Secrets Aura Cozumel reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.0 Very Good

  • Cleanliness 4.0
  • Location 4.5
  • Rooms 4.0
  • Service 4.0
  • Value 4.0

5931 TripAdvisor reviews

TripAdvisor users rated this property 1 out of 5

Do not waste your money

spirit0926 (Jonesborough, Tennessee) on Jul 03, 2022

We paid for ocean view swim up, we have aunts, no sun, because the building next door blocks the sun.We were promised another room today, when we asked about our new room we have been told, oh not until Tuesday. We are stuck here for 2 weeks we can not even unpack! We have been lied to over and over by various staff members. We have stayed here multible times, don't know what happened, but what a disaster. Still waiting for a room that we paid for.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 3 out of 5

They Made Me Stay Here!!

528rochellec on Jul 02, 2022

I ended up at this resort because AMR pulled a switcharoo on me! I booked a room for me and my 21 year old niece, at the Dreams Cozumel Cape Resort and Spa on March 8, 2022. They were offering a special rate for a sneak peek of the new resort. I was scheduled to stay May 16-19, 2022. They processed my deposit payment on March 8, 2022 and my final payment on May 2, 2022. I received a Pre-stay letter on May 10, 2022 and it had all the information for Dreams Cozumel Cape Resort and Spa. I arrive at the airport on May 16, 2022 and the young man from the transportation service informs me that the Dreams Cozumel Cape Resort and Spa is still under construction and I was going to Sunscape...I was livid! I get to Sunscape and as soon as we pull up I said "I'm not staying here"! After a lot of conversation and about 20 minutes of my time, I was informed that I would be staying at Secrets. It appeared to me that they had to confirm my nieces age, and instead of just asking for her ID, they kept guessing because she looks very young. They asked me four times about her age and I kept telling them that she was 21! They finally walk us over to Secrets (an adult only resort) and I was not impressed! I was very upset that no one contacted me to inform me that the Dreams Cozumel Cape Resort and Spa was still under construction! I would have cancelled my trip! I had no desire to stay at Secrets with my niece! They put us in a room with one bed and an open shower and bath! They said they were going to bring me another bed and they never did! My niece had to sleep on the sofa! This was her first time out of the country and this was supposed to be a girls trip before she headed off to military training for two months! Needless to say our trip as planned was ruined! The resort was dated, the hot water in the shower wouldn't get hot and the food was not good. The couple of food items that we did like were inconsistent in taste and portion size. To date no one wants to acknowledge that they pulled a switcharoo on me. Victoria, the Regional Member's Quality Assurance & Customer Manager keeps trying to make my complaint about Secrets and keeps offering me another stay at Secrets! What a joke! I am so upset that when I was in Cancun in April of this year I purchased a vacation package, and I encouraged three of my friends to do so as well! Had I known, what I know now, I would never have purchased from AMR! I cannot believe that no one from AMR had the decency and the professionalism to contact me and inform me that the resort was not open! I should have been given the option of canceling my stay or going with the alternate plans that were made for me without my permission!

TripAdvisor users rated this property 3 out of 5

If you're a diver!

drewb535 (Virginia Beach, Virginia) on Jul 02, 2022

My group and I originally booked the Dreams hotel that is under construction, but we were upgraded to Secrets. Overall, the service is very nice - but it most definitely could use some maintenance to the grounds. The employees there are rock solid! This review is more built around groups who are traveling divers. This resort is more of a honeymoon/marriage destination. There are plenty of divers there intertwined, and this place has a long pier where the boats can come pick you up. The on-property shop is called Dive House. You can check in with the employee on the first day to pay for the diving - VISA AND MASTERCARD are the only types of credit cards accepted. Of course - they prefer for you to pay in cash. The boats are very nice and not overcrowded. There is no place for you to store your gear in-between diving. The employees say that you can leave your gear on the boat, they will take it and wash it, and put it back on the boat for your next day of diving - but they take if off hotel property. No one in my group did this as the bathtubs in our rooms were big enough to wash the gear in. We do realize not all dive resorts even have this, but it's worth noting. The dive locations are literally less than a 10-minute ride away, but they all look the same in my opinion! You have to ask to go to specific places if you want to do it. We asked to do swim throughs and the wreck, and the boat captain took us there. Also, if your diving, please be careful about the boats that are not really licensed to take you out. It takes business away from the people who are following the rules. Overall, my group has agreed that we'll look at full dive resorts for future vacations versus a Destination one. Hope this helps somone!

TripAdvisor users rated this property 2 out of 5

Disappointed, need updating or better management

Z764NLpeggyc (Lucas, Iowa) on Jun 30, 2022

My husband's side of the bed was broke. The sheets were awesome the first 5 nights, but the ones they replaced them with were very rough texture & itchy. Our stool wouldn't flush part of the time & our sliding doors to the patio did not close at the top. We did have good pressure in our shower every night. They only got our request for the mini bar correct 4 out of 14 days. Over half of the meat that was served in the restaurants was very tough, dry & chewy. Market Cafe, the sky bar suichi restaurant & Bourdeaux had excellant food, but the rest looked pretty, just not good. The pool by our condo was green & skanky for the 1st 4 days & last 3, as something was wrong with the filter? Several of us women got bruises from running into the steps you couldn't see. And the food at the preferred zone lounge was not good. The bartender there & Manatees were good. But it was very difficult to get cold sparkling water all but Manatees or the bar over by Sunscape. Everywhere else it was flat, warm & poured over ice. We were overcharged at the on-site shopping area by double. The same shirt downtown was 1/2 that price. We were also sad about the rocky beach & that you couldn't walk, snorkel or kayak very far. We were suppose to be preferred, but sure didn't feel that way at all. Kind of like we were put in the back of the bus. We generally travel yearly, but will not be returning here.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 3 out of 5

Not as bad as the reviews say

Monica S (McAllen, Texas) on Jun 30, 2022

After reading the reviews on this place I was prepared for the worst. I think this is a nice resort. It is great for older people who just want to relax and not do much. The food and drinks were good. The buffet was small but this is an island and a small resort so I don't expect a full grand buffet. Something that did bother me was on the dinner menus it would say one thing but you are served something else. For example, ribeye steak was actually a chunk of chuck roast that wasn't cooked properly. The employees were all very nice. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. There is a lot of fish to see under the pier so definitely go snorkel. Do not waste your time renting a car to see the island. All the beaches are full of seaweed and closed and the water is so rough it isn't swimmable. Stay at the resort where it is clean and you can see the fish and shells and you have your food and drinks. I wouldn't go back to this resort for many reasons....the flight is longer and more expensive for me, nothing to do, no shows,

View All