Love Cancun?

Book a flightBook a vacation

Other Mexico Caribbean destinations:

If you like Cancun,
you might like:

Calendar
We offer flexible vacation durations. 5, 7, 10 days… it's your choice.

Filter by trip type:

Cancun was MAZING!! Can't wait to back!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Shannon on Aug 12, 2013

Travel Date: July 2013
Trip Type: Large Group

Having just gone down to Cancun/Mayan on a work related trip, I will now definitely have to go back! There is so much to see, and do there for all ages! Or if you choose to do nothing at all you can be pampered by some of the amazing spas! The food is amazing, and the hotels have something for everyone. I can't wait to go back again!

 

Travel Tip: Food

Always drink bottled water (brush your teeth with it too), and don't eat the dairy products that are sweating to avoid an upset tummy!

See more See less

Beautiful white sandy beach that goes on forever !

Would recommend

Reviewed by Colleen on Aug 04, 2013

Travel Date: July 2013
Trip Type: Large Group

Cancun is a beautiful area of Mexico with a white sandy beach that goes on forever and ever. The water is so blue and inviting that it was hard just to walk on the beach without jumping in. It can be either relaxing as you want or as active as you want. Lots of activities along the beach such as kitesurfing, parasailing, boogie boarding etc. It is great for the young or the young at heart as nightlife is quite active along this strip in Cancun. In July the weather is really hot and very humid but of course the pool and beach are right at your doorstep so dive in to stay cool is what I would recommend. Drink adequate amounts of water throuout the day to stay hydrated especially if time is spend at the beach. Suncreen is a must have but the breeze is nice to help cool you off. If a more quiet laid back vacation is for you try the Riviera Maya Resorts as they are an enjoyable 30-45 minute drive from Cancun International Airport on a paved motorway with transfer companies. Beaches are generally smaller but the resorts are usually set in amazing lush gardens with manicured grounds.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

The 711 store enroute to the Riviera Maya is a good stop for munchies or a cold drink !

See more See less

Cancun is a great place for a family vacation.

Would recommend

Reviewed by hawaiicraze on Mar 21, 2013

Travel Date: March 2013
Trip Type: Family

Cancun is beautiful particularly the Caribbean Sea. It was cooler when we came the beginning of March but gradually warmed up, excellent weather during our stay. This was our first visit and only stayed for a week. We booked two tours: Contoy Island with a bit of snorkeling and stopping by at Isla Mujeres on the way back and Tulum-Coba ruins but there is so much more to explore. We felt safe during our stay especially in the Hotel Zone area. Will definitely go back.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

If you go to Isla Mujeres do your shopping there, so cheap. Play hard to get with the vendors, the price will drop like you wouldn't believe it.

See more See less

Very memorable amazing vacation

Would recommend

Reviewed by Susan A on Mar 17, 2013

Travel Date: March 2013
Trip Type: Friends

Travelled to the Mayan Riviera Feb 23 - March 9/13 direct with Westjet from Thunder Bay. Stayed at the Grand Palladium Riviera, everything from the day we left til we returned went very smoothly!!! The resort was amazing! Check-in at both airports was fast and easy, and the staff always had a smile. Flights were smooth both ways and inboard flight crew worked very hard to feed,water and keep passaengers comfy both ways. Transfers to and from the airport went extremely well, and being picked up in a small van is way better than a big tour bus. Makes check-in at the resort and airports so much faster, way less people arriving at the same time. Alot of hard work and planning goes into organizing these direct flights and I want to thank everyone involved in making this a very memorable vacation my husband and I will remember for years. Keep up the good work Westjet!!! Sincerely, Susan Altree

 

Travel Tip: Food

beaches are amazing

See more See less

Cancun is an idyllic destination for ocean, beach and fabulous weather!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Right said Fred on Mar 04, 2013

Travel Date: February 2013
Trip Type: Couple

My husband and I travel to Cancun about once every year or two. We love the beauty of the ocean and the beach. The weather was yet again absolutely idyllic and we would not hesitate to return to Cancun, Mexico.

 

Travel Tip:

You will not get sick from the water here

See more See less

Cancun is very expensive

Not recommend

Reviewed by Les on Mar 02, 2013

Travel Date: March 2013
Trip Type: Couple

We found Cancun to be a very expensive city. We expected great Mexican pricing but floored that very little cheaper than Canada or United States. Went to many shopping places at zona hotelera and in Cancun, including Wal Mart. Lots of tours available, but lots of money needed for the tours. Nothing was cheap at all. On one of our tours while driving though downtown Cancun there was a shooting right in front of the bus (who swerved away from any danger) from one car to another. I did not see, but a fellow Canadian said that one car cut another off. The car that was cut off stopped the other car and two guys came out with guns and shot the other driver. I seriously question safety. The resort had lots of security, but geez, warnings about "don't walk the beach at night" "dont walk alone or in dark areas at night even in the resort areas" "don't carry or show lots of money, don't wear expensive jewelry or have cameras obvious". While this is true in many cities, it seemed more foreboding here. I felt safer in New Orleans and Chicago. It was a bit unnerving to walk downtown Cancun in the daytime after seeing a shooting at 9am the previous day. Have never been Mexico and perhaps our expectations were too high, but would not likely go back.

 

Travel Tip:

take lots of money or lots of credit

See more See less

Perfect for everyone!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Sara on Jan 08, 2013

Travel Date: January 2013
Trip Type: Couple

Whether you are looking to relax, adventure, or party, Cancun has it all! I have been twice and never been disappointed.

 

Travel Tip: Food

Don't miss Senor Frogs! Delicious food and very entertaining staff!

See more See less

perfect location to just chill out.

Would recommend

Reviewed by SS on Jan 03, 2013

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

weather was great, perfect local for a quick getaway. We will come back for sure.

 

Travel Tip: Food

its a long drive down to myan riviera from cancun so be prepared.

See more See less

Cancun is a spot full of things to do.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Justin&Hillory on Dec 31, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

Weather was very nice for our visit. Food at our resort was good as well as all other services. We would go back.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Great place to unwind

Would recommend

Reviewed by Steven on Dec 27, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

Cancuin was very enjoyable. Lot's to do if you want to do it including sight seeing and adventure tours. Enjoyed great weather which made for excellent hours of relaxation at the pool and beach area.I would highly recommend this destination to anyone looking for a great vacation.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Cancun has it all

Would recommend

Reviewed by Poleman on Dec 19, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Family

Spent a week in Cancun to escape the long winter. Friendly safe resort area. Most properties are all inclusive. Cancun has it all. You can have nightlife, quiet romance, explore history/culture or be adventurous and active. Would not hesitate to return.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Always something new to explore

Would recommend

Reviewed by Brain on Dec 17, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

Cancun area is full of adventure you can take it slow and relaxed or be on the go each and every day. There are numerous side trips one can take or even venture out and explore the area on your own. The weather is typical for a southern destination most mornings were clear and sunny and sometimes clouds rolled in in the early afternoon or evening and when it did rain the system moved through very quickly and the rain was warm . There were tropical breezes blowing most of the time and the winds were very warm and kept the humidity down by the sea. I have been to this area before and yes i will return again as each trip is a new and exciting experience.

 

Travel Tip: Miscellaneous

Explore the area and you will be able to find activities or interests that will meet your needs.

See more See less

Wonderful town with picture perfect beaches.

Would recommend

Reviewed by gib on Dec 16, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

Staying in Cancun is great as you are not stuck out on some large resort having to rely on taxis to get around. They also have a good bus system that will take you not only around the town, but to Playa Del Carmen and Tulum at extremely good prices.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Cancun...the best of everything!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Lina on Dec 14, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

Love it, love it, love it! Would go back in a heartbeat. If you have never been, dont wait, pack your bags and experience Mexico. It has something for everyone and is a great vacation destination.

 

Travel Tip:

Get off your resort and see the sites. Lots to see and do!

See more See less

Loved Cancun!!!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Shelly on Dec 14, 2012

Travel Date: November 2012
Trip Type: Wedding

Loved Cancun and the most relaxing part was the massage on the beach!

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Perfect Trip!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Maggie on Dec 14, 2012

Travel Date: November 2012
Trip Type: Couple

Beautiful - weather was perfect high 70's to low 80's! Rained only 1/2 day. Trip went very smoothly - Westjet had taken care of everything and we had no worries! Always enjoy travelling Westjet - our first choice! Appreciate the staff on the airplane - very knowledgable and enjoy a good time! Set the Holiday spirit!

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

pack light and don't forget your sunscreen!

See more See less

Cancun is a place to go back to again and again.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Brigitte on Nov 19, 2012

Travel Date: November 2012
Trip Type: Couple

Cancun is a relaxing place to go. Weather is great and I would always go back every year. We love Mexico.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Do experience the "Captain Hook" Adventure. It really is fun riding on Hook's boat with his pirates and enjoy a great meal.

See more See less

Paradise.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Betty on Nov 18, 2012

Travel Date: October 2012
Trip Type: Couple

We actually stayed in Playa Del Carmen. The bus ride was approximately 45 mins from the Cancun airport. We loved the area . The Caribbean Sea is the most beautiful shades of blue I have ever seen. The shopping in Playa Del Carmen was also very good. The Main Street is fifth ave. high end shops available and local vendors as well,a mix of both worlds. Lots to see and do. Took the ferry to Cozumel where we rented scooters to tour the island. Beautiful!!!!! The weather was perfect,the odd bit of clouds but the temperature was stable at about 29 Celsius . We snorkelled at Xel Ha ,went on a luxury catamaran .WE LOVED EVERY SECOND. We are already planning a trip in the spring. Can't wait. Betty

 

Travel Tip: Food

Coconuts restaurant in Cozumel. Cash only. The view and the food are spectacular

See more See less

Entertaining and relaxing with service second to none!

Would recommend

Reviewed by JMAN on Nov 13, 2012

Travel Date: November 2012
Trip Type: Couple

A fantastic experience once again as we have now travelled to this area for 12 years in a row and have an amazing vacation. I recommend the Mayan Riviera to all friends and family as there is so much to offer whether it is relaxing holiday or action filled entertainment. I will be vacationing again next Autumn season as long as it stays affordable.

 

Travel Tip: Food

A six hour flight from Vancouver is a little gruling but a couple of movies kills enough time to almost get there

See more See less

Cancun - Amazing Beaches and Beautiful Turquiose Ocean!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Cat N on Jul 17, 2012

Travel Date: July 2012
Trip Type: Large Group

The Beaches and Turquoise blue water in Cancun are unlike any other destination I have been to. Its absolutely breathtaking. I highly recommend staying at an oceanfront property or in an ocean view room. There is so much to do in Cancun. I found this to be a very friendly and very popular tourist destination so I felt very safe. WestJet Vacations offers so many different resorts that are suitable for any type of traveler.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Make sure you book a tour to see the Tulum Ruins with Best Day Travel its amazing!

See more See less

Have you visited Cancun?

We'd love to know what you think.

Write a review

Our review policy

We do our best to ensure reviews are accurate, fair and objective. All reviews are the opinion of a WestJet Vacations website visitor and not of WestJet Vacations.

Read our review policy