Brisas Del Caribe

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    G

    We know that there are limited resources in Cuba and Tried hard to like this resort, would not recommend to others.

    Reviewed by George on Mar 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Just back from Cuba. Flights were on time and comfortable. Service to and from resort was as promised and we went on a trip to Havana that we booked through Westjet which was well run. This resort is in a general state of disrepair. We stayed in the south side rooms , our room 350 was clean on arrival and was cleaned daily, however , the room itself was in need of repair. Three mornings we woke with no air conditioning and other mornings with no water pressure. The food was ok but the lines at the buffet were long and there was limited choice . Beach and weather very nice.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    G

    We know that there are limited resources in Cuba and Tried hard to like this resort, would not recommend to others.

    Reviewed by George on Mar 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Just back from Cuba. Flights were on time and comfortable. Service to and from resort was as promised and we went on a trip to Havana that we booked through Westjet which was well run. This resort is in a general state of disrepair. We stayed in the south side rooms , our room 350 was clean on arrival and was cleaned daily, however , the room itself was in need of repair. Three mornings we woke with no air conditioning and other mornings with no water pressure. The food was ok but the lines at the buffet were long and there was limited choice . Beach and weather very nice.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    P

    Perfect in every respect

    Reviewed by Peter and Alla on May 23, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    One word. Fantastic!! The people there were wonderful and very very friendly. The service was perfect and the food was to die for. We are going back next January and bringing friends this time

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    We loved our vacation at Brisas del Caribe - had a great stay!

    Reviewed by KR on May 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    WestJet flights were excellent going to and returning from NL, Canada to Cuba via Toronto. On time, excellent service and great flight times! Loved the WestJet Connect option for movies, shows during the flight. Although we were booked in the South family section of the resort, the South section was closed at Brisas del Caribe - apparently May is slower season in Cuba but the resort was still quite full so we were placed in the North section in a room on the third floor beachside. We stayed in that room one night, which was okay - the room was a little dated with renovated bathroom - so the next day, we just asked to speak to the public relations manager of the hotel - and after a very brief and nice conversation with her, she upgraded us to the junior VIP suite on the 4th floor with a newly renovated room, living room and two bathrooms overlooking the entire resort, beach side at no additional cost! The customer service was excellent. Staff were amazing at the resort, the food was good lots of selection at buffet, great morning omelettes, loved the Cuban day buffets, and we liked the 3 ala carte restaurants and the coffee bar fabulous! We had perfect weather - sunny and 32-35 degrees every day. Varadero beach is the best beach we have ever been on. As a resort owned by Cuba, if there is availability at the hotel, Cuban people come on the weekends - our 11 year old son got to meet a great Cuban friend during those three days of our holiday - which was a neat experience for him. A couple of bartenders seemed to 'serve their own' first that weekend...but with a quick tip of a peso- that changed. There were guests from all over the world, from other Canadians to guests from as far as China, Europe and South America. We loved our holiday, and plan on returning again to this resort - especially for the great price and experience!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4593 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Worst hotel on earth.

    Reviewed by Nicholas L() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    DO NOT BOOK HERE! Every other review hit the nail on the head. Unless you speak Spanish you will not get a drink. The food is horrific, flies and birds everywhere with a sewer smell thrown in for luck. I have never felt so unsafe in my life. Other hotel guests are animals! I cannot express enough how much of a bad place this is. Luckily my friend works for an airline so it was cheap to get there. If I had paid £2000 based on 2 people staying/getting here, I would have been gutted! They are simply not ready for tourists and haven't grasped basic customer service or even basic politeness. DON'T BOOK HERE!

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

    Reviewed by Kiran T() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    30 countries later, this is the worst accomation i have stayed at. -I SAW the waitress reuse cups from one person to another without washing it, just a simple refil. - Food was terrible and had flies all over -Service was terrible and the reception staff put the phone down on you, fail to do what they say, and lie to your face. - In a medical emergency the doctor leaves EARLY does not inject her patients but left ME to inject someone alone and unassisted when they fell on the hotels WET floor and leaking ceiling with NO warning signs. - Changed room 3 times due to flooding, damp, and disgusting hygiene. _ daily notes left for the cleaner to even leave towels and water. - NO hot water for 3 days of the trip and a promise someone would come to fix it which never happened. staff DO NOT care, being able to speak spanish and english, i noticed staff treat you like DIRT when you are not able to speak the language. they also will hike the price of taxis to cheat you in the lobby.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Never Again!

    Reviewed by 1966icloud() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Having travelled for the last 30 years I have got to say this was the most awful hotel I have ever stayed in. No drink cups - we were told more than a number of times the 2 weeks we were there to bring your own plastic cups to refilldrinks! If you don’t speak Spanish or are not a native holidaymaker prepared to be ignored - some of the reception staff and most of the bar staff did not make us feel welcome. And both my daughters spoke Spanish. Be prepared to fight for tables at restaurant times. I am as told more than once there were no tables free and staff could not care less. Every sitting we also had to ask for hidden away spoons and glasses too. Hygiene was terrible - I witnessed and complained on more than one occasion that glasses were refilled and not washed properly - convinced this caused my daughter’s tapeworm which the doctor confirmed on the last day! I also fell 5 steps outside the main hotel lobby within 10 minutes of arriving. No doctor around and needed injections and painkillers. No signs to say slippery surface and I paid the price. No real hot water for 3 days whilst in our rooms - again no one really seemed interested , reception put down the phone on you if you ever rang them so never ended up actually speaking to someone. We witnessed the swimming pool being spat in by parents! It is the first hotel where I have never swam In the hotel pool as well as paying 15 CUCS each for a beach towel. And the best bits? The beach and sea were beautiful! and you did not have to fight for Sun beds. The water sports were free too which were a real bonus. We eventually left 2 days early and booked an air b n b in Havana as we could not stand it any longer! Cuba is a beautiful country but the hotel pretty much ruined the holiday - no one really cared but would definitely not stay here again.

    Amazing Beach, that's pretty much it I'm sorry to say.

    Reviewed by paul g(Cardiff, United Kingdom) on Aug 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Working for an airline I am lucky enough to get cheap airline tickets, booked this hotel online for a good price. In all honesty I was not expecting much at all with the price I had, the beach is fantastic, the hotel in general needs updating in my opinion. On arrival our hotel room door did not close and was practically hanging off it's hinges, that being said the issue was rectified quickly with the polite maintenance man, light switches hanging off the walls and poor maintenance throughout the hotel. Breakfast was our favorite meal of the day, there was a really fun man who made omelettes who was a life saver as most of our party could not each much else. Drinks throughout the day and night was beyond a joke, there was no cola for most of the week among other things, most staff would just ignore you and not really pay attention. We ate in the A la carte restaurants a few evenings and on many occasions you would order and be told your option was not available. I know this may seem like I am a moaner, but in all honesty I would not want anyone to pay a lot of money to go to somewhere so basic. If you are looking for a perfect beach and not much else then go for it, also one stormy night the electricity kept going on and off, eventually when it did work we had no air conditioning for 1 night, which may not seem a big deal but when it's so humid it really is. I wanted to love this place so much, but in all honesty I would not return.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Fred Murphy

    Reviewed by Fred M() on Jul 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I have been to Brisas several times and it is best resort in varedero. Thanks to all the staff in PR especially Miguel-social networks. See you all in September. I'm looking forward to seeing all my friends and others that I consider family. The food at this resort is excellent and the comradery is special. Anybody looking for a nice vacation should try this resort.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX