Bougainvillea Barbados

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 2265 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    It felt like we were returning home!

    Reviewed by Simon C() on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our third visit to Bougainvillea - the last time being 6 years ago and it just seems to get better and better - it felt like we were returning home! The location, beach, accommodation and restaurants are all fantastic - you won't be disappointed. But what really makes Bougainvillea so special are the staff who make you feel welcome from the moment you check in. There are too many to mention everyone by name but a few who really made our holiday special are Stephen on concierge, Jose (who makes the best Mojitos you’ll ever taste), Ann whose smile greets you every morning at breakfast and Cory who looks after you on the beach. Other ‘shout outs’ go to Roxanne, Kai, Gregory, Marvie, Eric, Andrew, Nicole and Darius. Another little treat for those thinking of visiting is Leroy - who turns up outside the hotel every lunchtime (Monday to Friday) to offer authentic Bajan cooking from the back of his little van - will you be brave enough to try his 'one drop' hot sauce? Thank you to everyone at Bougainvillea - we had a wonderful holiday and hope to be back soon.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!!!!

    Reviewed by PegBaz(Leeds, United Kingdom) on Jun 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Back again from my most favourite hotel in Barbados. The refurbishments are superb, whether they are the bedrooms, pool area, restaurants, reception or the beach area - everything is what you would wish for the perfect holiday stay. Sue and Lance (the Duty Managers) can't do enough for you, so pleasant and welcoming - as usual! The girls behind Reception are so pleasant that you never want to leave. The flowers around the hotel and pool seems even more vibrant this year, maybe it was the heat - it was 95 degrees!! most of the time, so the pools and pool bar was a welcome haven. There is always a place to sunbath or just sit and relax and you never feel as if any area is overcrowded. Will see you all again soon!! We went to The Cliff Restaurant on the west coast for my birthday treat, it was fabulous, so we went again a few days later! Still fabulous - food, service, staff. For those of you who enjoy gardening etc, then you must visit Hunte's Gardens, Castle Grant in St Joseph. A privately owned 100ft "sink hole", lovingly created into a breathtaking garden by Anthony Hunte. There is always something different to see each time I go. Anthony Hunte is always very welcoming to visitors offering cooling drinks - my favourite is homemade Lemonade with Ginger - soooo refreshing! So bye everyone until next time!!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    The only choice for families in Barbados

    Reviewed by Brettrman() on Jun 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It’s our second stay at this resort and once again it didn’t disappoint. It’s recently refurbished to a high standard which is also a huge bonus. The resort is smaller (100 or so rooms) so it feels safe and secure with a lot of staff on and at all times. It’s right on the beach with beautiful, fine soft sand, great waves, has three pools and plenty of activities for kids, including a games room and kids club if more than three kids sign up. The Calabash restaurant is great. They regularly change to menu so you don’t get bored. The breakfasts are amazing. We didn’t try Siam (the Thai restaurant). The pool bar is the focal point during the day where people meet, talk and swap stories with new friends and the bar staff. They have great kids meals and a water cooler with great fruit mixes to keep the kids (and adults) well hydrated throughout the day. We’ll definitely be back.

    Small Charming Bougainvillea

    Reviewed by Christine G(Huntington, NY) on May 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Traveled here two years in a row for Thanksgiving weekends in 2016 and 2017. Rooms are tropical and large, grounds are meticulously kept with fun signage, staff is friendly. I would have liked more than one restaurant to be open, but the food was good and the floor show was fun (if touristy). Not a huge resort, though still able to rent jet skis from "Ellis". The facial was as good as I've gotten at much larger resorts.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Paradisal Perfection!

    Reviewed by LindsayJBell(Toronto, Canada) on May 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I had the most wonderful stay at Bougainvilleas! From an upgrade to our room upon check-in (shout-out to ladies at reception who went out of their way to make our room experience exceptional), to the delicious drinks made by Gregory at the pool bar, to the beautiful beach that could be seen from all areas of the resort, our stay was truly perfect! The beach for some could be considered rough, but that was probably one of the best parts for us - we rode waves into the white sandy shores everyday we were there. Another fantastic feature of Bougainvilleas is the location. A quick 5 minute drive to Oistins Fish Fry, where the food is fresh, flavourful and well priced. If you’re looking for more international cuisine, you can head over to St. Lawerence Gap (10 min cab ride) for more delicious fare. The on-resort restaurant Siam was astounding as well - definitely recommend a dinner there, you won’t be disappointed. We also rented a car to drive around the island and see the sites. We definitely recommend doing this as every side of the island has a completely look and feel. We even came across a group of monkeys - another highlight for us! Honestly, we can’t say enough great things about the resort and Barbados in general, we will definitely be back!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX