Ventus at Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Ventus at Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
    6. Ventus at Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    M

    Going back to this resort for sure!

    Reviewed by M on Jul 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    The Ventus at Marina El Cid surprised me. It is an amazing property and a huge accomplishment for the El Cid group. The 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites are a rarity in the Cancun area and this will soo be a property that fills up with families at Christmas time! The suites are huge! This is definately a property for the multi generational travellers, or large groups that want to be together, but apart. The most interesting area to me was the Market which was like a modern, yet classy food court that hosted a number of different restaurants to suit many different tastes. A great solution for picky eaters or large families that have to eat for certain needs. The property is gorgeous because it is new, but the flow into the Marina is seamless. It really is two properties in one. I would highly recommend this for anyone that is lookign to travel with family and wants a great resort, high service levels and lots of activities for many ages to do. I will be going back to this resort for sure!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1086 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Wonderful Vacation

    Reviewed by Tour14890002097(Langley City, Canada) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great resort. Food and service was superb. 5 star + Lenny at the check-in was extremely courteous. Monica (Concierge) truly looked after us. She was very helpful and friendly. The property well maintained and the landscaping is very well manicured. A great variety of pools in various locations for everyone to use regardless of where you stayed on the property.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Ladies trip to Puerto Morales

    Reviewed by mkmakus(East Wenatchee, Washington) on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My Mother, daughter and I had a marvelous time on our vacation. The resort was stunning and welcoming. The staff was friendly, helpful and accommidating. The nightly entertainment was exciting and fun for the family. The food was exceptional.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Beautiful Hotel, fairly well-trained staff, some significant flaws

    Reviewed by Jake B() on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This is a beautiful hotel, very nice pool, staff is friendly. There are some issues however. The platinum vip club offers little value - they were unable to secure restaurant reservations for us at any restaurant during our 6 night stay prior to a 9:00 seating time. They simply use the same online booking site that is available to all guests, so there is no value there. Premium liquors are only available in the small dark windowless lounge in the hotel lobby, and were not available for poolside or beachside service, so no value there. Booking of tours, etc is not handled through their service — all separate and sometimes requiring a 20 minute walk to the marina just to book (scheduling bike tour for example). Reserving huts at the beach was also mostly impossible through the vip club unless you do it several days in advance - our butler just told us to walk down there at 11:00 and hope that someone didn’t show up. I believe the platinum club is a way for them to identify who might be an easy target for their aggressive residency sales pitch which unfortunately begins during the check in process when you just want to see your room and smell the ocean. The room was very nice though. Some other glitches — showed up at 8:45 for our 9:00pm reservations at the Italian restaurant. The hostess actually tapped her watch and tried to shoo us away despite instructions to show up 15 min early on the website. I just smiled at her and stood next to the hostess stand until she sat us at one of the many open tables. The food was excellent though. The Mediterranean restaurant was inedible unfortunately. The Deloris buffet was very good and the French restaurant buffet breakfast was nice, but both were exactly the same every day, so they get monotonous. Typical shortcomings: armbands required (personal pet peeve). Towel cards/exchanges rather than towels widely available. All shady spots at pool/beach are claimed by 8:30am. Here was the biggest issue: They encourage you to charge tours etc to your room. We booked several things for our family of four — snorkeling, a fishing trip, and xel-ha. These were serious expenses which were carefully negotiated in US Dollars with the tour company inside the hotel. I got a reasonable deal and signed receipts for the tours in US dollars at the time they were booked. During checkout they tried to add an additional 5-10% on to the price of the signed receipts. They said it was due to swings in the peso exchange rate from when I booked the excursions (in fact, the peso was falling against the dollar during our trip, and certainly there were no 5-10% swings). When I refused to pay the price that was different from the signed receipts written in US dollars (not pesos), they held me in the dark windowless vip lounge for a quite a while. I finally walked out and told them to please figure it out. A couple of hours I came back and they agreed to charge the correct price, but only if I gave them my copies of the receipts!! I said no, you can’t have my receipts because I need them just in case I needed to dispute charges with my credit card company later on. I let them make copies of my receipts. They charged my credit card the correct amount finally. And then for some reason they tried to make me sign some crazy list of charges weitten in Spanish and pesos, despite the fact that I had alreqdy zeroed my balance and signed the credit card charges. I said I didn’t know what this was and I wasn’t going to sign it. They gave up. I’m not sure what all of those shannanagans were all about but the exchange rate nonsense was a subtle scam. My advice — enjoy the nice pool and clean rooms. Get up early and throw your towels on chairs before 9:00am if shade is important to you. Book restaurants way, way in advance of arrival. Don’t pay for the platinum VIP lounge, save your receipts and have only moderate expectations of the food. If they try to have you meet with the concierge upon check in, realize quickly that it is a sales pitch and say “no thank you.”

    Amazing!

    Reviewed by Hesterfamily() on Mar 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved this resort! Staff very friendly and timely with drinks. So clean and all the grounds were beautiful! The food was delicious, always plenty to choose from, great variety! The beach was very nice and well maintained, only one day with a lot of seaweed, the rest of the days were very clear! The pools were beautiful and so clean! The hotel was full but it didn’t feel that way at all. Lots of room to roam. Great job by housekeeping as well! We would definitely recommend and we will be back!

    Wonderful Stay at the Ventus at Marina El CId!

    Reviewed by itacan40(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a fantastic time at the Ventus during our March Break stay. The resort is fairly new and very impressive! The grounds are kept immaculate. The background music on the grounds was a mix of smooth jazz and contemporary instrumental but was repetitive. We welcomed the live bands and loved the nightly entertainment! The rooms are clean; housekeeping is on key. Their response time for any request was amazing. The Ventus has numerous pools. We had no issues finding available loungers, patio tables and chairs every morning. The washrooms located near the pools are well maintained. Only drawback is that there are 2 stalls which can result in lineups. The beach is beautiful however there is a seaweed problem for which the resort cannot be blamed. They work hard every day to clear it. There are certain sections of the beach where the seaweed is minimal and the clear, beautiful water is visible. We had dinner one night at the Trattoria Di Gulio and found the food to be succulent and the service superb! We had most of our meals at the Mercado de Delores. The marketplace layout is innovative and a great idea. We did find that the spicy food was not always labelled as spicy. The staff at the Ventus is very friendly, greeting you with a smile and a sincere 'hand over the heart' gesture which we found endearing. Please tip these hardworking people and they will appreciate your generosity. Overall, we had an enjoyable time at the Ventus and would highly recommend this fabulous resort!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX