Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Would definitely stay again!

    Reviewed by Clare on Dec 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Service at this hotel was very good. All staff were courteous and very friendly. The cleanliness for me is a big deal and this hotel was great. Though they advertise themselves as a smoke free hotel, it's not really. There were people always smoking at different locations of the hotel and the pool area. The restaurant was very good value and the food was pretty decent with a vast selection for all tastes. This is a bonus $$ for families especially in the universal Disney area. They had all amenities at this hotel. The added value I could see that would add many stars for this hotel would be transportation to Disneyworld. You definitely have to rent a car. I would totally give this hotel a thumbs up and I would stay there again. Its location has great easy access to the highway to head to Disney or to beaches such as Coco Beach. All staff were super accommodating and helpful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    For a value resort this is a very worthy of any budget and would recommend this resort to anyone.

    Reviewed by Lisa on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Loved the reto vibe which is carried throughout the whole resort right into the rooms with the colors, toiletries to the vintage cars parked in the front. There are alot of onsite amenities such as several pools, slides, hot tub, lazy river, bowling alley and a fitness center. The diner is great for your quick meals for the family and lounge at night. Great benefit of the resort is the walking distance to Volcano Bay, being able to walk there but still have access to your room if you forgot anything. I will definately be going back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Loved the reto vibe, family suites were a perfect fit. Great amenities, diner and lounge. For a value resort this is worthy of any budget.

    Reviewed by Lisa on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great Location!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Great location, spacious rooms, amazing pool

    Reviewed by Alicia on Apr 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    I loved everything about this hotel. The family rooms are big and spacious, providing a separate bedroom area and living area with a door. Can sleep a family comfortably. I also loved the location of this hotel, as its only about a 5 minute walk to Volcano Bay. There is only a fast food restaurant and not a sit down. However, it is very easy to get to Universal with their bus system, and there are many restaurants at Universals City Walk. The pool is amazing here with a nice lazy river. The price point is great for what you get as well. I would highly recommend!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Great location!

    Reviewed by Kelly on Apr 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great location and a very fun hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    VOLCANO BAY WAS RIGHT BESIDE THE HOTEL!

    Reviewed by DI on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This hotel was vibrantly colored, spectacular service, breakfast was phenomenal, front desk were really quick at checking us all in at 9pm at night.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Location, location, location!

    Reviewed by LBW on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    I really liked the nostalgic charms of this hotel. All the decors were in the 50's & 60's including the cafeteria style dining. We were in the family room. It was spacious with a fridge and microwave. Very handy! Location was fantastic because it was a quick walk over to Volcano Bay water park. Close proximity to Universal studios. My only complaint, was it didn't have a full service restaurant. Will return to this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    E

    Would totally come back !!!

    Reviewed by Ena on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a great value hotel - perfect for families on a budget. Great location ! 3 minutes walk from Volcano Bay - does not get better than this. It is clean and takes you back to a time when life was lots of fun with its 60's theme very well done. Staff wasvery accomodating. Icalled for bell hop service and was told that its not a service offered however here was someone with a luggage cart to our room to help us- thank you for going above.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Theres always something New to Look at! 50's Decor!

    Reviewed by ACSl8ter on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This place was so great for what was paid for my trip here. The Family suite I was in, was huge, had a kitchen including plates and utensils. The Bay Diner was easy to grab a meal, the cost was fairly affordable as well. Theres a Starbucks in the main part of the hotel as well, which was kinda cool. Very retro, all the fabrics and decor of the 50's. Was like a blast from the past. The only things I would suggest could be better was the bath towels were the size of hand towels. They need to get larger towels as I had to use all 4 of the ones I had in my room for the one shower. The other thing I would suggest they do something about was the fan for the shower. It would be good to have a fan that works in the shower, I cant imagine the humidity would destroy the paint and it would be nice if sneaky stinky smells dont creep out from the seperate bathroom where theres no fan. Regardless of the two issues that could have made this trip better, Volcano Bay is RIGHT next door! No need to get on a transfer. So easy to get there. I really liked the idea of the magnet do not disturb signs as its frustrating when those signs blow away from your door. There was easy pick up to Universal or any of the Disney Parks. Overall, it was an amazing trip and stay. Those things were minor compared to the Wowness factor of how close Cabana was to Volcano Bay. The Decor was awesome, the bed very comfy and I dont think I saw one speck of dust there. Would Definetly be BACK!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    I LOVE MY STAY . I DEFINITELY WILL COMEBACK . THE HOTEL HAS GREAT AMENITIES AND CLOSE TO VOLCANO BAY WITH EARLY ADMISSION TO IT

    Reviewed by ANAYAZELIN on Apr 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    A GREAT HOTEL . LOTS OF CHOICES FOR FOOD .HOTEL PERFECT FOR FAMILIES .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 18481 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great resort vibe

    Reviewed by Navigate44909812518(Osprey, Florida) on Jan 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Cabana Bay Beach Resort is nicely themed with plenty of amenities. Our room was clean, fairly spacious and the 50s/60s beachy decorating theme is fun. The food court has a lot of variety at a fair price. We didn't have time to swim, but with pools and lazy river, it looked perfect for family fun.The one downside is that the resort is so big, it can be hard to find your room's tower/building. When we asked a staff person for directions, they led us right to our building. I think that such a big operation can miss things...for example, we returned from the parks one night to find that our room hadn't been cleaned. So maybe, call front desk/housekeeping before you head out for the day.Overall, it's a good value with nicely appointed rooms. And easy access to the parks from shuttle buses located near the lobby entrance.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Great value and great for kids

    Reviewed by Daydream25236295951() on Jan 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our kids loved the pools and lazy river, the retro decor and spacious eating areas. We loved the extras in the hotel from Starbucks to the outdoor fire pits to the excellent transportation to and from the parks. Also, being just a 5 minute walk to Volcano Bay was awesome.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great Experience

    Reviewed by crystalp82705() on Jan 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the resort from 1/17-1/21 in a Volcano View room. The room was a great size and had an awesome view. The room as well as the whole resort was very clean! All the staff that we interacted with was very friendly. The shuttle buses to the parks were very efficient and easy to use. The theme was also very fun and there were nice touches of nostalgia throughout the resort like throwback bath products, old phones in the rooms, and old commercials playing in the dining area. The pool area and lazy river were nice and as they were heated we were able to swim in January. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Very Nice Place to Stay

    Reviewed by MarceloA280(Rio de Janeiro, RJ) on Jan 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The room I stayed had a small Kitchen, was useful for having breakfast fast. The hotel was very nice to stay with the kids. Very good if you want to go to Universal parks and other places in Orlando. Would stay on this Hotel again if I came back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Good value for money

    Reviewed by Freedom25462157034(Ottawa, Canada) on Jan 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed for a week in tower great view on volcanoe. Rooms very clean and whole resort well kept. Shuttle to universal very regular. Parking is pricey and food in Bayline dinner ok overall would recommend and would stay again.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX