The Kapalua Villas Maui reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.0 Very Good

  • Cleanliness 4.0
  • Location 4.5
  • Rooms 4.5
  • Service 4.0
  • Value 4.0

1110 TripAdvisor reviews

TripAdvisor users rated this property 1 out of 5

Kapalua Villa Vacation 6/16/22 thru 6/19/22

brianwQ9973HU on Jun 23, 2022

Maui residents & businesses still hurting from Covid and are desperate. The views were amazing & the golf was fantastic for an avid golfer. Everything else was cringe worthy aside from a couple solid meals. The workers at Kapalua restaurants lack the typical customer service techniques prior to Covid. They had a very "take it or leave it" attitude even when just asking for a reservation or if walk-ins are welcomed. According to regular goers we dined with, the menus have been greatly reduced, which is understandable for the times, but at least have a smile on your face and enhance customer service. The Kapalua Villa Covid cleaning charge is horrific. Due to delays in checking out, we revisited our villa to kill time, but within an hour of us leaving, again not officially checked out, the cleaning employees entered our villa and cleaned the villa. Again, attitude was not the best as we asked if we could go back in and they responded with saying we would be charged another cleaning fee. For almost $300, an hour of cleaning is definitely not worth it and won't stop Covid if that is your concerns. On top of it, it was discovered that this cleaning employee stole my wife's passport the day before while we were out and we conveniently recovered it after her manager spoke with her about it though the front desk had called 10 minutes earlier inquiring about it in our presence. Overall, a sketchy time visit to supposedly a highly ranked facility. Spending the extra money to stay at the Ritz or Montage may be the better play, but overall the Maui residents appear to be desperate coming out of Covid.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 4 out of 5

Fantastic accommodation but need a car

ewanarm (Sheffield, United Kingdom) on Jun 04, 2022

We booked a Ridge villa for 3 nights as our first taste of Hawaii. We were not sure what to expect as this was not our first choice of accommodation but we were pleasantly surprised. Kapalua is about an hour's drive from the airport so was about $110 in a taxi. It is at the north west of the island and there was a strong wind every day which you should bear in mind. Reception was very welcoming and check in was a very smooth process. Now a warning, there are significant additional charges added to your accommodation cost. With the mandatory cleaning charge, the resort fees and the damage protection charge this equated to over $500 in additional cost which is taken from your credit card at check in. We were notified of these charges by our travel company beforehand but remember to read the small print otherwise they could come as a bit of shock. Our villa was set on a hillside overlooking the ocean and has fantastic views. It was a one bedroom villa and we could not believe the size. There was an open plan lounge, kitchen, dining area with access to the balcony which ran the full length of the villa. There was a large double bedroom with a huge bed and it's own small balcony with a large ensuite bathroom with walk in shower, wc and two sinks and there was also a separate shower room with wc as well. The kitchen was a full size one with coffee maker, kettle, and all the necessary utensils and crockery so you could cater for yourself if you wished. The villas are surrounded by championship golf courses so everywhere is quite a walk away. The shop and some of the restaurants are about a 20 minute walk and the beaches are about 10 minutes walk away. The shop was well stocked and there were two very nice Italian restaurants but be warned the restaurants are expensive and you should book in advance. We had a lovely meal on the first night but it was over $100 for the two of us. With hindsight, I would have hired a car so that we could see more of the surrounding area but with only 3 nights we just went and relaxed on the beach or by the pool which was next door to our villa. Overall, wonderful accommodation with fantastic views but expensive and not a lot around the immediate area.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 3 out of 5

Not “luxury” and certainly not “opulent”!

USBrits (Pasadena, California) on Apr 19, 2022

Good location, natural surrounds and low rise. Had they not marketed our villa (T23 6&7) as “opulent” and “luxury” I would have given it 4 stars - if the interior issues had also been resolved. Broken blinds, AC failed for 4 days, stained carpets, stained walls. Generic interior, though not low-end, as it did have some quality furnishings. My Perfect Stays Management company was apologetic and very responsive and we came to a mutual satisfactory resolution.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Absolutely Wonderful

671cindit (Nanaimo, Canada) on Apr 18, 2022

We booked a Ridge Villa 1 Bedroom oceanview suite through Air Canada Vacations for April 2022. It was amazing! The view was spectacular from our suite, the unit itself was very well equipped (2 floors: bedroom up, kitchen living down). The only negative I could find to mention if forced to is that the decor is somewhat dated, but that didn't affect our enjoyment at all. The complex itself is so well look after - groundskeepers working hard everywhere. Very quiet with an nice ambience. We enjoyed visiting one of the Ridge pools daily; found very few people there for any length of time; they would come and go. Of course we visited the beach below the resort daily, as well as others in the area (several within 15 minute walk). I had to contact the front desk staff with a question and found them to be both helpful and efficient. Not our first visit to Maui (and definitely won't be our last). We plan to stay at Kapalua Villas again.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Ideal Spot

peaceandenthusiasm (San Francisco, California) on Mar 28, 2022

Wow, what an amazing stay we enjoyed at Kapalua Bay Villas. The accommodations themselves are beautiful, comfortable, and spacious, with a full kitchen, large bathrooms, and luxurious touches everywhere. But the real value in these properties is the location! Their hillside position offers stunning views of the ocean and Molokai, as well as a gorgeous vantage point for the sunset. We went during whale season and would sit for hours watching the wondrous sight of numerous whales swimming, playing, and diving in the waters just off the shore. Another major bonus is that the property is within a 10 minute walk to Kapalua Bay Beach which is my favorite beach in Maui. We were there most days, and not having to deal with the horrendous parking situation at the beach was an absolute blessing. The property also includes a shared heated pool which we definitely enjoyed as well as the communal barbecue grill.

View All