Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments
    6. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    R

    Will Definitely Return!

    Reviewed by Riders16 on Mar 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel definitely met our needs & expectations, it offered great outdoor spaces, it was on the beach, the service was excellent and the food & beverage buffet & restaurant had a great selection to choose from. This was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel in relation to location, it was downtown and close to the Malecon which we thoroughly enjoyed on several occasions, as we like to keep busy exploring. We went on two excursions during our stay, the city highlights and the Rhythm of the Nights, both were excellent and the service/guides were top notch. Every person we encountered, whether service staff or fellow visiting traveller were fantastic! We will definitely return to same hotel as we made friends who have become our Puerto Vallarta family!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    "Home away from home"

    Reviewed by RodCofMJ on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    2nd time in past 2 months at this resort, it does not disappoint it is a gem. A home away from home whose staff treat you as their own family. They make the Buenaventura stand out as a place to be at. Each time we have been there have been small improvements, such as having a menu included in the buffet restaurant a positive plus. As an older resort it is kept meticulously clean. A variety of entertainment at night for the enjoyment of all guests. This is NOT a party resort for college students, it caters to all. This resort is wheelchair friendly. Again I highly recommend the Buenaventura and we are already making plans to go back in December.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Hotel just passes. Location great!

    Reviewed by Jan on Jan 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Hotel OK. The location was great. On the beach and in town. Easy to walk right out the lobby and start exploring the shops, etc. Staff was nice and friendly, though, it seemed there was a shortage of staff as I often noticed 'no one around' and had to wait. I noticed guests often brought their kids into the "adult only pool area." During the week of Christmas, hard to get a chair as people would reserve with their towels. I would hope the hotel would give it a good cleaning, ie the chairs in restaurants and the lobby seating felt dirty. Food ok, but same menu pretty much on a daily basis. Room acceptable and was glad to be on back side as it was quieter. Having said this, I would still go back as you cannot beat the location. Go in with mediocre expectations and you will not be disappointed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2948 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    An amazing place to vacation!

    Reviewed by Jenn_U-Planner(Broomfield, Colorado) on Jul 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    Our trip to Buenaventura Grand Hotel was everything we imagined and more! The food was excellent, the staff was very friendly, the activities offered were great fun, and the facility was perfect! I will miss the adult pool lounge...until my next visit anyway. Maybe it was the time we visited (July), but we really felt like we were able to experience the real Mexico. We have been to Cancun many times and were always surrounded by other Americans, Canadians, etc... In Puerto Vallarta, we met so many different people from all over, but especially Mexicans enjoying their summer vacations. There was no doubt we were in Mexico. I wished I could speak Spanish. We loved how safe we felt here. It was so nice to be able to explore old town Puerto Vallarta by taking a quick walk from the resort. I look forward to returning!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    It's going down, too bad, but noticeably

    Reviewed by Brian L(Vancouver, Canada) on Jul 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			2
			out of 5

    Third year there, and besides the pool area staff, this hotel is declining. Rooms extremely dated, zero accountability for over serving obviously drunk young adults as they need to be carried away while security laughs. Breakfast is always good, dinner is awful, wait let me say it again awful, but don't worry it won't stay in you long. Adults pool always have kids. Check out is a joke, if you can get a late check out it doesn't include your room, but front desk doesn't care, no thank you for stay with us, or wishes for you to come back. Hallways are dirty, and screaming kids/babies are constant. Location is good, but eventually that wears out, and then you will realize that Buenaventura is old worn out and the employees are just going thru the motions.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Puerto Vallarta Vacay July 2018

    Reviewed by wendystuck7() on Jul 14, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			3
			out of 5

    This experience was way below our expectations. We became bored with the “fixed menu”each night at the restaurant overlooking the ocean. The buffet was good for breakfast but not any other meals. There was not enough dining variety for an all-inclusive resort. There were not enough adult swimming areas. All in all - was disappointed. The one highlight was the staff. Everyone we encountered were friendly and efficient with no exceptions.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Summer vacation

    Reviewed by garciajess234(Guadalajara, Mexico) on Jul 14, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			4
			out of 5

    My 2 teenagers wife and I wanted to go to Mexico so we booked our trip to puerta vallarta and stayed at Buenaventura our experience was awesome and the staff is friendly they help us out with anything we needed

    You Can Do Better Than This

    Reviewed by WOWFACTORVACA(Houston, Texas) on Jul 14, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			2
			out of 5

    Being first time PV tourist's, we can not blame ourselves for booking at this hotel but can make you aware of some of the experience we had. The checkin process started as usually but immediately turned into the sale pitch for a "meet and greet" the following morning at a "private Breakfast table". We've been through this before and told them we were not interested at this time. The firs rep was gracious. Continued requests to just get on with our day led to the led to the "closer woman" becoming somewhat insistent on our attendance. We finally had to just get up and walk away...………...they don't know that NO means NO. An irritating start to a vacation. The rest of the staff was great. Bar tenders, servers have great attitudes and were gladly rewarded(tipped) for their service. Food was just so-so. The hotel is on an extremely busy street so insist on something closer to the water. Just some notes for the hotel itself, The hotel is old and in need of updating. You can see that once you have time to look around or even your room and bathroom. There is no adult pool. Kids are in every water area! The beach surf area where you would like to enter it is covered in small river rock making it excruciating to enter or exit. Beach vendors are rampant and work their way to your beach chair once security looks the other way. We were there in July, the slow time, so they were bothersome. I will say the food service was good and the staff was very attentive.(tipping helped). On a down note, what ever country you are from or what ever country you visit, you should not have to looked from your breakfast table and see a "F..K Trump" tee shirt being worn in common area's. A manager from anywhere in the world should have made note of this...… As my title states...…..You can Do Better Than This.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

    This is the name that will be attached to your review.

    Our submission policy:

    XXXX