Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.0 Very Good

  • Cleanliness 4.0
  • Location 4.0
  • Rooms 4.0
  • Service 4.0
  • Value 3.5

2761 TripAdvisor reviews

TripAdvisor users rated this property 1 out of 5

Unless you wake up at 6am do not stay here

MommySherpa (Seattle, Washington) on May 10, 2024

Loud protesting began at 6:30 AM. Siren, horns, drums, shouting “wake-up” Seems small, but full focus is on noise. I don’t know if rooms on the other side of the building are impacted. But our room faced Los Angeles Street. Lower floors would be worse than higher floors.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 1 out of 5

Disgusting Rooms, Lack of Security and Poor Staff/Management

F H on Apr 23, 2024

My room at this hotel was totally disgusting. The bathroom was in such disrepair and unsanitary. I just could not believe I was staying at a Hilton property and at such an expensive rate. The security also was lacking. The elevator security system (using your hotel key to activate the elevator) was not working so anyone could access the guest room floors without a key. As a solo traveler this was very unsettling. The room was dirty and there were hairs present on the nightstand lamp. I informed the front desk of my dissatisfaction and was told a manager would contact me. I arrived late at night at the hotel and was not able to seek out another hotel therefore I left very early in the morning. When I left very early in the morning the front desk still charged my card and said the manager will contact me regarding my horrible experience. Its 4 days past my stay and still no response from Management. Very disappointed with Hilton.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 1 out of 5

Terrible !! ?? ?????????? Nightmare !! ????????????

SOPHIA O on Apr 17, 2024

Terrible !! ?? ?????????? Nightmare !! ???????????? What do you think? Hilton Hotel seems unwilling to refund my money. I want to warn everyone about the terrible and indifferent service I experienced at the DoubleTree by Hilton in LA. I do not want anyone else to suffer as I have. In December 2023, filled with excitement, I booked a room at the hotel to celebrate the end of the year with my children. Despite the building being old and the accommodations unclean, I refrained from complaining because I did not want to ruin the precious memories with my children. However, upon checking out and trying to leave the self-parking lot, the machine indicated that my parking ticket was not paid, and I had to pay on the spot with my credit card to exit, as cars were lined up behind me. Believing that the hotel would refund the double charge, I paid without protest. Because, They clearly stated at checkout that my parking charges were fully paid and no further costs would be incurred. Once home, I immediately opened a claim with the Hilton Hotel. I engaged in numerous live chats, called customer service, and sent emails, providing them with all the required documents and a detailed statement, including bank transaction records and photos of both sides of the parking ticket. Yet, all I received were automated responses promising contact within 3-5 days but no mention of a refund. I have been subjected to months of wasted time, effort, and stress due to Hilton's negligent customer support. I no longer wish to patronize Hilton Hotels. They have turned my precious memories into a nightmare. More frustratingly, despite my repeated contact, the last representative told me to dispute the charge with my bank. Following Hilton’s advice, I filed a dispute, but the bank responded that it was Hilton's responsibility to issue the refund. However, Hilton Hotels is irresponsibly shirking its responsibility for refunds, pushing the burden onto customers and my bank with a lazy and irresponsible refund policy. I am planning to file a complaint with the consumer dispute committee as this may pose a legal issue. I did not want to do this as it is unpleasant and requires my time, but I have considered it in the hope that there will be no more victims like myself. Also, they continued to delay the refund, instructing me to go back to the original situation and repeat the same process. Oh my God, they keep making the same demands without refunding my double-charged parking fee. If this isn't an attempt to exhaust me into giving up on my refund, I cannot understand their motives. Is this how they intend to misappropriate customers' money? Before you consider staying at a Hilton hotel, think twice. The place is old, dirty, and the customer service is a mess. Share your experiences on social media and review platforms like Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Google, Yelp, TripAdvisor, Expedia, and Hotels.com to ensure no one else has to endure what I have.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 3 out of 5

Could Have Been Nice, But . . .

Mel B (Powder Springs, Georgia) on Apr 16, 2024

Pros: Large room, big bath towels, quiet on inside, staff very nice and helpful, very quiet A/C and heat unit. Cons: service staff on strike beating drums and tambourines, blowing horns, and yelling slogans and playing loud music which started at 7:30 a.m. and ended at 5 p.m.(my room was on front side of building so I heard it all). At least strikers were nice and would allow guests to cross picket line with no problems. No remote for TV and had to call and get one (but it was provided promptly), coffee pot leaked when used, and restaurant was closed (so no room service either) due to strike.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 3 out of 5

LA in a budget

abeysheena (Istanbul, Turkiye) on Apr 13, 2024

The location and facilities was good. There is 7-11 store across the road, very convenient. Breakfast was decent. No newspaper or complimentary coffee or water in the lobby unlike at the Doubletree in Burlingame SanFrancisco. The Citadel mall is nearby , 20$ on Uber, for those who love bargains.

View All