Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments
    6. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    R

    Will Definitely Return!

    Reviewed by Riders16 on Mar 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel definitely met our needs & expectations, it offered great outdoor spaces, it was on the beach, the service was excellent and the food & beverage buffet & restaurant had a great selection to choose from. This was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel in relation to location, it was downtown and close to the Malecon which we thoroughly enjoyed on several occasions, as we like to keep busy exploring. We went on two excursions during our stay, the city highlights and the Rhythm of the Nights, both were excellent and the service/guides were top notch. Every person we encountered, whether service staff or fellow visiting traveller were fantastic! We will definitely return to same hotel as we made friends who have become our Puerto Vallarta family!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    "Home away from home"

    Reviewed by RodCofMJ on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    2nd time in past 2 months at this resort, it does not disappoint it is a gem. A home away from home whose staff treat you as their own family. They make the Buenaventura stand out as a place to be at. Each time we have been there have been small improvements, such as having a menu included in the buffet restaurant a positive plus. As an older resort it is kept meticulously clean. A variety of entertainment at night for the enjoyment of all guests. This is NOT a party resort for college students, it caters to all. This resort is wheelchair friendly. Again I highly recommend the Buenaventura and we are already making plans to go back in December.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Hotel just passes. Location great!

    Reviewed by Jan on Jan 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Hotel OK. The location was great. On the beach and in town. Easy to walk right out the lobby and start exploring the shops, etc. Staff was nice and friendly, though, it seemed there was a shortage of staff as I often noticed 'no one around' and had to wait. I noticed guests often brought their kids into the "adult only pool area." During the week of Christmas, hard to get a chair as people would reserve with their towels. I would hope the hotel would give it a good cleaning, ie the chairs in restaurants and the lobby seating felt dirty. Food ok, but same menu pretty much on a daily basis. Room acceptable and was glad to be on back side as it was quieter. Having said this, I would still go back as you cannot beat the location. Go in with mediocre expectations and you will not be disappointed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3111 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Buenaventura Visit

    Reviewed by 2006leafs(Mississauga, Canada) on Nov 12, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    this hotel 2was just average but we enjoyed the location because you walked out the front doors and were on a bustling street that if you walked down it about 8 minutes you would come to the boardwalk with all the nice stores , clubs and restaurants. I cant remember what they called this area but it's supposed to be very popular with the gay community although I'm not gay but have gay friends that want to buy a place there because of this. The hotel food was average at best the room was average it is a small hotel but allin all for the money we spent I won't complain. I don't think I'd stay there again but that being said , I don't know if I've ever said I would stay at the same place again know matter how good it was.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Had Our Doubts....

    Reviewed by WillowsWay(California) on Nov 08, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We got off to a very rocky start, having to do with our first room upon check-in having poor A/C and moving us to another room with 2 beds but 3rd time was a charm. Questioned their customer service and really had my doubts about this place but they came through and were above awesome. We really liked this place and the easy layout, not a big all-inclusive but smaller and more personal. Was not expecting to like it as much as we did but honestly can't wait to return. This property is an excellent value. The location and value can't be beat for this kind of property. It was on the beach, close to town and plenty of things to see and do within walking distance. This property is so clean and kept, just spotless. The food was was really good and we especially liked the Sunset Restaurant. Jaime was at the Sunset a few nights and he was by far our favorite, so nice to talk with. The Buffet was also good. Everything was always fresh and tasty with good variety. Really liked Max at the buffet, always going out of his way for us. Loved the Martini Bar in the lobby with so many different and delicious drinks. Loved the outdoor bar too and Christian was a lot of fun to talk too. The pools and seating are perfect. Loved the in water loungers, kept you cool and really comfortable. Francisco is probably the best pool server ever. That guy is excellent and never forgets you. The employees are all wonderful and treat you very well. Many more I could mention but all good. Our 5 night stay here was better than we had expected. It's a very pretty and well kept property with a nice beach and a great location...... employees made our stay very nice and the room problem at the start was fixed by the front desk in a timely manner and we could not have been happier with our stay. We will be back!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great location and service but rooms and food are just ok

    Reviewed by bandoly4(Atlanta, Georgia) on Nov 07, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The hotel has a great location to old downtown and the employees were very hospitable, but the rooms were stuffy/stale, clothes and towels would not dry out, food was just average, too much of same thing over and over.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Great location and great staff

    Reviewed by wadedro13(Yorktown, Virginia) on Nov 07, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This hotel is a great choice for a relaxing time away at the beach. The staff is incredible and the grounds are nice. The location is excellent and it puts you walking distance from the Malecon. My family stayed here while I took Spanish classes, about a 7 min walk down the main strip. There is a large groceries store about a 5 min walk and tons of souvenir shops and restaurants.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great Little Spot

    Reviewed by Lori G(Kingston, Canada) on Nov 07, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I was quite happy there, you can't beat the staff, especially the pool bar guys, and on a smaller resort you have the opportunity to get to know them. Yes the rooms need to be updated but they are clean and comfortable, I am not there for the room, I want to be outside as much as possible. The biggest surprise was the VERY comfortable bed! It was not the usual Mexican rock mattress I was expecting. The main buffet was being renovated when I first arrived and once it reopened I did notice more choices. There was a respectable variety of sushi many nights, a pizza station and all the usual buffet dishes. There was a cooking demo every day by the pool, accompanied by a different cocktail each day. One day was an amazing seafood paella. There is also a small barbecue set up by the pool with the usual snack bar items-nachos and cheese, burgers and dogs and tacos. If you can't find something you like then you are way too fussy. I find it hard to complain when they bring you a plate right to your chair, your drink to you while you are in the pool-tip them and you will be very well taken care of here. There are activities every day, pretty much all day starting with yoga, bike tours, pool games, kayaks are available to take out, there is a show by the pool nightly. For the Halloween/Day of the Dead celebrations they had face painting, altars, even skull cookies and cute little cakes. The location is perfect, quick walk to the Malecon and if shopping is your thing the little stores right after the hotel are your best bet-the prices are better-same beach wrap is 60P then jumps to 210P when you hit the tourist trap Malecon. Its just far enough away not to be chaotic. I almost chose the los Muertos beach area and so glad I didn't, very crammed with people and I did not hear a good thing about the San Marino hotel from anyone, people from San Marino were at Buenaventura trying to get rooms. The only downside I found was the Time Share Sharks-beware of the little office directly across from the check in counter. She grabbed me right after I checked in said she needed to speak to me about the restaurants, they had given me a printed chart about where to eat which meals so I thought it was legit, then comes the "invitation" to eat next door at the privilege side I said no it smells like a time share to me, she said we have no time share here don't you even want to see the menu? I told her time share next door, vacation club, privilege whatever you want to call it, no thank you and she got nasty with me and I just walked away. Sadly people were falling for it and that just encourages and keeps those scammers in business. The beach out front is nice although pebbly right after you get in the water so bring water shoes. I was lucky enough to see sea turtles hatching the first night I was there. I would go back to this resort again, it was great value for what I paid.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX