Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    R

    Nice central property that will need to improve on their food quality and do some upgrades around the place to be competitive!

    Reviewed by Richmond on Jan 18, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great location and the staff were very accommodating, this property needs to improve on their food and menu standards and update/replace many of the worn and tired looking beach beds

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3670 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    2nd time not as good as the 1st

    Reviewed by sunfunbeer(Lancaster, PA) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was our 2nd stay at this property. The Pools are still good. The room was overlooking the marina and we liked that better than the ocean view. There are more interesting thing to look at. The Beer is still good. The problem this time was the food. Breakfast was fine. Lunch was okay if we got either a hamburger or brick oven pizza at the pool. But the lunch buffet was below par. And the dinner buffet was really bad this time. I'm not sure what happened with the food quality but last year was much better. We ended up, after trying the dinner buffet one night, getting room service pizza one night and the rest of the time walking to the marina area restaurants and purchasing our meals. The mixed drinks were terrible including margaritas, pina coladas, any type of daiquiri! I'm not complaining only about the alcohol content. I'm complaining about the overall mix and that's where a mixed drink starts. The location of the property is very good but I can no longer recommend this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Great Location and Service

    Reviewed by Graham M() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Uniquely situated in the local rock and mountains provided a great view on both sides (Pacific and the Marina on the Sea of Cortez) as well as easy walking access to the marina and downtown. Excellent service all around. We were a group of 8. First shout out to Johnny who took our bags when we arrived. Very nice and friendly staff. A special shout out to Jose (concierge) who worked for the hotel and had answers to all of our questions. We saw him every day, he talked with us to see how we were doing every time. He also had the answers and the insights on most of the excursions. With a little hike and some good shoes/traction you can easily climb over a small gap in the rocks on the pacific side and visit Lovers and Divorce beach. My wife and I, over 50, were able to get there. Being March the water was cooler (Lovers beach) then we are used to in the Caribbean but once you are in you are fine. Thank you for the day trip arrangements to La Paz and Todos Santos (Hotel California) and Balandra beach. Other staff included Thomas (waiter), Jesus (bartender) and many others, sorry I'm forgetting names now. Other little things that help, your own water cooler and stocked beer cooler with sodas as well. Thank you for a lovely time and vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Best Location!

    Reviewed by Sdf6619(Blaine, Minnesota) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were there March 7-15, 2019 and stayed in a 2- bedroom master suite (4301&4302) facing the marina. The room was beautiful and looked exactly like all the pictures I saw online. We had 2-18-year-old girls with us who also loved everything. They were old enough to be in the adult pool and participate in pool games. Not sure if kids 13-17 would have enough to do at this resort and I personally wouldn't recommend to parents of kids that age unless planning to do a lot of things outside of the resort. However, the convenience of the location makes it really easy to do things outside of the resort and is easy walking distance to the marina and downtown. We used Uber several times to go to the Medano beach area and each time was around $3 one way and about a 10-minute drive. This area and resort felt very safe, is very clean and upscale. There were many staff at the hotel that were great such as Arturo, Bernie, Christopher, Ismeal, Nicki (the GM), the front desk staff, the pizza place by the pool, the pool entertainment staff, the list goes on. The staff at the spa are wonderful and being a royal elite guest, We took advantage of using the spa facilities every day. The royal elite black wristband is the way to go and allows you to enjoy do much more. The crowd is definitely older although it's still kid friendly but not at all a spring break college crowd. We loved our stay and would definitely stay here again. The location is the absolute best with the ocean on one side and marina on the other. Lots of walking and with the 116 steps up to the marina side (you can take the elevator too!) you can definitely get your exercise in! Thank you for everything, Sandos Finisterra!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Hard to Find a Thing Wrong

    Reviewed by Jay-N-Tam(Kitchener, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our only negative was the long ride from the airport but that really was Sunwings fault. The resort is amazing and although not quite a boutique but pretty damn close. We won't rehash all the other reviews. We had a truly amazing week and the picture was our first morning view. Pretty tough. Names to remember - Fernando by the pool. Rockstar. Norma by the pool super as well. Gloria always yelling tequila across the pool to us. We love her. Carlo at the Italian for breakfast. Mario at the Italian for dinner and Norman at the Agave for lunch. And don't forget Isaac who gave us big hugs on the last day. So many more names but the staff make this resort. Genuine hospitality. And go talk to Geronimo by the pool. One of the nicest guys you will ever meet. The resort is near town which is cool too. One of our best vacations ever. We we're their for a small wedding and we were treated like royalty. Thanks to all the staff. Forgot to mention Chuc at the Agave bar. The best Margarita in Cabo . Jay n tams

    Another wonderful visit!

    Reviewed by jbuck70(Wilmington, North Carolina) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our second visit to Sandos Finisterra and we loved it even more than the first time! From the time we arrived until the time we checked out, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The entire staff makes you feel welcome and strives to make your experience a memorable one. We especially enjoyed Ishmael at the Royal Elite pool and Carlos at the Italian restaurant for breakfast! Frederico at the gym was very helpful teaching us how to use the equipment, which we were unfamiliar with. The rest of the staff from housekeeping to the spa were above par compared to other resorts we’ve visited. The only downside is the food.....limited choices for dinner that were average compared to other resorts......although breakfast and lunches were pretty good. All in all, we loved it and will definitely go back!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX