Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments
    6. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    R

    Will Definitely Return!

    Reviewed by Riders16 on Mar 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel definitely met our needs & expectations, it offered great outdoor spaces, it was on the beach, the service was excellent and the food & beverage buffet & restaurant had a great selection to choose from. This was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel in relation to location, it was downtown and close to the Malecon which we thoroughly enjoyed on several occasions, as we like to keep busy exploring. We went on two excursions during our stay, the city highlights and the Rhythm of the Nights, both were excellent and the service/guides were top notch. Every person we encountered, whether service staff or fellow visiting traveller were fantastic! We will definitely return to same hotel as we made friends who have become our Puerto Vallarta family!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    "Home away from home"

    Reviewed by RodCofMJ on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    2nd time in past 2 months at this resort, it does not disappoint it is a gem. A home away from home whose staff treat you as their own family. They make the Buenaventura stand out as a place to be at. Each time we have been there have been small improvements, such as having a menu included in the buffet restaurant a positive plus. As an older resort it is kept meticulously clean. A variety of entertainment at night for the enjoyment of all guests. This is NOT a party resort for college students, it caters to all. This resort is wheelchair friendly. Again I highly recommend the Buenaventura and we are already making plans to go back in December.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Hotel just passes. Location great!

    Reviewed by Jan on Jan 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Hotel OK. The location was great. On the beach and in town. Easy to walk right out the lobby and start exploring the shops, etc. Staff was nice and friendly, though, it seemed there was a shortage of staff as I often noticed 'no one around' and had to wait. I noticed guests often brought their kids into the "adult only pool area." During the week of Christmas, hard to get a chair as people would reserve with their towels. I would hope the hotel would give it a good cleaning, ie the chairs in restaurants and the lobby seating felt dirty. Food ok, but same menu pretty much on a daily basis. Room acceptable and was glad to be on back side as it was quieter. Having said this, I would still go back as you cannot beat the location. Go in with mediocre expectations and you will not be disappointed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3038 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Vacation in paradise

    Reviewed by lhernandez59(Los Angeles, California) on Sep 12, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our family vacation in Buenaventura was amazing because of the service. We had Eduardo our pool waiter who was extremely attentive and made sure we had everything that we needed. The shrimp tacos and Mexican seafood was delicious. We also had the opportunity to have semi-private dinners that included five course meals that were spectacular. Edgardo and his crew made sure we had great service and even received a special show. The spa is a rooftop open air that allows you to have a massage hearing the ocean. Overall the experience was amazing and the hotel is beautiful.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Back again

    Reviewed by DaveK(Brantford) on Sep 12, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Another nice visit...service and location are the main reason we keep coming back.The service at the adult only pool and buffet is great.Good selection of food......lots of loungers .....the sky bar is fantastic.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Great location

    Reviewed by Sherpa310515() on Sep 12, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    No complaints about this hotel aside from the entertainment that started at 9 pm and went until 10 pm. I found this to be extremely loud and echoed through the stairwells. I think it could have been earlier in the evening so as not to disturb the hotel guests.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Nice spot

    Reviewed by ayejay(New Zealand) on Sep 11, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This hotel is on the edge of the city in good walking distance to the Malecon, shopping and activity providers and has direct beach access. My room was nice with a lovely view of the grounds and ocean, I did all inclusive the food was mediocre at best the drinks were ok. It was disappointing that there was minimal entertainment in the evening and that the internet connection was very weak. Would I stay again - probably not.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Excellent stay in Puerto Vallarta at the Buenaventura Grand Hotel

    Reviewed by kelliskathey(Redding, California) on Sep 04, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Enjoyed our stay very much. Staff was very friendly and attentive and location was great for walking and exploring town and the Malacon. Will plan on returning next year and recommending to my friends.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX