Aston at Poipu Kai Condo

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    M

    Love Kauia, just not the condo.

    Reviewed by Micky on Oct 30, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our third trip to Kauai. Previously we stayed at resort hotels. This time we tried a condo. We requested a renovated unit, which we didn't get. We had one of the worst units possible there. We arrived at 10 pm, the office was closed so we couldn't ask for a different unit. We were in K814, near a busy road and they were roofing the condo across so we listened to banging and hammering all week. The unit layout was nice, the resort location is great and the gardens lovely. Kitchen had good appliances and was well equipped. However, unit K814 is in serious need of upgrades. A lovely soaker tub in the master ensuite is so grimy no one would use it. The furniture looks nice but is old, uncomfortable, and mildewed. The master bed was a double; there wasn't room for more. The lanai was large with nice outdoor furniture, which would have been nice but for the roofers starting at 7:45 am. The fan and the light in the ensuite didn't work properly, so we seemed to have condensation on the ceiling. After a couple of days the condensation got worse and then that evening the ceiling was bulging when we got back. Of course the office was closed. We called security and they came right away to check. There was a leak in the unit above. Maintenance came the next day and we learned they had previously fixed the same issue so he requested that they move us, but nothing came of that. They had to turn off the water to the entire building to fix the leak, a very poor design. They fixed the leak promptly and punched a hole in the ceiling to drain the filthy water into the toilet. They also checked the electrical. The ceiling continued to drip for a couple of days, so we couldn't use the toilet in the ensuite, but it did finally stop. Sadly, no one came to clean the bathroom after the maintenance work so there was stuff on the floor and dead bugs on the counter from the light fixture. They did give us a lovely basket for the inconvenience though.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 306 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Lovley surroundings

    Reviewed by jorgenhaa(Orebro, Sweden) on Mar 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    First of all every apartment is different. We had 411 and that was a really nice apartment, close to one of the pools with a hot tub. There is no AC in apartment 411. Alot of barbecue grills in the area. They have a expensive cleaning fee that's not included in the price.

    K922- Which unit you get is the key

    Reviewed by fabell760(Apple Valley, California) on Jan 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This property is in a great central location on the South shore. The property was described (somewhere) as ocean front, which because of its sheer size is not inaccurate, however most the units are not ocean front and while many have an ocean view, many do not. Each unit is individually owned and therefor the quality of each unit and unit amenities range greatly. Our unit, K922 was next to a heavily traveled highway which proved to be very loud, and with no AC in the unit there’s no choice but to keep the windows open if you want any cool air. We asked Management for a different unit, but none were available so they had maintenance bring in a portable AC unit which was also loud, but helpful in the evenings. To their credit, Management tried to get us a better unit, but they were sold out the week we were there. 2 or 3 people discussed options amongst themselves, but in the end, having the AC brought in was the best they could do, and it was greatly appreciated. The unit was fully stocked with dishes and cookware, but the cookware could use updating. Nonstick pans were in fair to poor condition. We felt bad because all the utensils were metal which just damaged the nonstick pans more. The coffee filters were the wrong filters for the coffee maker, but they worked. We booked through Interval International so I’m not sure if this part is unique to Interval or not, but there is a $150 cleaning fee which gets you one maid visit during a 1 week stay. Additional services are $55 per request (additional towels etc). The linens, which we aren’t sure if they are the resort’s linens or the unit owner’s linens, are mid grade. Thin sheets and towels with ink initials on the corners to prevent theft. The fitted sheet on our bed was loose and slipped off every night. Each night before bed we had to re-make the bed or we’d be sleeping on the mattress pad. An easy 5 minute walk through the lush, tropical & well maintained grounds brought us to a nice park with a sandy beach that has an off shore reef that made ocean entry and exit very easy. There are several pools, one of the two we had access to was very small, but clean and a nice pool. Is surrounded with so many plants that it gets no sun. The other pool is at the west end of the property and was nice. Hard to rate a pool when the pacific is so close. There are great food and shopping options within 2 to 20 minutes that meet every budget.

    Location, Location, Location

    Reviewed by Robyn H(Blenheim, New Zealand) on Sep 30, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The location of the unit was fantastic, just a couple of minutes walk to the awesome Poipu beach and Kalapaki Joe's restaurant. As advertised, it is not an air conditioned property, though we were fortunate to have a mobile AC unit in the bedroom which was FANTASTIC! I don't know how we would have slept without it. The unit itself (423) was lovely, very roomy and good kitchen and laundry equipment. It was on the third floor and no lift which didn't worry us but if you have issues with getting your bags up stairs you may want to request a ground floor unit. The pools were clean, we had access to two of them and they were both great. The reception staff were ungracious and the only downer of the whole experience. We had booked to stay 6 nights with a room service after 3 nights. The service didn't happen and when I followed up they said we had to pay if we wanted it done. The next morning I showed them our booking printouts showing that it was included and after photocopying it we were added to the schedule - but they were ungracious about their error. EVERYTHING else about the stay was fantastic.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-2

    Kahala 711

    Reviewed by Orin W() on Aug 31, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This was in a good location, walkable to Poipu beach, Brennecke’s, and Kalapaki Joe’s. However, there was only one small AC in the place which made the hot humid nights less than bearable. We also came home one evening to find a leak in the ice maker line, which started to flood the living room. The security guard helped us shut it off, but the property manager was no help, and we had to mop up the mess ourselves, with beach/shower towels. There’s no emergency plan, as the property owner and management do not provide after hour contact information; beware!

    No Air Conditioning

    Reviewed by Christoo_12(Chestnut Ridge, New York) on Aug 26, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We booked our unit at the Manualoah condominiums. The BIGGEST issue is no air conditioning at all, not even window units in the bedrooms. The staff provided additional fans, but that wasn't enough to keep up with the heat at night, and our bedroom was on the top floor. Our bedroom had two sets of bathroom doors, one stuck open and the other stuck closed. The back door to the balcony wouldn't close without tremendous effort. The parking is limited at Manualoha; many spaces are reserved for residents/owners, which makes sense, but it was a challenge to find a place to park just to unload upon arrival. Since this is a condo, there is a dishwasher in the kitchen, and washer and dryer on the main floor, which is a huge help when taking a beach vacation, with lots of wet and sandy clothes! The location is fine; near town, near a big Safeway and restaurants, and nice beaches. I understand it's a huge expense to air condition all the units, but small window units in the bedrooms might be a big help

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX