The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.5 Excellent

  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Location 5.0
  • Rooms 4.5
  • Service 4.5
  • Value 4.5

1881 TripAdvisor reviews

TripAdvisor users rated this property 4 out of 5

Property was great, Valet service could use some work.

rico36461 (North Chicago, Illinois) on Jan 07, 2023

We really enjoyed the property and location, and would give 5 stars if not for a negative initial experience. My main advice to the property -- if you are going to offer a high-end valet service, you have to execute. Otherwise, don't offer it. When we first arrived, the valet insisted on taking our bags. I could see they were backed up, and offered to take them ourselves, but he insisted they deliver to our room. We got to the room quickly (easy check-in), and all we wanted to do was get down to the pool and beach to enjoy our first Hawaiian sunset. An hour later, and after a complaint call, the bags still weren't there. We finally just went back down to the lobby and grabbed them ourselves instead of waiting any longer. It started the experience in a poor light, but the rest of the 4-day stay improved from there. Again, not a typical Westin experience, and I'm sure they were both busy and understaffed. But, if they knew it would be a while, then why insist on doing it. Just let us take our own bags from the start and relieve the pressure.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

A family of nine had an amazing time

dmorcareers (Toronto) on Jan 03, 2023

This is our third visit to this property. We are three families. One with three children 5 months 2 and 4. The other two families both in their sixties and seventies.We stayed at the Weston Nanea for 14 days. We had two- two bedroom ocean view suites. The check in was a little rough as it was late at night and the staff was very friendly but ended up giving us the room that had a broken air conditioning. The family moved to another suite down the hall the next morning. Not ideal. The suites are large comfortable with full kitchens and laundry. Two king beds and a lovely balcony with table and chairs two large bathrooms and the master bathroom has a large tub and separate shower . There is a large sitting area with the kitchen. The room was clean well stocked and comfortable. The Weston provides small cribs suitable for babies, tight for toddlers, high chairs and diaper Geni. The service staff is very quick to respond to requests for extra towels, pillows, laundry soap, coffee, really any request is satisfied. Full Cleaning is sporadic and offered once during our stay. Small cleaning like taking out the trash or removing towels is done daily. Really there should be more cleaning offered during a two week stay. Our beds were changed four times at our request. The grounds at the Nanea are wonderful. The cabanas are excellent. They have comfortable seating, refrigerator and a tv. Ken at the pool area is great and professional. Dylan was helpful everyone has a smile. Towels are no issue and chairs with cushions are available. If you want to be at a the main pool you should be down early and if you don’t care there are many loungers at the back section of the pool. The sun is only on one side of the pool area the entire day and there are many shaded spots available. The kids splash pad and beach area is great. The beach is small but lovely . You can rent umbrellas and chairs. Quite busy and the waves are quite large. Easy access from the pool area. The food in the restaurant was great for breakfast, there is a convenient marketplace and the gym is very good. We stayed in building 4 it was a great location for us. We used the stairs most of the time. There is two elevators if you prefer. Overall we had a lovely visit. Shout out to Adam at concierge who went above and beyond. Laila at the front desk was quite helpful too. The valet was great and very helpful bringing in groceries and handling the luggage. If you have small children there is another Pirate ship pool and playground about 15 minute walk to the other Weston. We had a hard time finding it. Worth the visit. It is behind the small ice cream truck. We w Look forward to returning.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Great family resort - enjoyed it as much on our second visit!

nseitzman (Boulder, Colorado) on Dec 31, 2022

Great location, big and well-stocked rooms, still feels pretty new and has held up well in the 4 years between our visits in December 2018 and 2022 Pros: Very family-friendly (2 and 4 year old both loved the beach-style pool) Great beach right out front (better for snorkeling on our first visit in December 2018 where we saw an octopus and lots of turtles, more bodysurfing / boogie boarding waves in December 2022) 2 bedroom units are roomy and well-stocked (including full kitchen and laundry) Walking distance to The Fish Market and food trucks just north, short drive to Lahaina south Be aware: Food is average and pricey for what you get (there’s a breakfast restaurant and then the pool bar serves lunch and dinner) - definitely better off loading up on groceries and cooking or going off property Definitely not the place I’d pick for a honeymoon or adults-only trip given the number of kids (would look at a few of the resorts in Waimea, probably)

TripAdvisor users rated this property 1 out of 5

Security is out of control - MANY BETTER OPTIONS on Maui

Teamdean4 (Grayslake, Illinois) on Dec 24, 2022

We have been Westin (Vistana) owners for years and have never experienced anything like security the Nanea. I'll start with the worst and most recent and go from there. So, about a half hour ago, I was returning from the store and a female security guard was knocking on our door. I asked her what was up and she said someone was smoking in our room. I said that we don't smoke. My husband then answered and she asked to come in and explained that she saw someone on the balcony smoking. It was a little after 9pm and my adult son and daughter were on the couch in their pajamas watching TV, my husband was packing, and the balcony door was shut and curtains drawn. She then walked over to the balcony to inspect it. Clearly, no one was smoking and there was no smell of smoke. After checking it out, she said that she had just been talking to my husband from outside while he was on the balcony. Again, husband was inside packing as we leave tomorrow, and he told her it was not him. She then said to my husband, "I am not accusing you of doing anything wrong, but I know what I saw." So, she was inferring that my husband was lying. It was a little after 9pm and her visit was invasive, inappropriate, and insulting. We do NOT smoke. And to imply anything else is WRONG. Worse than not getting an apology for the intrusion, she was calling my husband a liar. So this comes on the heels of earlier in the evening around 5:45ish pm. We were sitting on the lounge chairs just chatting with family. The tiki torches had been lit within the past 1/2 hour. One of them, not too far from us, had caught a palm tree on fire. My husband ran and called the front desk, and my son went to the tree to try and put it out. They were supposed to send engineering, but no one came. My son ended up jumping and pulling off the dead palms that were on fire and those within reach of the flames to prevent the tree from catching fire. No one ever came. Yeah . . . happy to to take care of this for you. Your welcome. Earlier in the week, we learned that the property does not allow coolers/cooler bags or your own alcoholic beverages. We have NEVER encountered this at the other properties in Colorado, St. John, Mexico, California, Arizona, or other resorts in Hawaii. One of the key benefits of staying in a timeshare versus a hotel room is that you have a kitchen and fridge to cook and supply your own food or drink. We had a cooler bag at the pool area and were told that we could not have it or our own drinks. So, took the cooler back to the room and read the information they provided us, and sure enough, no coolers. Pretty hard to keep water, drinks for the kids, and food chilled without a cooler. Oh yeah, and my T1D niece's insulin pen. Well done Westin. To be clear, we still didn't purchase the $14 and $16 cocktails. But wait, there's more . . . we were at the hot tub around 9pm. A small group of adults were talking and listening to music at an extremely low level . . . like you couldn't even hear it at the other side of the hot tub. Security guard came up, made the couple turn it off, and then proceeded to scope out the hot tub from about 25 feet away for the next hour. It was like having our own babysitter. Another evening, the security came by to count the number of people in the hot tub and inform us that there were two others that we should consider moving to. People in the tub explained that the other hot tub was not working (not hot) and third one was filled with kids. Seriously . . . let your guests enjoy their experience. There are not enough pool chairs for anywhere close to the numbers of guests, and the pool is not big enough to accommodate. You can use the pools at the Westin Kaanapali, but walking over there isn't exactly convenient. Kids throwing balls in the pool . . . watching 2 people get hit in the face by a ball . . . 1 was REALLY pissed. Regarding the rooms, the kitchens are barely stocked. Minimal pots and pans, utensils, etc. Again, we have never seen such sparse furnishings. The pillows are unbearable. And oddly, there are few staircases in the buildings. This results in you have to constantly use the elevators (wait time) or walking down multiple hallways to get to the stairs to exit. So, the first floor is absolutely preferable. Be careful of the 'ocean view' rooms. They are not true ocean view like you get at other properties including Westins. The way that the buildings are set up, the rooms aren't facing the ocean. You can go onto the patio and look 90 degrees to see the ocean. You don't truly see or hear the ocean the way that you do at other resorts. And, having guests place their garbage in the hallway makes for a lovely experience. It feels like NYC on garbage day. It is usually picked up within 24 hours, but not always. A really upscale feel to it. Other info about the hotel . . . the beach is okay . . . I think I read that Kaanapali means shifting sands. This makes sense because the beach seems narrow and steep, probably because of storms swells. We did not have housekeeping at all, but my sister's room and my mother's room did at least have someone come by and offer clean towels and such. Same lousy washing machines that we have had at other Westin/Vistana properties . . . only fills up 30%, so you have to do a bunch of small loads. Annoying. I know that lots of people seem to love it here, but we saw a series of management failures and lack of appreciation for the guest experience. It was a pretty disappointing experience and at the bottom of all of our Westin/Vistana/Marriott stays (Titanium Elite and Vistana owner).

TripAdvisor users rated this property 4 out of 5

Lots of space for a family

IslandDayDreams (Seattle, Washington) on Dec 16, 2022

Our family of 5 spent about 10 days between here & for Thanksgiving break. We love the convenience the villa offers, especially with a family with 3 small kids. The villas are super spacious. Some resort view rooms have an ocean view, but most do not. The pool & beach chairs can be hard to come by, but the area is very nice and most or all of the chairs have an ocean view.

View All