St. James's Club Morgan Bay, St. Lucia

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    C

    very disapointing. I WILL NOT RECOMMEND.Staff is very slow and not very accomadating.had to pay for wi-fi in my room. resort is old

    Reviewed by Cash on Apr 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Never

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    A

    Great value.

    Reviewed by Anniversary on Feb 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Well after spending 10 days at this resort we would not hesitate to recommend. We would like to return some day. The staff was great. The food was wonderful. The hotel was older but rooms were big and clean. After reading reviews about negative things I was worried that I had chose the wrong Hotel to take my wife to for our 30th anniversary. But I was surprised that all the things mentioned in the negative comments, were not a problem at all. We went out to local market and some shopping in another nearby towns, the vendors and local folks were so friendly. I am not sure why folks felt they did not get a great holiday. Cant say enough good things about this resort. If you want an alround great vacation destination book this Island and Hotel. There was only one negative, the room safe. I did not feel it was "safe". The hotel should upgrade. Doug Hiscox

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    W

    We loved our stay. Everything was fantastic. We will return.

    Reviewed by Wilson Creek on Jan 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We just returned from our vacation and it was one of the best we have ever had. Our rooms were great. We paid for a oceanview room and the view was not what we expected but the suite made up for that. We could see the ocean from our balcony but had been upgraded to an gardenview suite. It was incredible. The food was great in all the a la cartes and the buffet was great. The resort is a smaller resort and this is what we like. The beach was good, it had some sea weed on windy days but it is the sea. The pools looked nice but we can do pools at hotels and we went for the beach. The whole country is very hilly and so was the resort. I was having some mobility issues but managed quite well. They have golf carts to take you back and forth. This was our ninth trip to the Caribbean trip and this was the most friendly resort we have been at. Every staff member would ask how your day was, where you had ate, how your meal was and if you were enjoying your vacation. They truly cared about their guests. By the second day we were already planning our return to St James's Club Morgan Bay. We have never gone to the same resort twice but we will be returning to this one.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6894 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    10, 10, 10

    Reviewed by Adanna M(Port of Spain, Trinidad) on Oct 07, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This visit was the big threeoh birthday celebration for me in beautiful, enchanting St. Lucia!!! Please note, I booked this trip via Bookit.com. PROS -Excellent, courteous, accommodating and just plain nice staff! Jacqueline (Concierge and Tours desk), Claudia (swim up bar bartender), Shanna and Kimisha (Masseuses), Cisly (Reception) and our various servers for breakfast, lunch and dinner, in particular the Palm restaurant supervisor or manager (I forgot her name) as well as, the water sports guys. Good work! -Food was delicious. There was a wide variety of foods, fruits etc. You could even have a smoothie made at breakfast!! I only regret not getting the chance to eat at Tree Tops, maybe next time. -The views were breathtaking!! -The tour desk was a great addition and was super helpful, largely in part due to Jacqueline who helped us a lot. -All-inclusive is incredible! I found a drink that I loved (Lovely Lady) and I was always able to get it!! -Various restaurants! There is something different for every craving or occasion. The alfredo and the chicken fingers at the Plum Tree Bar and Grill, the salmon and potatoes at Morgan's Pier and all the breakfast options at the Palms. -Water sports!! I paddle boarded (bucket list item checked off)!!! And I got on a banana boat; a first for me, cool and scary! I didn't get to sail, so next time. -The spa. The receptionist was welcoming and our masseuses were gentle. That ladies day special was a great idea. I got advice about my skin and even bought one of the cleansers used on my face; lovely product. -Samples! So the hotel has a gift shop and they let you sample the local Bounty rum! Very cool St. James Club! I fell in love with Bounty Lime and Coconut!! The hotel also has a jewelry store, but there were no samples there. -Currency exchange. Being able to comfortably change your money in the hotel felt safe. -There is a bookshelf with books and magazines!!! My little readers heart skipped several beats! -The pool is the perfect temperature at all times! -Golf cart ride to our room. -Guest orientation sessions are available. -The hotel is huge and at night, walking around felt safe. CONS -I wish someone told us that the ladies day spa special meant we wouldn't get the procedures done together, we assumed we would as we booked it together. Nevertheless, still a great experience. -The birds and cats at the Palms. I love animals but at times their antics were dismaying. Nevertheless, still a great experience. -I will always hate the shower/tub combos in bathrooms. Luckily for me, I didn't slip, not once. -The cleanser I bought from the spa had no directions for use and I forgot to ask upon purchase. I will recommend this hotel to anyone visiting St. Lucia, in fact I already have and I will continue to! Definitely value and quality for money!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Great hotel and second visit

    Reviewed by Skitrain() on Oct 05, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is a great hotel and was our second time that we had stayed here. With all hotels you will find faults, however we were very happy here with many other guests we met felt the same way. We stayed in September which was low season. Here are a few points. Transfers Around 1:30 hrs in journey time and had booked with BA in the uk. Had private transfers each way as there are a lot of hills and bends to go around. We can recommend “Glen” who looked after us very well both ways and was very helpful. On time and was very safe! Check in This was really good. We were well looked after with a drink, towel and were seen by one member of staff. We achieved all requests and were in our room very quickly. Room We had a one bedroom suite in block 12. Good size rooms with two tvs, coffee machine, two air-cons, plenty of storage, good size bed, soft pillows, fridge, safe, ironing board, two writing desks, coffee table, settee, chairs, extra tables. Several UK sockets and several US sockets. Amazing ocean view. Great access to top pool. Management They were amazing on this trip and could not fault. They made us feel very looked after. I know this may not have seemed the case in some of the earlier reviews. However, we liked them very much and achieved every request. They went over and above for us on this trip. Staff Mixed overall Watersport team were so helpful and great fun! Peter, Bob and the rest of the team could not do more. We really enjoyed spending time with them and giving them a run for their money when racing the cats around the bay. We are heavily into water-sports and found them to be focused on safely and knew their stuff. A credit to the hotel. Bar staff Most are friendly other than Joanna who was very rude to most guests and put most off the top pool when she was there. Sometimes she wondered why you were waiting at the bar. Gregory on the other-hand could not look after you better and would even sing to his favourite songs, very funny. Watersport team played better music Greg! Lol. Waiting staff were mixed with most pleasant. Food Was able to book tables every three days. No problem booking. Very good standard of food. We were disappointed the bamboo restaurant was not open as we were looking forward to eating there. However the buffet restaurant had been improved and enjoyed the food there. A lot of the guests would also make a point of eating at the pool on the far side as well as this was waitered at lunch times. Le Jardin Was an extra 35$ each and we had one meal there this time. Enjoyed our evening and will eat there again. Pools Four pools and went in each one. Water was treated each night and well maintained. Adult only pool at top which was a must each evening for cocktails and lovely without any children around. I wish the BBC was on tap! Lol Main pools with swim up bar and animation team who worked everyone hard in the second pool. A lot of fun to watch or get involved. Good size children’s pools! With two small water slides. Good food and bar. Seaweed This hotel seems to be ok and does not have a problem with sargassum seaweed. There was seaweed on the beach when a storm went through. The staff then work hard over the next few days to make sure all was cleared as it washed in. Watersport One of the main reasons for going back. Safe and a good selection of sports. The Hobies could do with some new sails! Waterskiing was also fun. Banana rides, paddle boards and wind surfing. Snorkelling There is loads of marine life here, we saw loads of turtles, several most days when out on the water. Loads of fish and other marine life. However the water is not clear enough close in to snorkel, so snorkelled a great reef by the pitons on joys cruise. We saw dolphins In the bay last time we were here. Dress Most dressed up, ladies wore nice dresses and gents in shorts unless you were in the booked restaurants where you need trousers. Evening entertainment Wednesday night is good fun and the hotel puts a lot of work into the night. Other evenings very poor and needs work. Jump up Every Friday there is a street party held locally and is a must. Full on and safe. Only went once this time and a lot of fun dancing in the street. Took the bus there and taxi back. Joy’s cruise A must! Great day out, safe, not pushy, interesting and something not to miss. Also went on a private evening cruise as well. They really look after you! Beach buggies Have done this three times now. Expensive but a great day to see the island and best views of the pitons for lunch. An amazing drive through the island and back. Rodney bay Ok for shopping with two super markets, several duty free shops, a few bars. Chemist, clothes shops and places to eat. Cost 40EC each way from the hotel about 4.5 miles away and next the the marina. Spa We used once ok but very expensive was popular though. Currency Most used US dollars, we had taken ECD with us. Both worked and were accepted. Overall This is a great hotel and will visit again. Some guests had returned many times. I was told the food was way way better than wind jammers and its half the price of sandals. Great views and you should have a lovely holiday as we did for a second time.

    Great family holiday destination

    Reviewed by womblel2018(Lewes, United Kingdom) on Oct 03, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Incredibly friendly and helpful staff, the food was was pretty good and offered plenty of variety, excellent watersports, although you need to get down there early in the morning to book the water-skiing, varied programme of activities on offer, safe for children, fantastic Wednesday night beach party, rooms basic but clean. It was a great resort for a family holiday. Our children/teenagers loved it. My only criticism is that it was quite noisy and there was no where to go that was quieter, particularly in the evenings. A separate piano bar for example would be ideal! Nevertheless we would definitely still go back!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    You Decide

    Reviewed by John W() on Oct 02, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Where to start? 1. Nice reception, friendly staff, golf cart type transfer to rooms 2. Rooms OK with UK type sockets. First world problem of no plug by the mirror for wife to dry hair! 3. Meals were pretty good with a variety of styles and restaurants. 4. Beach disappointing as water not suitable for snorkelling. OK if you just want to chill and swim. 5. Tropical Storm Kirk visited and resort demonstrated both resilience and management. However, an influx of migrants from other affected hotels in the area coupled with a well attended 3 day conference put undue strain on staff which led to a significant drop in the standards and levels of service. Put it down to circumstances! All-in-all we had a nice break but, as we are into our snorkelling, we would try somewhere else more suitable if we came back to St Lucia.

    Wonderful!!!

    Reviewed by SandieO(Hampshire) on Oct 02, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our first time in St Lucia and at St James Club and will not be our last. Everybody was so genuinely friendly and went out of their way to ensure that we had a lovely time. We managed to spend everyday on the beach and only missed going in the sea when the red flag was flying. Yes there was some rain but this is the rainy season and the showers soon cleared up and you wouldn't have known it had rained. There are plenty of sunbeds and sunshades and the hotel supplies beach towels. We mainly ate the the Palm restaurant but went a couple of times to Morgans Pier which is a must and also Tree Tops. We also had lunch at the grill bar and the staff there were excellent. We were unable to eat at Bamboo as there were renovations going on. One thing you must not miss is the ice-cream man who comes round everyday and you must try the orange and pineapple flavour. You must also try the coffee shop which serves little cakes and pastries all freshly made, I loved the Nut Brittle which I have not had for years. There is a beach BBQ every Wednesday night and the staff work really hard to ensure that everyone enjoys it, you will get carried away with the atmosphere and the entertainment. Our room was in Block 600 and overlooked the sea, it gave us easy access to the beach and the pool. Our room was very clean and comfortable and we had coffee facilities which were replenished daily. For those that want to know, yes the room has a safe, hairdryer and the toiletries - soap, shampoo, conditioner, moisturiser are all replenished daily. We booked our holiday for complete rest and relaxation and we certainly had this, though the music at the pool was a little loud for us. We will return next year and would like to say a big thank-you to everyone who looked after us and made our holiday so special, especially our maid Laurina who was excellent, Vincent at the Grill Bar and Lu who brought us our drinks every day on the beach.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX