Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Would definitely stay again!

    Reviewed by Clare on Dec 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Service at this hotel was very good. All staff were courteous and very friendly. The cleanliness for me is a big deal and this hotel was great. Though they advertise themselves as a smoke free hotel, it's not really. There were people always smoking at different locations of the hotel and the pool area. The restaurant was very good value and the food was pretty decent with a vast selection for all tastes. This is a bonus $$ for families especially in the universal Disney area. They had all amenities at this hotel. The added value I could see that would add many stars for this hotel would be transportation to Disneyworld. You definitely have to rent a car. I would totally give this hotel a thumbs up and I would stay there again. Its location has great easy access to the highway to head to Disney or to beaches such as Coco Beach. All staff were super accommodating and helpful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    For a value resort this is a very worthy of any budget and would recommend this resort to anyone.

    Reviewed by Lisa on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Loved the reto vibe which is carried throughout the whole resort right into the rooms with the colors, toiletries to the vintage cars parked in the front. There are alot of onsite amenities such as several pools, slides, hot tub, lazy river, bowling alley and a fitness center. The diner is great for your quick meals for the family and lounge at night. Great benefit of the resort is the walking distance to Volcano Bay, being able to walk there but still have access to your room if you forgot anything. I will definately be going back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Loved the reto vibe, family suites were a perfect fit. Great amenities, diner and lounge. For a value resort this is worthy of any budget.

    Reviewed by Lisa on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great Location!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Great location, spacious rooms, amazing pool

    Reviewed by Alicia on Apr 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    I loved everything about this hotel. The family rooms are big and spacious, providing a separate bedroom area and living area with a door. Can sleep a family comfortably. I also loved the location of this hotel, as its only about a 5 minute walk to Volcano Bay. There is only a fast food restaurant and not a sit down. However, it is very easy to get to Universal with their bus system, and there are many restaurants at Universals City Walk. The pool is amazing here with a nice lazy river. The price point is great for what you get as well. I would highly recommend!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Great location!

    Reviewed by Kelly on Apr 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great location and a very fun hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    VOLCANO BAY WAS RIGHT BESIDE THE HOTEL!

    Reviewed by DI on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This hotel was vibrantly colored, spectacular service, breakfast was phenomenal, front desk were really quick at checking us all in at 9pm at night.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Location, location, location!

    Reviewed by LBW on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    I really liked the nostalgic charms of this hotel. All the decors were in the 50's & 60's including the cafeteria style dining. We were in the family room. It was spacious with a fridge and microwave. Very handy! Location was fantastic because it was a quick walk over to Volcano Bay water park. Close proximity to Universal studios. My only complaint, was it didn't have a full service restaurant. Will return to this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    E

    Would totally come back !!!

    Reviewed by Ena on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a great value hotel - perfect for families on a budget. Great location ! 3 minutes walk from Volcano Bay - does not get better than this. It is clean and takes you back to a time when life was lots of fun with its 60's theme very well done. Staff wasvery accomodating. Icalled for bell hop service and was told that its not a service offered however here was someone with a luggage cart to our room to help us- thank you for going above.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Theres always something New to Look at! 50's Decor!

    Reviewed by ACSl8ter on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This place was so great for what was paid for my trip here. The Family suite I was in, was huge, had a kitchen including plates and utensils. The Bay Diner was easy to grab a meal, the cost was fairly affordable as well. Theres a Starbucks in the main part of the hotel as well, which was kinda cool. Very retro, all the fabrics and decor of the 50's. Was like a blast from the past. The only things I would suggest could be better was the bath towels were the size of hand towels. They need to get larger towels as I had to use all 4 of the ones I had in my room for the one shower. The other thing I would suggest they do something about was the fan for the shower. It would be good to have a fan that works in the shower, I cant imagine the humidity would destroy the paint and it would be nice if sneaky stinky smells dont creep out from the seperate bathroom where theres no fan. Regardless of the two issues that could have made this trip better, Volcano Bay is RIGHT next door! No need to get on a transfer. So easy to get there. I really liked the idea of the magnet do not disturb signs as its frustrating when those signs blow away from your door. There was easy pick up to Universal or any of the Disney Parks. Overall, it was an amazing trip and stay. Those things were minor compared to the Wowness factor of how close Cabana was to Volcano Bay. The Decor was awesome, the bed very comfy and I dont think I saw one speck of dust there. Would Definetly be BACK!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    I LOVE MY STAY . I DEFINITELY WILL COMEBACK . THE HOTEL HAS GREAT AMENITIES AND CLOSE TO VOLCANO BAY WITH EARLY ADMISSION TO IT

    Reviewed by ANAYAZELIN on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    A GREAT HOTEL . LOTS OF CHOICES FOR FOOD .HOTEL PERFECT FOR FAMILIES .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 20351 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great family hotel

    Reviewed by llongoria85(El Paso, Texas) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great place for families. Excellent customer service with front desk staff and great amenities including diner, pools and transportation to parks. Thanks so much for such a wonderful stay, definitely recommend cabana bay.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Gone down hill in a year what a shame

    Reviewed by stewarth1234() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Right so last year in 2018 i came to the resort EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT staff was nice friendly not a problem i brought i foam ball from Walmart and the guards had no problem now this year i go to the reception befor going walmart just to ask if im allowed and im told that if it a small foam ones and beach balls are allowed so i go to walmart and buy a small foam rugby ball and i even went to lifeguard and reception just to confirm that it was allowed they both squeezed it and banged it against there desk and chair yes it soft enough so me and my friends get in pool and then different life guard says nope not allowed and yet i point another SOLID BALL with a glow stick inside and es that is allowed i ask for manager and supervisor comes so i ask why am i told alot of lies and they say its a new rule for 4 months now and when i bring it the rule board they say nothing. Were this was a 5 star rating last year IT HAS GONE TO A 1 star it gone down hill in a year apparently to the supervisor the workers here dont know the rules well i dont believe that i feel like if you are a kid they dont care but when it adults unwinding everything goes wrong. It seems like a SOLID BALL WOTH A SOLID ITEM IS ALLOWED AND ITEMS WHAT ARE ACTULY SOFT ARE NOT ALLOWED. I WILL BE AVOIDING CABANA BAY FOR MY YEARLY VISITS NOW

    Well-themed

    Reviewed by 3lionsfan(Tampa, Florida) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First time staying at Universal and really enjoyed Cabana Bay. If this is their economy lodging, I like it better than Disney’s. Favorite part was the cool mid-century decor right down to the Zest soap and VO5 in the bathroom. Comfortable bed. Room had a pool view but pool noise wasn’t a factor at night. The resort is quite large but the pool and dining options can be reached fairly quickly. Full service Starbucks on property. We walked to City Walk for dinner, took about 25 minutes. Would definitely stay here again.

    Perfect resort for our family

    Reviewed by megmcquoid1128(Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our family recently stayed at Cabana Bay and we were delighted by everything it had to offer! We LOVED the lazy river in the pool - great for relaxing after a long, hot day in the park. The Bayliner Diner had great options for my 4 picky eater children. Bus service was fast and convenient. The best part, however, was walking literally across the street to get to Volcano Bay. The extra hour in the morning gave us plenty of time to enjoy the slides before the park got too crowded. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about Cabana Bay and we can't wait to go back!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    i would’ve rated this property a 5 had it not been for my poolside experiences

    Reviewed by Roy P() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Everyday this lifeguard found a problem with my family . My husband had an encounter with an intoxicated man who pushed him and then told him to “Eff off” because he told him you could’ve said excuse me. The lifeguard from that day singled my family out because he asked her why wouldn’t you tell him anything he’s intoxicated pushing people inside of a pool filled with kids. I guess she didn’t like that he asked her that and from that day she just found ways to make our days at the pool an annoyance. Right after that incident which was only our 2nd day she complained to her pool manager about my son, the manager came over and said the lifeguards complained about him. I asked how would they know it’s him she said because the other lifeguards identified him. Which was nonsense cause 1) we didn’t have other lifeguards switching out as yet 2) it was only our second day there; on our first day it rained so we were only by the pool for maybe 10 min. The lifeguard had a personal problem with us and tried to have the lifeguards/workers by the pool team up on us. Another incident, I’m pregnant so i just sat by the cabana lounge for all in all 5 min while my husband got our son out the pool. I saw the lifeguard tell the towel boy something about me but i didn’t realize it was about where I was sitting, I wasn’t lounging I was just waiting. Mind you we were getting out of the pool anyway cause it was about to rain! The guy comes up to me asked if i was interested in purchasing a cabana, I said no and he said well you can’t sit there because we’re getting them ready for people who are going to purchase. Which is a load of crap because not one cabana was being used not to mention there was a family having a whole meal another day that didn’t purchase the cabana the area was just full so they sat there to eat but that’s besides the point. It was about to rain, i’m pregnant and it was the first chair closest to the exit on my way out plus you can’t even be within the pool area for the couple of days we were there because of the lightening. I was literally just waiting for husband to dry my son off. Anyway because of this one lifeguard everyday at the pool there was a problem i don’t know about other families but my family barely wanted to leave the pool. Had it not been for our 7year old who made a couple of friends by the pool I would’ve left the resort. Can you imagine trying to relax but on edge because you don’t know what complaints the lifeguard will have next.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX