St. James's Club Morgan Bay, St. Lucia

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    C

    very disapointing. I WILL NOT RECOMMEND.Staff is very slow and not very accomadating.had to pay for wi-fi in my room. resort is old

    Reviewed by Cash on Apr 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Never

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    A

    Great value.

    Reviewed by Anniversary on Feb 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Well after spending 10 days at this resort we would not hesitate to recommend. We would like to return some day. The staff was great. The food was wonderful. The hotel was older but rooms were big and clean. After reading reviews about negative things I was worried that I had chose the wrong Hotel to take my wife to for our 30th anniversary. But I was surprised that all the things mentioned in the negative comments, were not a problem at all. We went out to local market and some shopping in another nearby towns, the vendors and local folks were so friendly. I am not sure why folks felt they did not get a great holiday. Cant say enough good things about this resort. If you want an alround great vacation destination book this Island and Hotel. There was only one negative, the room safe. I did not feel it was "safe". The hotel should upgrade. Doug Hiscox

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    W

    We loved our stay. Everything was fantastic. We will return.

    Reviewed by Wilson Creek on Jan 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We just returned from our vacation and it was one of the best we have ever had. Our rooms were great. We paid for a oceanview room and the view was not what we expected but the suite made up for that. We could see the ocean from our balcony but had been upgraded to an gardenview suite. It was incredible. The food was great in all the a la cartes and the buffet was great. The resort is a smaller resort and this is what we like. The beach was good, it had some sea weed on windy days but it is the sea. The pools looked nice but we can do pools at hotels and we went for the beach. The whole country is very hilly and so was the resort. I was having some mobility issues but managed quite well. They have golf carts to take you back and forth. This was our ninth trip to the Caribbean trip and this was the most friendly resort we have been at. Every staff member would ask how your day was, where you had ate, how your meal was and if you were enjoying your vacation. They truly cared about their guests. By the second day we were already planning our return to St James's Club Morgan Bay. We have never gone to the same resort twice but we will be returning to this one.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6835 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great vacation

    Reviewed by 609ronny() on Aug 13, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    Stayed at st.james in august as much as the hotel wasnt wat i expected but great staff great amenities the only problem is if you dont book a restaurant on ur first day you are screwed you can only eat at the palms which is a buffet only restaurant the food wasnt that exciting so we made sure that we booked the rest of the restaurants the rest of our trip but breakfast at the palms was the bomb we loved it and the lunch at the plum tree restaurant was to die for and one restaurant we keep going to is the one that served italian food cant wait to go back big shout out to vince the bartender who always make sure my glass was full

    Honeymoon in paradise!!!

    Reviewed by AKnights89(Ipswich, United Kingdom) on Aug 11, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    A stunning hotel in a beautiful place with everything you could possibly want on site. Plenty to choose from in house, or if you want to leave the resort there are plenty of excursions and activities to fill up your days.

    A trip to remember ALL INCLUSIVE

    Reviewed by Matthew P() on Aug 11, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    From the time you arrive until you have to leave this paradise, you are treated well from their always smiling staff, who will find out answers for any question you ask of them. From the grounds which are manicured everyday , to the daily change in the restaurant menus, and the many water sports activities that are included, this place has something to please everyone in your family. Never worry about having to sign a receipt every time you want another Bob Marley drink, to requesting to take the several sail boats out for a sail around the bay, this was an awesome trip. Now, I am the adventurous person and rented a car for the week to go on my own excursions to other sights on the island, but you can get all those trips done through the resort. The only issue I had the walk back to to our villa each night. Even though we had great views from our villa, it was a hike up the steep walk. (And we could have asked for a ride up in their golf carts)

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Fantastic Familymoon

    Reviewed by Ms_KellyJ11(London, United Kingdom) on Aug 11, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    WE LOVED IT! Our holiday was a delayed familymoon from our December wedding and well worth waiting for. We arrived home a few mornings ago from an 11 night stay. You can’t but help have a relaxing, fun packed holiday here. This is our review. CHECK IN - Our check in was well organised and a lovely touch to be handed a rum /virgin punch or beer and refreshing peppermint towel on arrival. The basics are explained when the holding fee of US$350 is taken, but there is an Orientation Meeting held every morning and a folder in your room with all of the information required about the resort. Or like us, read all the reviews before you arrive! ROOMS - We stayed in a beach front room with our seven year old. It was a ground floor room in a quieter block 600 which we requested in advance. We were over the moon with the location and views and managed to witness several sunsets. The room was spacious, a bit tired perhaps, more so the bathroom, but the air conditioning was perfect. We were welcomed with a honeymoon note, bottle of champagne and cookies then booked into Bamboo restaurant on our first night to a table beautifully decorated. It was such a nice gesture and made us feel really special. There are British and American plug sockets in the rooms. The bed was so comfortable. The roll out bed is a single bed made up in the corner. The fridge is a good size and even has a small open freezer area. The toiletaries provided are basic. WATERSPORTS / ACTIVITIES / FACILITIES - We made the most of the facilities offered. The morning Pilates class with JORDON or one of the team was a great start to the day in the open air fitness area next to the air conditioned and well equipped gym. There are a variety of classes daily and plenty of routes, some more hilly, to walk or run around the resort if you want to keep fit. There are so many options for water activities on the beach, the more popular such as water skiing need to be booked from 8am daily, but there are usually plenty of opportunities to book the other choices on the day. A big shout out to BOB, what a great guy, nothing was too much trouble.. You can also hire a jet ski on the beach, but this is not part of the hotel facilities and needs to be paid for. In the Sunset Lounge, our son learnt to play Pool which helped entertain him in the evenings and times in the day. BEACH / POOLS - We spent most of our days relaxing on the beach, but often moved up to the main pool to enjoy the activities such as water volleyball. The beach has a safety area to swim to the right with the water activities taking place from the left. The beach was swept and cleaned daily every morning and there are plenty of sun beds, sun shades or palm trees and towels available. From 11am you can wave your red flag if you don’t fancy going to the bar. Someone will take your drinks order, how nice is that. Also, there is a daily lunchtime beach BBQ, we really enjoyed this as there are a number of other choices with salads and fruits. The ice cream chap rocked up with his trolley every day too, another nice little treat on the beach. We did pop up to the family pool a few times later in the day. It’s perfect for families with younger children, plus they serve food at the adjacent Plum Tree Bar & Grill from 11am until later in the afternoon so this worked out well when our son wanted to eat about 4pm one day. The Hilltop Pool and Bar is awesome! As it was adult only, we didn’t have the opportunity to pop along often, but we could have spent hours there. The views, refreshing breeze and peacefulness are bliss. JOYS TOURS - Booking this brilliant and reasonably priced trip with Joy or Jay Jay is a must! They are located by the Watersports area on the beach under the The Almond Tree. We promise you will have an unforgettable, fun packed day with the crew. The trip is so well organised with an informative tour down the West Coast, visit to the mud baths, waterfall, Joy’s home for lunch, snorkelling and much much more. The trip back is what you make it. The beer and rum punch flows and the crowd on our boat were up dancing, dabbing and flossing with Johnny & the crew. RESTAURANTS - We were really impressed with the food and dining options, especially in the evening. Each restaurant (apart from Palms) may be booked once a week at the time of your choice when you first arrive or with Valerie the following morning from 8am. If you wish to visit a restaurant again in the week, you can only book this on the day (subject to times available). We particular liked Morgan’s Pier. Each restaurant shuts for one night, plus Wednesday (apart from Palms). Wednesday is the brilliant BEACH PARTY NIGHT. So much time, effort and organisation goes into this. You table share so don’t leave it too late to join the party. Le Jardin is the only restaurant which we did not visit at a supplement of US$35 pp. Children over 5 may accompany their parents on a Monday night now, but also have to pay the supplement. The coffee shop next to Palms was a great place to pop into anytime of the day or evening, our favourites being an iced coffee or chocolate with a piece of cake. The white wine, fizz, beer and cocktails are really good too. ENTERTAINMENT - We were not that impressed with the evening options, although this was not a huge priority for us with a youngster in tow and had read the reviews before we booked and the management’s explanations. Maybe it should start a bit earlier than 9pm and perhaps there should be another option such as an inside air conditioned cocktail bar/piano lounge which becomes a nightclub or something later on? This is just our opinion. KIDS CLUB - our son visited the club a few times later on the holiday and did enjoy himself. It was well run, with plenty of activities throughout the day, but did not seem to be attended by many of the children at the resort at the time we stayed. SPA - Go! I went to the Wednesday Ladies Day Special Offer and it was worth every penny. WIFI - There is not much. For us, it was a refreshing break from social media and the world outside. Unless you pay for this or it’s part of your room package in certain rooms, the only areas with free WIFI is reception and the Sunset Lounge. CHECK OUT - we received a letter in our room the day before we departed offering a late check out until 6pm subject to availability of our room at US$65 + tax or a room to shower in for 30 minutes at US$20 + tax. This was a bit confusing because when I checked at reception at lunchtime, it was available and when we called later that day to book our room, it had been allocated to someone arriving on the day we left and then available again the next morning when I went to book the shower room. We suggest if you want a late check out, book this as soon as you can. NEGATIVES - We really didn’t want to have to cover any, but towards the end of our holiday a huge American crew rocked up filming a known reality TV show. Apparently, they are going to be there for 3 weeks and to be honest, they did interfere with our holiday. It was a novelty at first, but became an inconvenience with their presence and the noise they made everywhere. We found ourselves having to move out of their way at times. The guests were not informed of their arrival and we think they should have been. Also, there was a power cut one afternoon/evening during our stay so no electricity for hours. The staff did a great job of pulling together to ensure the evening dining went ahead without a hitch as some of the restaurants had to close. However, it would have been helpful to receive some communication about this, even it was on the main notice board in the Sunset Lounge. TOP TIPS 1. TIP! Take plenty of lower cash denominations with you. All the staff work hard, but some shine and it’s good to show your appreciation. 2. WATER - this is plentiful and very drinkable. There are water stations around the resort and I was always filling up my reusable bottle. Keep yourself hydrated! 3. TRAVEL SICKNESS PILLS - take for the journey to and from the airport if you suffer from motion sickness. It’s a brilliant opportunity to see Saint Lucia, but it’s a bumpy ride through winding roads and takes about 1 hour 15 minutes. 4. HAIRDRYER - I took my own travel one, it was a good shout. 5. SUNTAN CREAM - we all wore Factor 50 and 30 most of the time and definitely needed it, the sun is so powerful even on a cloudier day. 6. MOSQUITO SPRAY - use it, especially in the evenings. 7. SUN LOUNGER PEGS - we noticed a number of people used these to keep their beach towels in place. So, thank you St. James’s Club, we fell in love with you and Saint Lucia and would most certainly come back and stay with you!

    Bring A Pen!!! Lol

    Reviewed by rita c(Wayne, New Jersey) on Aug 10, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    I titled my review with my biggest complaint of the property...no pen or paper in the room (I know, trivial and petty but that's all I got! lol). If that's all I can complain about then you know this place was GREAT! I'll start at the start, the welcome staff were attentive, despite being very busy. We were offered cool drinks and towels and a snack. The check in process was easy and quick. We arrived a bit early so our room wasn't ready yet. We were directed to go to the Plumb Tree restaurant and have something to eat and drink. The waitress asked us our room number, when we said we didn't have a room assigned as of yet she smiled and said "No problem!. I'll be right back with your drinks". When we were able to check in our room we were blown away by how beautiful and spacious it was! (we booked the ocean front 500 block) It was very clean and well appointed. The bedding/bed was super comfy. The roll away bed where my 15 year old slept was comfy too! Next the food. We ate at each restaurant except for Le Jardin. The portions were plenty, and the service attentive, but not rushed. Each day, breakfast buffet was available in two restaurants as well as the cafe Choc Bay. For lunch in addition to two buffet restaurants (change the theme daily) there was a barbecue on the beach each day Don't for get the ice cream man who comes out around 1130ish! Dinner was either sit down, or buffet which changes daily. On Wed. is an amazing beach party Carnival style. Bonfires on the beach, stilt walkers, dancers in costume, and live entertainment! OK, next the activities....I can really only comment on the water sports, because after dinner we were so tired we were in bed early. Big shout out to the Water sports guys!! Rio, Shaun, Peter, Jr. and Nigel! These guys really made our stay great! We signed up for everything! Ask Rio to teach you to sail the Hobie cats, and to water ski! The banana boat and couch rides were fun too. Stand Up paddle boarding and kayaking were fun too. As much fun as they were, they were also safety conscious and watchful of all guests out on the water. The beach was clean and chairs and umbrellas and towels were well maintained. Daniel at the bar was great too, I recommend a "Daniel special" or a BBC! We did however have a TV crew filming while we were there which didn't interfere a bit. We did have a bit of excitement as there was a power outage. The manager was very helpful and kept us informed of developments. Since a few of the restaurants didn't have power they threw a beach cookout! Speaking of the manager, he's a very nice and approachable gentleman, I did bring up my concern about lack of pens (lol) and he was very gracious, laughed and said "that's life on an Island!". Please don't forget almost of the supply's must be imported by ship, therefore sometimes things run out. If the only thing they run out of is pens, I'd say they're doing a great job! We will be back! PS we booked with Elite Island Resorts, Janet Kuhlman, highly recommend!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

    This is the name that will be attached to your review.

    Our submission policy:

    XXXX