Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Would definitely stay again!

    Reviewed by Clare on Dec 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Service at this hotel was very good. All staff were courteous and very friendly. The cleanliness for me is a big deal and this hotel was great. Though they advertise themselves as a smoke free hotel, it's not really. There were people always smoking at different locations of the hotel and the pool area. The restaurant was very good value and the food was pretty decent with a vast selection for all tastes. This is a bonus $$ for families especially in the universal Disney area. They had all amenities at this hotel. The added value I could see that would add many stars for this hotel would be transportation to Disneyworld. You definitely have to rent a car. I would totally give this hotel a thumbs up and I would stay there again. Its location has great easy access to the highway to head to Disney or to beaches such as Coco Beach. All staff were super accommodating and helpful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    For a value resort this is a very worthy of any budget and would recommend this resort to anyone.

    Reviewed by Lisa on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Loved the reto vibe which is carried throughout the whole resort right into the rooms with the colors, toiletries to the vintage cars parked in the front. There are alot of onsite amenities such as several pools, slides, hot tub, lazy river, bowling alley and a fitness center. The diner is great for your quick meals for the family and lounge at night. Great benefit of the resort is the walking distance to Volcano Bay, being able to walk there but still have access to your room if you forgot anything. I will definately be going back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Loved the reto vibe, family suites were a perfect fit. Great amenities, diner and lounge. For a value resort this is worthy of any budget.

    Reviewed by Lisa on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great Location!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Great location, spacious rooms, amazing pool

    Reviewed by Alicia on Apr 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    I loved everything about this hotel. The family rooms are big and spacious, providing a separate bedroom area and living area with a door. Can sleep a family comfortably. I also loved the location of this hotel, as its only about a 5 minute walk to Volcano Bay. There is only a fast food restaurant and not a sit down. However, it is very easy to get to Universal with their bus system, and there are many restaurants at Universals City Walk. The pool is amazing here with a nice lazy river. The price point is great for what you get as well. I would highly recommend!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Great location!

    Reviewed by Kelly on Apr 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great location and a very fun hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    VOLCANO BAY WAS RIGHT BESIDE THE HOTEL!

    Reviewed by DI on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This hotel was vibrantly colored, spectacular service, breakfast was phenomenal, front desk were really quick at checking us all in at 9pm at night.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Location, location, location!

    Reviewed by LBW on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    I really liked the nostalgic charms of this hotel. All the decors were in the 50's & 60's including the cafeteria style dining. We were in the family room. It was spacious with a fridge and microwave. Very handy! Location was fantastic because it was a quick walk over to Volcano Bay water park. Close proximity to Universal studios. My only complaint, was it didn't have a full service restaurant. Will return to this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    E

    Would totally come back !!!

    Reviewed by Ena on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a great value hotel - perfect for families on a budget. Great location ! 3 minutes walk from Volcano Bay - does not get better than this. It is clean and takes you back to a time when life was lots of fun with its 60's theme very well done. Staff wasvery accomodating. Icalled for bell hop service and was told that its not a service offered however here was someone with a luggage cart to our room to help us- thank you for going above.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Theres always something New to Look at! 50's Decor!

    Reviewed by ACSl8ter on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This place was so great for what was paid for my trip here. The Family suite I was in, was huge, had a kitchen including plates and utensils. The Bay Diner was easy to grab a meal, the cost was fairly affordable as well. Theres a Starbucks in the main part of the hotel as well, which was kinda cool. Very retro, all the fabrics and decor of the 50's. Was like a blast from the past. The only things I would suggest could be better was the bath towels were the size of hand towels. They need to get larger towels as I had to use all 4 of the ones I had in my room for the one shower. The other thing I would suggest they do something about was the fan for the shower. It would be good to have a fan that works in the shower, I cant imagine the humidity would destroy the paint and it would be nice if sneaky stinky smells dont creep out from the seperate bathroom where theres no fan. Regardless of the two issues that could have made this trip better, Volcano Bay is RIGHT next door! No need to get on a transfer. So easy to get there. I really liked the idea of the magnet do not disturb signs as its frustrating when those signs blow away from your door. There was easy pick up to Universal or any of the Disney Parks. Overall, it was an amazing trip and stay. Those things were minor compared to the Wowness factor of how close Cabana was to Volcano Bay. The Decor was awesome, the bed very comfy and I dont think I saw one speck of dust there. Would Definetly be BACK!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    I LOVE MY STAY . I DEFINITELY WILL COMEBACK . THE HOTEL HAS GREAT AMENITIES AND CLOSE TO VOLCANO BAY WITH EARLY ADMISSION TO IT

    Reviewed by ANAYAZELIN on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    A GREAT HOTEL . LOTS OF CHOICES FOR FOOD .HOTEL PERFECT FOR FAMILIES .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 19320 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fantastic resort and vacation

    Reviewed by amjetton(Boonton, New Jersey) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Cabana bay is so much fun and right next to all the great universal activities. Priced right for families. The charm and character of the resort is very appealing, not overwhelming at all. The pool and lazy river are great too.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great time at Cabana Bay

    Reviewed by Road61747165828() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just returned from Cabana Bay and had a fantastic experience. The hotel common areas as well as the guest rooms were very clean, particularly considering the large amount of people staying at the hotel. It was very easy to get to and from the parks using the shuttles. The shuttles came frequently and we never had to wait long. It was a great advantage to get into Harry Potter early, as we were off the rides before the park opened to the public. Overall we had a great experience and I would highly recommend staying at Cabana Bay!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great Theming and Family Options

    Reviewed by klepopotamus(San Francisco, California) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This hotel is a great balance of room options (particularly the flexible family suites), activities (lazy river, water slide, great arcade, bowling), and convenience (multiple ways to get to the theme parks, dining options, etc.). The 50's theming is well executed, with the TVs showing old black and white commercials and lots of retro details around. We went during Spring Break, supposedly the second busiest week of the year. Everything went smoothly and wait times for the bus to the parks were minimal/non-existent. A few things to be aware of: 1) The property is huge. If you're in the furthest building on the side with the waterslide and want to go to the lazy river, you have to walk all the way to the lobby, through it, and back out again. Probably takes 10 minutes or more. 2) There isn't very good signage pointing you to the ways to get to the park. Our room was steps from the "garden path" to CityWalk but we didn't discover that until the last day. That path, by the way, is a very peaceful 20-25 minute walk that puts you smack in the middle of CityWalk. It also has its own security, which is likely faster than the security at the main entrance. 3) The arcade at the hotel is better than the arcade we went to at Universal. Modern games and decent prizes. 4) Tubes for the lazy river must be purchased, but the prices are very reasonable and there are several options. We also got credits for the arcade when buying multiple tubes. 5) You can't walk from one pool to the other without going through the lobby. It feels like you can, and that's how I ended up carrying a tray of food around for 20 minutes wondering where it all went wrong. The illusion is created by the fact that the lobby building is curved, so the two pools are actually "spokes" heading off in completely opposite directions.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    CABANA BAY RESORT

    Reviewed by Mattshar(Caernarfon, Wales, United Kingdom) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great hotel. Very clean and friendly staff. Great facilities but eating out in both the hotel and Universal is astronomical. Poor UK exchange rate doesn’t help but prices are ridiculous. No proper super market on site meant that you have no choice but to pay the prices. I feel that we are being fleeced!!!!

    Not worth the price

    Reviewed by angela p(Tampa, Florida) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Rooms were not very clean. There was so much dust on the door frame it was falling down like snow when you opened the door to the bathroom. Food in the restaurant is not very good especially for the prices they charge.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX