Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Huatulco
    5. Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
    6. Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    F

    Huatulco

    Reviewed by Family on Apr 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    I loved this place! It was all we wanted! Very clean, the staff was excellent and the food was great. If there was a downfall, it would be that we were not able to go to the restaurants that required formal attire. It is +30 in Huatulco..who thinks to bring slacks? Referring to the men of course..so we did not get to try them. We did the snorkeling through Westjet Vacations, but a month later, we are still trying to find out how to get ahold of the pictures that were taken by the guides...anyone have any idea?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4521 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing Beach Views, Great for Big Groups

    Reviewed by EWence87() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Holy Beach Views. The Dinner accommodations for big groups Is great, we were 18 total. We upgraded to Preferred Club. You get to order TOP SHELF and you also have access to a snack lounge on the 6th floor. Very convenient when you don’t want to wait. 24 Hour unlimited room Service. The pools are amazing. There is 2 adult pools. The beach has vendors selling stuff and ladies who offer to braid your hair for such a low price. I was getting my hair braided every morning LOL. Chairs get limited after noon but they start to open up around 3pm and up. It’s not packed at all and the waiters are all very humble and helpful. The Japanese restaurant is OMG to die for! They have barbecue rigs ahh so delicious. Eliceo the waitress there was so nice ! And Ubaldo the bartender at the lobby was the BEST! He was so helpful to when it came to answering all our questions. He even went to say bye to us when we were leaving ! Alejandro the pool server was so nice and honest too. I left some glasses at the beach and he found me two days later to tell me he had recovered them ! All and al this place was amazing and I will definitely go back ! The room was small but everything else makes up for it. Emma and Magda the cleaning ladies where exceptional. They clean your room twice a day ! Are room was never dirty ! I could literally go on and on but seriously pick this hotel ! This place feels so save also! Also everything is so cheap ! Compared to Cancun and other famous tourist places this is literally so cheap. The banana was $10 each. To braid my hair it was about $8-12 dollars depending on style. We took family pictures that was about $100 dollars but he printed hard copies and also a CD. A taxi ride to down town shopping was $4-5 dollars round trip !

    Vow Renewal Dreams Huatulco

    Reviewed by Nykh1129() on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Beach: First time visiting the Pacific side of Mexico and must say it is so much better than the Gulf. Beach was exceptionally clean no seaweed or bad smells. There are birds like the Yucatán, but not bad. Only saw one iguana. Pools were kept clean and they did a great job keeping the kids out of the adult pool. Room: We opted for an ocean-view and it didn’t disappoint. We paid for Preferred Club too, but besides the lounge we didn’t see the true advantage nor could we tell if access was truly “preferred”. The beds are far from comfortable and are full-sized not queen. Would be nice if they offered adjoining rooms when you have kids. Double beds are too small to share and the mattresses are extremely uncomfortable! Food: was average. If you’ve had resort food once you’ve had it all. The only stand out was Himitsu, the Asian restaurant. As for our renewal, we could not have asked for a better experience. Sandy, planner and Fredy, photographer were fantastic! They are the only reason for the 4-star rating, rather than 3. Only drawback was the lack of English speaking staff. Announcements were only made in Spanish and not geared toward English-speaking guests. We had this unfortunate experience both on and off the resort! On a whole Dreams Huatulco is a hidden gem and not overcrowded! We will return but not too soon.

    Beautiful resort

    Reviewed by Jlyns321(Kansas City, Kansas) on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Here is a review of Dreams Huatulco. Overall we really enjoyed this resort. We had 2 Preferred Ocean front room and both were upgraded to Preferred Ocean front junior suites with a whirlpool tub on the balcony (many of the pictures are from the balcony). We were given cold clothes and fresh lemonade at check in that was with the vip concierge - we are UVC members and they were gone for the day when we arrived. Check in was very quick but we kept our bags so we could change for dinner knowing how long bags can take to get to the room. Room was very nice - air conditioner never stopped running but kept cool. All Preferred amenities were in the room and restocked everyday. Room service, turndown and mini bar restock was excellent every day. We had to hunt UVC down - no banner-on our doors. Visited the spa hydrotherapy circuit on day and the again the next day before massages. Noel was great at the spa. One of the best massages both my daughter and I ever had, can’t remember the names of the ladies who gave the massages. Food was average - many people are Nationals at this resort and many review on trip advise say the food is great - I think it is very geared to the Nationals and overall was not bad but not great. Our favorite was Portofino and the ice cream at the buffet at noon. We did not eat at Sea Side grill except at lunch. The buffet at Oceana at lunch is like the barefoot grill and was not good. Pool and beach were great - waves and undertow were strong but we went in everyday. Pools are very nice (a bit warm) and service was great at the pools. They did a good job of keeping kids out of the adult only pools. People swim very late here (8:30pm)! Preferred club was not the best - the Preferred beach bar was great but they never asked for room number so anyone could use it. The lobby bar was excellent - had to ask them to get the good stuff like Hendricks our from under the counter. Coco cafe was excellent and the Mezcal Bar was fun. Entertainment geared very much for the Nationals. Beautiful resort -we would return mostly for the area - did true 3 levels of Huatulco tour and loved it!

    HuatulcoDreams

    Reviewed by ggigli0(San Marcos, California) on Aug 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    An amazing Bahia (Bay)! The compound is what you would expect from the dreams brand. The service staff is extremely friendly and ready to serve you. If you are looking for an all-inclusive where you can just chill, Dreams Huatulco is for you

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great time

    Reviewed by Jessica K() on Jul 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our first time in Huatulco and I was happy with the trip. The hotel was very clean but the rooms and hotel are a bit dated. For the price we paid, it was worth it. We are from the Chicago area and know no Spanish. This hotel is where people from Mexico go to vacation. The shows, kids club, movies are mostly in Spanish so the language barrier was difficult at times. However it was awesome to be on the other side, Cancun caters so much to English speaking people that you don't get the culture shock that you can here. The town seemed safe and was a short cab ride away. The waves were rough by the hotel so bring a life jacket if you have kids. We didn't like the buffets for lunch or dinner. The breakfast was omelets so not to hard to mess that up. Lunch was always a miss for us because it was only buffet style and there were flies on the food, we'd go into town or order room service. Dinner at any restaurant other than the buffet was good. The adult only Italian restaurant was our least favorite besides the buffet. My husband didn't like that 2 of the 5 restaurants required pants, it's hot! I wish the hotel would enforce their no saving chairs rule. Most days the chairs were occupied with towels and people wouldn't show up for HOURS. If you weren't up at 7am you wouldn't get a spot by the main pool. Our room was cleaned twice a day and they always did a great job. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX