Sandals Halcyon Beach St Lucia reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.5 Excellent

  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Location 4.5
  • Rooms 4.0
  • Service 4.5
  • Value 4.0

7014 TripAdvisor reviews

TripAdvisor users rated this property 4 out of 5

Lovely spot BUT……

Abramsne (Greensboro, North Carolina) on Feb 17, 2024

Beautiful property, excellent food, friendly staff, perfect room with ocean view BUT some things to keep in mind. First- the airport is a 1.5 hour drive over a poorly maintained, curvy, mountain road. Sandals shuttle vans can be fairly nice or kind of run down- apparently Sandals contracts with local drivers. Some have good AC and some have poor AC. Roads are rough and journey is long. Also -upon arrival there are very aggressive men waiting to take your luggage to the waiting area. They grabbed it and we assumed they were going to load it in the van. Not - They merely took it to the Sandals waiting area - a short distance from immigration/customs -but demanded a tip. Same on return to airport. We were pushed out of the way for them to unload and take our luggage into the airport -again a short distance- and then came looking for a tip. Second: The room comes equipped with a “premium” bar and fridge. It includes a bottle of vodka, rum, spiced rum, scotch and red wine. NO BOURBON. When requested, was told that bottle would be an additional charge. Unhappy as bourbon is my drink of choice and didn’t know it was not included so just be aware if you’re a bourbon drinker. Third: The bars operate on “island time”. Stated hours for main pool say open at 10 but that is a suggestion. Sometimes at 10:15, sometimes at 10:30. Weirdly, the bar at the other pool opens at 10:30… not sure why. What if you want a Bloody Mary at 9??? And there was some rule about what kinds or alcohol could be served at 10:30… like only vodka and Prosecco. I don’t know what time the rules changed on ordering others. The main bar opens at 5 - or when they are ready. Fourth: The Island Tour excursion desk is either ill informed or just makes up what they think you want to hear. On 3 occasions, was given misinformation on the length of the ride from resort to activity and also was given wrong info on where one tour was leaving from. Fifth: The worst toilet paper I’ve ever used. This was a really lovely place and the food was truly delicious. The drive to and from airport was difficult - no fault of Sandals but should be considered when deciding on your vacation. The bar times were just irritating and we weren’t aware of those restrictions when booking. Now we know.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Dinner at Kimonos

Tanya G on Feb 17, 2024

Had dinner at Kimonos on my special day today and it was fantastic the chef was very entertaining and engaging. Meats were cooked to perfection with perfect seasoning. I loved it here 10/10 will definitely return to dine at Sandals Halcyon.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Thank you to an amazing staff.

Don S on Feb 17, 2024

We have been loyal Sandals guests and were married at Sandals Antigua in February 2017. One of the things that always keeps us coming back is the staff we encounter at each of Sandals' resorts. However, there are always those that go above and beyond which makes our stay so much more enjoyable and memorable. Our recent return trip to Sandals Halcyon Beach was no exception. On our 2018 trip my wife met Tameka (?) in the Spa where she got a massage. My wife and Tameka built a friendship and have stayed in touch via Facebook over those years. Upon our recent return trip, we again had massages and were able to reconnect with Tameka. At the conclusion of our massage session, Tameka handed us a gift bag and wished us a Happy Anniversary and asked that we not open it until we return to our room. Upon opening, we discovered that Tameka took it upon herself to find two poses from our 2022 Sandals Antigua trip on my wife's Facebook page, downloaded them and had them placed on two coffee mugs with Happy Anniversary on the other side of the mugs. Needless to say, my wife and I were ecstatic and Tameka made our Anniversary (2/7/17) even more amazing. Tameka's co-worker (Zenith) was also truly amazing and visited with us often during our stay. Thank you again Tameka. There were other staff encounters that also went above and beyond to make our stay that much more remarkable; Adam, Boozie, Jay and LaShaun who work in the Entertainment Dept. were absolutely amazing and we quickly became friends. They excelled at their jobs and were naturals behind the microphone getting guests involved with activities at the pool. One of our grandsons is a huge football fan, and Adam went out of his way to find us a Super Bowl T-shirt to bring back to our grandson. Another staff member (dancer) in the Entertainment Dept. (Naya) was also truly amazing, and after meeting her at the Grande, she made it a point to always greet us with a big hug and hello. After being awarded our free 7 night stay, I had the opportunity to speak to the resort manager (Andrea). I explained to him what Tameka had done for our anniversary and the other encounters we had and stressed that they needed the recognition they deserved. Thank you Tameka, Zenith, Adam, Jay, Boozie, LaShaun and Naya for being the amazing people you are. Not only do you represent Sandals in such a positive way, your attitudes and friendships are greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance Sandals for noticing these amazing staff members who are truly appreciated not only by us, but by everyone I'm sure they encounter. We look forward to making new Sandals friendships at Sandals St. Vincent in February 2025.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Wonderful resort!

tduffy2016 (Essex, United Kingdom) on Feb 17, 2024

Just returned from another fantastic Sandals holiday, our first time, at the Halcyon. Stayed in the 600 block, lovely 2 storey building right next to the lazy river and "quiet" pool. Newly renovated room, with modern decor. The resort is smaller than any of the other Sandals resorts we have stayed in and we LOVED it!! There was a much more initimate, personal, friendly feel about the place and the staff went out of their way to get to know you. All staff were great especially LeShaun who went out of his way to sort out some last minute restaurant reservations at the other resorts for us - thank you! The Dive Centre team were very professional as usual with other Sandals dive centres. We loved the beach and appreciated the drink service from your friendly server Sienna (bar) and Michaela who was training with her, both were brilliant. Don't be put off by the beach vendors they are just doing a job selling excursions and souvenirs and just happy to have a chat with you, they are great company and have some interesting stories to tell. They won't hassle you for a sale if you politely say say no. Tammy in culinary was so much better than "club sandals" at organising our dinner reservations. Tbh not sure what benefit "club level" actually gave us on this holiday. The resort is immaculate, the gardening staff keep the grounds so well manicured and gardener Lesley hosted an excellent informative "nature tour" of the grounds explaining in detail about the plants which was very interesting - i've never seen a purple banana before! Had a wonderful massage with Tamaka, sadly let down by the boring bland treatment room, with no ambient lighting, candles etc which really does not portray the luxury experience or prices Sandals charge - if going for a massage book one of the outside massage cabana areas and ask for Tamaka! It was so nice to see the mangers actively engaging with guests and being visible around the resort - even the general manager was clearing plates chatting to guests and generally helping out at a busy breakfast service. The food in all of the resorts was great and we did take advantage of making restaurant reservations and eating at The Grande and Le Toc, the shuttle service from the Halcyon was very efficient. It was also nice to see the restaurnts all enforce the dress codes (take note to pack long trousers) . Having visited the other resorts during the day we are pleased we chose the Halcyon, much queiter but not lacking great evening entertaintment too. The Michael Jackson show, Country and Western and Regaee Night, oh and the silent disco too were all great fun! Thank you to everyone at the Halcyon Beach for making our holiday such a fabulous one. We will be back to see you soon.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

A great resort

peterF195WP on Feb 17, 2024

This was a lovely resort. A wonderful setting on a golden sand beach. The accommodation, food, and the facilities were first class. The staff were friendly and engaging. We really enjoyed our time there.

View All