The Rimrock Resort Hotel reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.5 Excellent

  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Location 4.5
  • Rooms 4.5
  • Service 4.5
  • Value 4.0

6829 TripAdvisor reviews

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Beautiful Hotel

Kathy H on Jul 03, 2022

We stayed towards the end of June. This is a very beautiful hotel. Staff went above and beyond from the front desk girl from Ontario helping us choose a better room to the awesome bell hop who gave us a ride to the Gondola which is only a 7 min walk! Larkspur had great service and good food! And the breakfast was amazing - especially crème brûlée French toast! Loved being out of the village and enjoying the beautiful scenery Hope we get back again!

TripAdvisor users rated this property 4 out of 5

Great hotel, great staff but bad check in experience

jaynen392 on Jun 30, 2022

We stayed here for 6 days at the grand view suite and the view of the suite was just spectacular. We had a balcony and it was so amazing to walk out and enjoy the view. On some days the view changes every few mins and it’s so fascinating. We saw so many rainbows from our suite. The suite was large and modern. We had clogged toilets on 2 separate occasions in 2 separate bathrooms so that was not expected. We had a bad check in experience as well. We waited more than an hour to get our room and we have never had to wait to check in - we have stayed in 5 Fairmonts before arriving at Rimrock. One of the front desk staff was a little rude and ran down Fairmont in front of us. But the valet and bellman staff are amazing. The valets remember us by name and greet us every time they see us. They open our doors for us every time. And a valet, Eddine, even loaned us his own personal bear spray when we wanted to go on a hike (Fairmonts usually have them available for their guests but Rimrock didn’t). The room service menu is much cheaper than Fairmont and the food is good. The pool is good but can get crowded on weekends.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Three stays during Covid.

PigaPiga60 (Calgary, Canada) on Jun 28, 2022

We took advantage of the lower prices and occupancy during the pandemic to stay at the Rimrock three times in 2021/2022. I love this place. First stay - March 2021 - we had a room with gorgeous views over the town and river valley. The room was clean and comfortable. Another wonderful thing on this stay was being able to book the pool for ourselves for an hour. Ate at Primrose and the food was excellent. There was no housekeeping at all on this visit but the staff were happy to supply anything we needed. 2nd stay - June 2021. 3 nights in a room overlooking the mountains and pool/patio areas. This was when the heat dome was in place and it was HOT in Banff. The rooms stayed pleasantly cool despite the baking heat, and we appreciated the free bus pass to get down town to restaurants (although we once again had an excellent dinner at the Primrose) 3rd stay - February 2022. One night stay with family. The hotel was a lot busier as it was reading week in Alberta, and it was the only time I came across a somewhat brusque staff member at check-in. Had the pasta buffet in the Primrose which was good but chaotic. Son and granddaughter enjoyed the pool more than once. This is a full service hotel wonderfully situated. The public areas of the hotel are beautiful, and the restaurants have spectacular views. The rooms are fine but showing their age a little. There is good parking. You can walk up to the Gondola and Hot spring pools, or down through the trails to the Banff Springs hotels. The bus service is quick and easy to downtown and back. Restaurants, bars and coffee shops are very good. The staff are great too especially the concierge and servers. Pool and hot tub are a good size and lots of lovely outdoor seating for summer visits - although even in winter there was patio heaters/fires on the terrace.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 4 out of 5

Beautiful Hotel

964dana (Reno, Nevada) on Jun 27, 2022

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and the views are incredible! We loved it. It is also close to a very difficult hike right out the front door. Sulpher Mountain Trail Head is 3.4 miles to the summit with breathtaking views. Took us 1.5 hours up and 1 hour down. Very steep climb but worth it. There is also a gradual pass behind the hotel. The pool and hot tub are inside and very nice. Restaurants are great for fine dining. Concierge was fantastic and very helpful! Be sure to utilize them for things to do and dining. Tunnel Mountain Trail was another great hike. Free bus pickup and drop off right in front of the hotel. 5 minutes to town via bus. I only gave 4 stars as it is a bit out of town and would be a difficult walk. Also, I would like to see some more casual dining in property. We did eat in the bar one night but a very limited menu. We actually called Carlitos Pizza one night and they delivered to our room, which is a great option once you have tried Eden and Primrose on property. Carlitos even brought wine. Great experience and beautiful resort!

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Wow

Anne D (Delta, Canada) on Jun 25, 2022

An amazing hotel, built into the side of a cliff. You enter on the 7th floor and go down to your floor! Beautiful rooms & views. Easy accessibility to hotel, but not to the Primerose dining room. Close to the gondola.

View All