Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Resort & Spa

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cozumel
    5. Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Resort & Spa
    6. Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    I

    Great Location. Great staff. Hotel is 2.5 *. Food nothing special. Extremely aggressive and annoying pushy sales staff all over the lobby.

    Reviewed by IS on Jan 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Extremely painful long wait at Cozumel airport. Entering Cozumel almost 2 hours wait at customs. Only 2 customs agents working, they constantly took breaks. The economy of Cozumel is based on tourism. Why treat tourists that way? Leaving the island by air was the same thing. Long line ups, slow customs clearance. Close to 2 hours again. Hotel is nice maintained on the outside. Pleasant to the eyes. Rooms inside not so much. Rooms are dated. Bathrooms not in good shape. Hotel staff is great and friendly. In the lobby area is full of sales people who were quite annoying, trying to push travel deals a little similar to time shares. Their sales pitch is that if you pay for their membership you will be paying 25% to 75% lass for travel accommodations wherever you want, whenever you want (thus a bit similar to time share). Food great in Mexican restaurant (El Patio). Food good in second restaurant (Sunny Side Grill). Italian restaurant (Da Mario) horrible. Horrible pizza, horrible pasta. My son got sick from the chicken pasta and spent the night in the bathroom. Next day he was fine. Buffet restaurant (Portofino) 3 out of 5 at best. The only place opened 24\7 is the bar by main lobby (Starboard). Javier Ventura, bartender who worked at that bar was great. Super friendly, very fast. Mixes great drinks. Was my favorite place to get a drink thanks to Javier. Great snorkeling just off the hotel?s beach. Find a bigger rock in the shallow water and is surrounded by tons of marine life and large number of different fish. Awesome. However tons of rocks as soon as you go in the ocean. Water shoes are absolutely necessary. Came home with cut up feet. There are few better resorts for better price near this resort. Do your homework. Occidental Cozumel, Iberostar Cozumel, Allegro Cozumel are all better resorts.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    Great Place to Unwind

    Reviewed by Frank on Nov 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff works very hard to please everyone. I love the Mexican people. The are friendly and very much family oriented. This hotel is not 5 star but has everything you need for a wonderful vacation. snorkelling off beach-free kayaks and sailboats-paddle boards I was surprised that They even supplied free transfer from the airport saving $133.00 We were never bothered by timeshare people. I would come here again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3208 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Unsanitary, False Adverstising

    Reviewed by Wander293773(Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I Used Bookit to book this so-called resort, and when I got in the room I was disappointed with the place, all the pictures you see above it is false except for the natural beauty. The rooms were filthy, and the food was not so good. I changed the room 3 times and eventually I had to cut my vacation short, because the mildew on the room was so much that they had to put a dehumidifier and I couldn't breathe in anymore. The beaches were so loud, there was no peace and quiet, the sound of the ocean was mute with their loud music, different music comes from everywhere. I was looking into taking off the stress, I left there stressed. I requested a refund, Bookit claim that isn't their problem what the hotel offers and vice-versa. I placed the pictures below. Do not stay in this place, nor the secret aura, the are their same owner nor use Bookit. Please look for complaints about it on the internet before use Bookit and Sunscape Sabor Cozumel

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    5*, Once Upon a Time, Maybe

    Reviewed by DcnWayne(Willis, Michigan) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We stayed a week at Sunscape Sabor. They have a great location on the ocean and the property I believe was once a Five Star destination; unfortunately, no longer. Our pool-view suite was large & comfortable and we actually had a nice view of the ocean from our patio. But, we had issues controlling both AC units. A few of the tubs in our group were cracked. If you stepped in the wrong place a disgusting black goo oozed out stinking up the entire bathroom. The hot water went out one day on my brother-in-laws building; then our building the next day. There’s a service building on the back of the property along a main walk to the front desk that always smelled of sewage. The front desk clerks were always nice & helpful, but you had to watch out for the sharks swimming in the lobby trying to glad-hand & schmooze you into a 90 minute presentation next door at their sister property or travel agents trying to to sell you excursions. They have four restaurants with mediocre food. Only one, a buffet, is open for breakfast and actually had the best offerings. (Mainly because it’s almost impossible to mess up an omelet). There is never more than three restaurants open at time on a rotating schedule you have to fetch from the front desk. This is an ocean front resort with two pools and you can’t get anything to eat if you’re wet! AND, there is a dress code for guests to be seated! (There is a joke of a walk-up buffet by the big pool that is either empty or has dried out hot-dogs, hamburgers & nacho dip). We went to their “nice” restaurant our last night. We went right when they opened & were seated right away. Others had to wait :45 to be seated while there were empty tables inside. The service was terrible. I don’t recall what Mexican dish I had, but it would have been better if Taco Bell had made it. My wife did have a good steak; the only notable good meal all week. We’ve traveled a fair bit around the Caribbean & I lived in Mexico for two years as a teen so my Spanish is better than most Gringos. This was the first resort I’ve been to where I felt like I was imposing when I asked for something & often felt like I was being ignored. Nationals didn’t seem to have the same concern.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-2

    did not meet expectations

    Reviewed by nandacasta() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We spent a week at Sunscape sabor Cozumel between August 3-10th celebrating my husband's birthday. We are UVC members and travel with the company 1-2 times per year but it was our first time at a sunscape as we usually stay at dreams or secrets. Let me start with the positives. --Evelin, Jorge, Oscar, Arbey and Gus from the entertainment team are amazing. They kept my kids and even us, adults entertained. --JOAS, the chef is amazing! His food is delicious and he made it his point to spend a minute with us and even gave my younger son a chef hat as he wants to be a chef when he grows up. He deserves a 5 STAR REVIEW. --Max from el Patio is great --Rusbel is super funny --Armando, WIllberth, Alfredo from Tortugas bar are amazing. BUT MIGUEL is THE BEST!!! --the view from our room was spectacular --the beach has not Sargasso at all. It is PERFECT. Now time for the negative: --the front desk service is awful --housekeeping did not supply room with basics such as towels. Showered in 2 occasions to find out there were no towels in the room. --have to pay for wifi...really?? --UVC services did not even try to contact me at all until my last day to see how the stay was going. --asked front desk for a small gesture in the room for my husband's birthday and was told I had to pay extra for it --the smell in the hallways of the hotel is awful --the pool was GREEN. You could not even see the bottom for 2 days in a row. Eventually they cleaned it after multiple complaints. --ISAIAS who is a bartender was very rude, inappropriate, and flat out disrespectful towards us when we asked him for a simple drink. It is clear he is unhappy and takes it out with the tourists. He has been, hands down the worst employee I have ever encountered in a AM resorts hotel. --food variety could be better at the buffet --almost all waiters were slow in their service and standoffish. I would say that for the money, at least the view and the beach is worth it. Otherwise, not a good hotel to visit.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-3

    Not everything was great

    Reviewed by rastla701(Zurich, Switzerland) on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We (family with two Teenagers 13/15) stayed 7 days at the Sunscape Sabor Hotel. The rooms are basic and you need luck to get a room where everything works. We had to change 3 times till we got a room where everything is fine. However the Hotel staff was always very friendly and tried to fix issues swiftly. The beds are on the harder side however we had good sleeps. Restaurants: The Hotel has 4 Restaurants which we all tried out. Da Mario: Pizza is better than the Pasta; do not forget to order a starter as the Pizzas are on the smaller side (but good) El Patio: very nice Mexican restaurant with great food. The fish filet (grouper) is definitely something you have to try out. Sunny side Grill: Very nice as well and for us the place to go for lunch (try the Chicken Sandwich) and also for Dinner a nice alternative when you want something different than mexican food. Portofino: OK for breakfast however not to recommend for Lunch or Dinner. The food at the buffet was mostly overcooked and not nice presented. Compare to the other restaurants unfortunately a big disappointment... Beach Bars: Nice drinks with ok staff (not all are friendly; however we always got our drinks) during rush hour bring your own glass as a proper cleaning of the cups/glasses cannot be guarantied. Overall: If you pay the right price (we paid approx. 115 USD per room in July) this is a place to go however I would rate it to as a max. 3* Hotel.

    Great getaway

    Reviewed by mrpickles04(pittsburgh pa) on Aug 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was the first trip to Cozumel. I booked king suite tropical top floor 3633. The room was very comfortable, cold a/c too. Lunch and dinner at the Sunny side grill were always great! Breakfast at the Portofino Buffet was limited: no bacon, bananas and churros! The beach was awesome, NO seaweed, no waves or tide change so flat, there are rocks when you get in the water. The ocean front rooms are like 40 feet from the surf :) There are two beach bars and service was very good. Nothing fancy, no room service but a solid resort that gave all I needed for a last minute quick getaway. I was a solo traveler and got this booked for $100 nt. I think that was a vg deal.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX