BodyHoliday St. Lucia reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.5 Excellent

  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Location 4.5
  • Rooms 4.5
  • Service 4.5
  • Value 4.5

3029 TripAdvisor reviews

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

18 years was worth the wait

tjb3r (Denver, Colorado) on Jun 30, 2022

We had a marvelous stay at the BodyHoliday during Jive June 2022. The resort is nestled in a cove in the Cap Estate region (NW) of St. Lucia. There is always something going on at the resort for all levels of activity or relaxation. The food was amazing, including the signature restaurants of I-Tal (farm to table) and Tao (Asian fusion), the staff and BodyGuards (fitness instructors) were extremely attentive, personable and made efforts to get to know us while we were there, the daily massages were relaxing and soothing and we enjoyed activities like wake boarding, beach and pool volleyball, aqua aerobics, tennis, golf, kayaking, walks to nearby coves and overlooks, cycling to Pigeon Island and much, much more. Additionally, the dance classes like Salsa, Grease Choreo and Zumba, most lead by Jennifer during Jive June, are not to be missed! The Tai Chi, meditation, breath work and yoga classes also were phenomenal and their resident instructor for many of those classes, Lindsay, is top notch. The Friday sunset cruise and BBQ were outstanding and the boat was rocking from Rodney Bay and back as a result of an impromptu dance party. The nightly entertainment is different each night and included a silent disco, line dancing, live music, and fire dancers among other things while we were there. The beach is immaculate (the nearby currents keep the Sargassum seaweed away) and hammocks, beach chairs and all other beach needs are available when you want some down time. There are even floating rings in the ocean by the beach that the servers will wade through the water to serve you your desired drink of choice. We originally went to the BodyHoliday for our honeymoon 18 years ago. There have been so many changes that have enhanced the resort since then. On the downside, the rooms were good, but not exceptional (we stayed in the Luxury Ocean View which did have a great view) and the portal for viewing and scheduling activities could be enhanced to be more user friendly. My favorite part of the experience is the community of like minded people that we met who were interested in health and well being. We made some friends that we hope to keep in touch with for years to come. Their motto is true, give us your body for a week and we will give you back your mind. We felt rejuvenated, learned a lot about the mind body connection and tried some new activities we hope to continue during our daily lives. We cannot wait to return.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Worth the wait

T3259QPalisonj on Jun 28, 2022

I'd originally intended to travel here for "that" landmark birthday, but a global pandemic meant I didn't put my feet in the Saint Lucia sands until June 2022. The BodyHoliday is like no other place in the world. From the moment of arrival, as a guest, you are treated and spoken to like somebody who matters - and that feels authentic. Now for the details. I traveled solo but opted for a bigger room with a balcony and view of the gardens and sea. If you can, treat yourself to this - I was in room 201, so on a fabulous corner. I could have taken turns on my pair of dreamy "oh-so-comfy" Queen-sized beds, but that would not have been fair to the room staff. Rooms were kept really clean, and the turndown evening service complete with herbal teas and mini cookies was a nice touch. Don't be surprised that there are no TVs in the rooms - this is deliberate to keep you mindful and present. But you do get an in-room tablet, mainly for booking and looking at treatments and classes. Bathrooms also good with a powerful shower. I could go on about the lovely food etc, but will focus on my experiences as a solo traveller. In short - it's ideal for that. The evening meet- up in the Piano Bar ahead of communal dining (if you choose to) is genius. We didn't need the staff chaperone, but it's a nice touch and whoever you get is bound to be lovely. Your inclusive treatment list is presented to you on arrival but times of these can be shifted. And the activity list is so crammed you may feel a big sense of FOMO. Treatments and many of the classes are in the stunning and serene wellness temple, but be warned - you have a number of steps to climb in order to get to this sanctuary. A couple of small slip-ups. One treatment hadn't been designated a room, so there was a last-minute flurry of activity while they found a therapist and room, so that felt a bit rushed and awkward - especially when another therapist has to come into the emergency space to find her waxing spatula while I was pretty much naked on the table. And two more things before I conclude on a well-deserved high note. There is some upselling along the way. I was put down for an Ayerverdic consultation, which was more or less an inroad to try and persuade me to sign up for additional treatments. I also went to a posture session which was to sell the services of the bio-mechanics guy on the team. Telling the room that we've all wasted money on Physios and Osteopaths isn't really how you sell yourself! Also, there's no getting around this... the taxi transfer can be a killer. It's between 1 1/2 to two hours and can get very bumpy and nausea-inducing. I had motion sickness for the first time since childhood, so make sure I took a tablet for the return journey. But back to the great stuff. Once I switched off, the vibe is magical. Whether you chose to simply sit on the beach (where the team will sort out your lounger, towels, umbrella, and drinks) or exercise from dusk 'til dawn and back again, this is your place. I absolutely loved meditation, aqua fit and aqua dance, as well as the stretch classes, but next time will be braver and try some new stuff. I cannot wait to return, but will most certainly come for a bit more than a week so I can sample more of what the BodyHoliday has to offer, and see some of the wider island as well.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 1 out of 5

Very disappointed - gave me food poisoning

CharlieBowes-Lyon on Jun 26, 2022

The hotel is a lovely place, we have lots of friends who come here and some who’ve been coming for years which is why we decided to visit for a week as part of our Honeymoon. Unfortunately I got bad food poisoning on the first night from the bbq on the beach. I was given a piece of uncooked chicken and think I had salmonella or something similar as a result. I was subsequently very ill for the entire week and had to stay in my room. Obviously my wife was then alone / looking after me for the entire week too. All of this is understandable - I get that food poisoning can occur. They checked up on me and eventually the doctor for the resort prescribed me antibiotics which sorted me out by the time I got back to the UK. My BIG complaint is that when leaving they said (the hotel manager came and spoke to me) I would be compensated (given that they gave me the food poisoning) and would be in touch over email. There was a bit of back and forth and I was told it would be a bit of time as they needed to claim on their insurance. We are now FOUR months later and they have ignored my last 3 emails, no reply, ghosting me. Essentially, it seems, shirking their duty to compensate us. This is completely unacceptable and is such a shame given this is somewhere I would have returned. I will be sure to also tell my friends who go there about my experience, really poor service and quite shady given the circumstances.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

"45 VISITS OVER 32 YEARS"

glenn054 (Surrey, United Kingdom) on Jun 26, 2022

Why do we continue to return? The staff, the activities & the overall package is exceptional. Once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with a special mention to Yhasmine the hotel manageress & all of the staff, the activities team were excellent. The food was really good in all of the restaurants with very varied menus. The Spa offered a great service with many varied inclusive treatments. We will certainly return.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

An Amazing week at the BodyHoliday

JTS550 (Ontario, Canada) on Jun 25, 2022

I have just returned from trip number 17 or 18 to The BodyHoliday, and my first trip back since the pandemic. Can't say enough about this wonderful place and how they continue to raise the standards for service, especially during these trying times. The staff has somehow gone from a 10/10 to an 11/10. They can't do enough for you, and always with a smile and friendly conversation. Food excellent at all venues, activities galore, and the spa treatments seem to have improved as well. When I was last there in 2019, the treatments were somewhat hit and miss, i.e. sometimes excellent and sometimes indifferent. On this trip, every session was incredible. A very noticeable improvement from 2019. Resort seemed to be very busy, but the staff still treated everyone like they were the only guest they were dealing with. It was wonderful to see Alfred continue to work his magic in the Piano Bar. There wasn't as much live music in the Club House as in years past, and this may have something to do with covid capacity measures, but I'm not sure. Whether solo or part of a couple/group, the communal table in the evening as well as the morning hike are excellent ways to meet people. I always book Luxury Ocean Front, as the location and layout are perfect. I was in 254 this time, and it has been very nicely refurbished. If I could make one suggestion however: the shower floor is very slippery once wet with soap and water. Please consider putting down some tasteful grip tape or something similar in the refurbed showers - it would be awful if someone took a spill. Thank you BodyHoliday for continuing to be incredible and even raising the bar. Nice covid safety measures in place, but I truly hope we're all done with masks asap. As an aside, this was the first time I have used Fast Track (arrival and departure) and the premium lounge (departure) and I feel it was well worth it. Already looking forward to my next visit. Thanks again TBH!

View All