOT upgrading at all or upgrading the whole package for future patrons.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Enjoyed it and are definitely going back - soon!

    Reviewed by Alan on Jul 20, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Had a great time. Days on the beach, evenings in the piano bar. Took a couple of days to get comfortable with the food service, but after that it was fine. Staff was friendly an very accommodating. We went to relax in the sun and proved perfect for our wants.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    p

    tout aimé

    Reviewed by patricia on Apr 17, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    allo nous moi et mon amoureux ca fait deux fois que nous allons au el patriarca varadéro et ont n aime beaucoup... nous sommes aller oct 16 et avril 17 et sans parler du personnel tres gentil et accuillant et on va y retourner au mois oct 17 car ont aime bien la place et c est tres chaleureux... et la nourriture tres bonne...Merci

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Amazing and recommend anyone to stay here.

    Reviewed by Kim and Hugh Love on Mar 01, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We went to Varadero for our 2nd trip to Cuba. This resort was amazing. The workers friendly and helpful. The layout of the resort well thought out. The best thing was al a carte restaurants did not need reservations, we never ate at the buffet for dinner and did not have to waste time in the morning trying to get into the al a carte. Exchanging money was very easy and accessible 24 hours per day. We really enjoyed the little coffee shop that was open daily from 0700 to 2100hrs. The rooms were big and well maintained. We came back to our room with a new creature made on our bed daily. The housekeepers were very creative. There was always chairs at the pool to access without having to get up early in the morning to save them. Overall we can't wait to go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    Loved it....would return in a heartbeat

    Reviewed by Lee Rankin on Oct 10, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This hotel was really great. I have been to Cuba a number of times but never to this property. I found the staff friendly and very proficient at their jobs. The beach was really nice and the pools were great. The restaurants were good but we were there in "low" season and they alternated opening in the evening. Fine by me and a good business decision. The buffet was exceptional. Everything was fresh, clean and very nicely presented. Loved the fresh donuts and frittatas in the morning!!!! We took in the nightly entertainment. The shows were colourful, entertaining and well put together. The water/pool show was really amazing. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel and would recommend it to my friends and family. I felt comfortable, was treated well by all the staff and I never wanted for food or drink. As a bonus, we had towel swans, blanket "creatures" and lots of happy smiles and greetings. What more can you ask for when vacationing?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    A great place to spend a vacation in Varadero.

    Reviewed by Jerry Jaleel on Apr 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Overall one of the best resorts in Varadero. I have been a guest at this hotel three years in a row since 2013, and plans to go thete again this year. The service in fabulous, the food and drinks are great, the staff and management are keen to look after your interests. The white sand beach is fitted with lounge chairs and shelters. Its buffet with huge selection and ala carte restaurants and snackbar will cater to your interests. The bars are well stocked, and don't forget to enjoy some mojitos while you are there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    A great resort! Friendly, helpful staff! Well-appointed room!

    Reviewed by Sharon & David, NS, CAN on Apr 02, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I visited Ocean El Patriarca from March 22 to 29. Our room was wonderfully appointed.....up-to-date and clean, with excellent maid service. The air-conditioning did not work; however, if we had mentioned it, I'm sure it would have been fixed or we would have been moved.....we didn't bother, as we didn't mind the warm air. Staff maids, restaurant, lobby, gardeners, bars were all very, very friendly without being imposing. The entire facility was clean and well-maintained. Food - lots of it, and good variety; however, it seemed very bland, for the most part, but we decided this was cultural. The beach was always clean - ie, no garbage and the seaweed seemed to disappear overnight, which we thought must have been mulched or gathered by staff. Unfortunately, there were many people who did not respect the beach and left behind their bar glasses, etc of course, this is not a reflection on the resort staff, only to mention they did an impeccable job of cleaning up after the disrespectful guests . Everyone at the resort were always friendly and helpful. A lovely vacation!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Would go back in a heartbeat

    Reviewed by S&S on Jan 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    First time El Patriarca and first time at Varadero. Absolutely loved everything about the facility, amenities, food and people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    d

    Speechless

    Reviewed by djRice on Nov 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Wedding

    Great Wedding Destination! Thank you West Jet for the recommendation. Service was excellent. Beach was fabulous! Just what I needed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    g

    amazing

    Reviewed by gerilynn on Nov 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    This resort was fantastic.the staff treated us and themselves as family everyone worked hard to ensure our vacation was memorable.the rooms were close to the beach and very clean our maid was very accomidating with beach towels . The pool was closed for repair but who needed pool when you had such beautiful beach to go to.i would definatly recommend this resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4700 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Roach Hotel

    Reviewed by iamjmigz() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We stayed at this resort end of July, 2019 to beginning of August, 2019. Let me first by saying that this is a 2.5? and NOT 5? resort. Pros: The beach is beautiful as is the pool for the privilege guests. Grounds were very well maintained and à la carte restaurants served a lot better food than the buffet area. Mike's Cafe is a quiet place to sit and talk and is possibly the ONLY place to have a decent cup of coffee. Cons: The food is less than desirable in the sweltering heat buffet area. There is no AC in this area and roaches are present. The lady in front of me almost lost her lunch after seeing a roach crawl just inches from food on the counter next to her. Also during meals the resort does NOT serve closed bottle water but high chlorinated tap water which is filled in empty bottles of water at à la carte restaurants and buffet area. The staff is ok and some are just down right rude. This is Cuba so service might take some time as people here work in slow motion. The rooms are dirty and are given a more or less a spit and lick shine every day. In one case I had a snail shell in my bathtub for four of my seven day stay, that I can only assume was left by the previous guests. Also had a swarm of ants and a roach in my room. The Internet is slow and only seems to work properly in lobby. On the weekend the Cuban local guests run the resort and will look down on you, cut in line in front of you and monopolize all of the resort staffs time. Last but not least in the past privilege guests would get a bottle of Santiago de Cuba Rum waiting in their room when they arrived but that has gone the way of the dodo. The entertaiment evening shows is a dirty dancing train wreck and after 15 minute you've seen it all.  In all I will NOT be returning to this resort and I am greatful it was only for seven days. If you are planning a vacation, I highly recommend looking somewhere else. I will be giving this a 2? rating as shills keep posting 5? rating trying to skew review system. They say a pictures is worth a thousand words, so you can ignore this review and take it with a grain of salt... so here's some photos to back up my words.

    Vacances

    Reviewed by Nada C() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The beach is amazing and it’s near from the hotel, the service is good, food and drinks are good also. I highly recommend this hotel. It’s the good place for family, there are shows and différents restaurant.

    Awful Resort

    Reviewed by Anthony C() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Not even close to a 4 star. Every negative review you read is accurate. Phones don't work, food is below average and the same everyday, ants, pool is the hottest I've ever swam in. Anyone who gives this place a 5 star review is fake or has been bribed. The only way you can leave this resort with a positive review is if it is the 1st trip you have ever taken in your life and don't know any better. Beach is beautiful but if you don't save chairs by 8am you are not getting shade. If you get to the beach after 11am you won't even get a chair to sit on. Our fridge was not filled for three days and i have a 1 year old, so i found myself scrambling for water for my daughter to drink at a "4 star" resort. They have room service and transportation to take you around the resort, oh ya, but once again, phones don't work so that's not gonna happen. As someone with a toddler i had a lot of luggage. Full 3 set suitcase, 2 carryons, diaper bag and summer stroller. When it was time to check out i had to walk to the lobby(wasn't close), get someone to drive me back to my room to get my things and travel back to lobby due to the phones not working. This doesn't happen at "4 star" resorts. Also, be very careful extending your stay as we heard from several different people all being told different rates. We were told 10CUC an hour up until 3pm. That went up to 11 the day of and another couple told us they were quoted 20 an hour. Please do not travel to this resort if you have a child 1-3 years old. Serious safety concerns.

    Not a 5 star at all

    Reviewed by VBGD() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    What do I say. Reading others reviewed we decided to take a chance. Not what we expected at all. Where to start. Got there late Saturday and ran to feed our kids something at the buffet as it closes at 10. There was barely anything to feed. We thought it would be better in the morning. Most definitely not the case here. What you had for breakfast and was left over was out again at lunch and then again for dinner and then again for breakfast the next day. It was the same horrible food day by day. The room was dirty and there was no light working in our washroom. Couldn't call reception as the phone wasn't working either and the smell of sewer that kept coming into our room. Walked to the reception to tell them all this and was told someone would be there to change the light. Also advised them that my shower was not working, I had 2 towels in my room and there were 3 of us there and 2 beach towels. Was told someone would be there. No one came. Had to hunt down a maid to get extra towels for showering and a beach towel. and beware there is always a shortage of towels. Had our beach towels for 3 days as they didn't have any to change. The maid took forever to clean the rooms (sorry did I say clean, make up the bed) to the point where the supervisor asked if we needed it done up everyday. Came back at 5 from the beach and our room was still not done and the maid was nowhere to be found. The power kept getting cut off in our unit everyday and no one cared. the beach is beautiful that is for sure. That was the only good thing at this resort though and the day time entertainment staff, Chocolate, Dyrone (Sorry if I spelt it wrong) Carlos were fabulous and tried there best to make us feel welcome. The buffet sucks. The food at the al la cartes were not bad, but the woman at the Italian Restaurant is just plain rude. Was advised that the hotel had gotten new management within the previous week, well they are doing nothing to fix this hotel. this hotel needs a total overhaul. Most definitely not going to come back to this one

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Make a cuppa and sit down!

    Reviewed by gaholmes1972(Kingston-upon-Hull) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I am as normal going to be as frank and truthful as i can be. I would normally split my review into categories but this will be split into days and experiences. Here goes! We arrived and as there were only 3 families checking in from our bus it was quite quick and straight forward. Checked in, bell boy took us to our rooms, after giving us a quick tour of the complex in his golf cart. Nice touch! We entered the room to find it quite spacious and well laid out, that is were the positives end as far as the room is concerned. After 2 hours driving, 3 hours in the airport, 9 hours flight, over an hour in the airport in Cuba waiting for our luggage and 45 minute transfer all we wanted was a shower and freshen up before going for our evening meal. Easier said than done. NO HOT WATER! We opted for a luke warm shower which was actually quite refreshing. The room was very very dated. Broken lamp shades, ripped bed sheets, very noisy fridge, dirty floors, rusted mirrors, a toilet that barely flushed. These were the things we discovered in the first few minutes of being in the room. We all (4 of us) went out to have something to eat. The second room we had in our party was just as bad as ours and also had NO HOT WATER. We got to the buffet diner for our evening meal with the promise of nice food in a nice atmosphere. Oh dear we were in for a shock! So pork sautèd in some sort of juice, sorry did i say pork? I meant to say pork fat. Beef in gravy, well a very watering gravy, sorry did i say beef? I meant to say beef fat and gristle. Black beans in some kind of sauce (which i never seen anybody try but was on for every meal every day of the 2 weeks we were there), 3 different kinds of hard, flavourless rice. Greasy boiled potatoes. A range of cooked meats, cold pastas and bread. 4 cooking stations. Fish, pizza, pasta and meat. I tried the prawns which were cooked fresh in front of me and to be fair quite nice. Throughout the holiday i tried all the stations. Fish - Always seemed to be fresh with a good queue at all times, like i said the prawns were nice. Pizza - The staff never seemed to do anything and were always playing catch up, in fact one day we went into the restaurant very early and the first pizza had not even been put in the oven. Also the toppings left a lot to be desired. Who puts peas and carrots on a pizza? Pasta - choice of tomato or white sauce, spaghetti, pasta shells. You could add peppers, bacon, crab, mushrooms or (pickled) onions! This station was very very slow, unless you tipped the girls working on it. I was overlooked 3 times while she served her favourites. Meat - This to be fair was my favourite station, always fresh, always cooked to my liking. Timing for this station is important. The difference between a nice piece of steak to the scragg ends. The guys cooking at this station was always polite and did a great job. What did surprise us was the lack of salad. No lettuce, no tomato, no onion at any point during our whole stay. Breakfast - The bacon was so greasy that it wouldnt stay down, awful! The toaster took forever and the bread was not always fresh. The omelettes were okay until you got an egg shell. Overall the food was definitely below average to say the least. Oh and the water they serve you in the restaurant is clearly tap water, when i asked for an unopened bottle i was told they are all open! They have none unopened and that a machine opens them up to save staff time. Well i had to laugh. Just be aware if you do like water with your meal it will be tap water. Back to the NO HOT WATER! We reported this to customer services and was assured it would be dealt with. Day 2 we again contacted customer services to be told it is being dealt with. Day 3 we went to customer services office to see her face to face, after questioning our ability to tell the difference between hot and cold water she said that we were the only ones to report this (this turned out to be an untruth). She sent us back to our room saying a technician was on his way now to fix it. One hour later he still hadnt turned up. At this point my wife went back to the office only to find another couple from a different block there complaining about NO HOT WATER, they too had been complaining for 3 days. The lady from customer services was persuaded by my wife to come to our room to check the water and also wait for the technician. She decided to run her own tests on the water. After extensive research she too concluded that we had NO HOT WATER. She then arranged for us to be picked up by a bell boy who then took us to the other side of the complex for a shower. One hour later we had hot water, although 3 or 4 times during our stay we had to report NO HOT WATER again but this was sorted quite quickly. We also had a few power cuts during our stay. The beach was beautiful, the sea was clear blue and so refreshing to run into. Unfortunately the sand fly bites kept us away from the beach too much which was a shame. The pool area was was well kept and the beds were plentiful. The strange thing was that there were no umbrellas, you had to ask the pool attendant to get you one and he expected a tip. The pool snack bar was awful. The food in there was the worst we have ever had! The pool itself was nice but always warm, warmer than the water in our room in fact. The grounds were very well looked after by very friendly gardeners, a tough job in this heat. Always a wave and a smile. My wife took the gardener in our area a cold drink every day and he was so appreciative. The cleaners were lazy, all of them. The floors in our room were never cleaned, the sheets were change once after 8 days, and that is only because we stripped the beds and left the sheets at the door. These sheets were also ripped and stained. We had to ask for our towels to be changed. I dont recall seeing a cleaner with a clean cloth, the just seemed to use dirty cloths and dirty water to clean, especially in the lobby area and the restaurant. If you want to go on the internet then you best get to the lobby early in the morning and get your voucher/internet card as the range is short and the demand is high. 1 CUC for 1 hour internet. We did not see much of the entertainment team while we were there, they seemed to concentrate on the beach area all day. There were a couple of shows in the evening but they seemed to span across evening meal times. There was an act on each evening in the lobby bar which was quite crammed and hot, no air con, no fans, no breeze. A La Carte restaurants are a bit hit and miss. You cant book in advance so have to turn up before 7:30 or you wont get a table at all. We got the at 7:20 and were told to come back at 8:30 and were seated at 8:45. We should not of bothered, half the stuff on the menu was not available, and what was available was not much better than what was in the main restaurant. The shop on the complex was quite frankly a joke. The only seemed to sell cigars. No snacks, no drinks, no suntan lotions. Just cigars, oh and nappies There was a distinct lack of air con throughout the complex. The piano bar which was very small, if you werent in really early you couldnt get a seat. Mikes coffee shop had air con and to be honest was probably the only real plus side to the holiday. Always friendly, always welcoming Mikes coffee shop was a safe place. Somewhere you could relax, chat and not feel rushed. Well done to the staff in there who always served us with a smile, that cant be said about the rest of the complex, smiles were few and far between. In conclusion this hotel was a let down. We stayed for 2 weeks and quite frankly a week would have been too long. If you are expecting a holiday of a lifetime then i suggest you dont book here. Thomas Cook, you need to reevaluate how you give your star ratings, maybe do a surprise visit rather than a planned one where they get the chance to put in more effort

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX