Umaya Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 1053 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Be Careful-No refunds or credits

    Reviewed by Companion778099() on Sep 29, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We made reservations on August 10, 2019 and paid a deposit of $204.60 to stay at this resort (formerly Belize Ocean Club) from June 19th to June 23rd 2020. Obviously we could not travel because of the Covid-19. We requested our reservation be cancelled and our deposit refunded on April 10, 2020. To date we have not received our deposit refund. We have emailed them numerous times but their excuse has been "unfortunately due to Covid 19 new procedures has been set and our finance department is dealing with the refunds". It has been almost 6 months and still no refund!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Beautiful Place for our Honeymoon

    Reviewed by Charly6788() on Mar 28, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Tom and I had an amazing time on our 9 day visit to Belize and the Umaya Hotel was largely responsible. After traveling for over 13 hours it was such a huge relief that Umaya sent Gabriel to pick us up at the airport. He was both friendly and informative. When we arrived at the hotel, they had refreshing drinks for us, insisted upon taking our luggage and immediately got us settled in our room where we found chilled champagne and a swan/hibiscus flower arrangement on our bed. We immediately felt at home. Our room had a full kitchen, living and dining room area, a gorgeous patio and separate bedroom and bath. We stayed on the Lagoon side where every night we were treated to gorgeous sunsets and a beautiful view. Umaya has a concierge which then helped us in planning all our excursions, from cave tubing, zip lining, snorkeling at the Silk Cayes Coral Reef and visiting the Blue hole. John provided us with knowledgeable friendly tour guides that not only gave us a memorable once in a lifetime experiences but also had fun with us, taught us about the culture and made friends along the way. On a more serious note we happened to have arrived on 3/11/20 right when the Corona virus first began to make its appearance and they remained dedicated to ensuring that we had an amazing and relaxing time, they never missed a beat on service or attitude. In fact, everyone from the wait staff, housekeeping, food servers, grounds keepers and front desk was pleasant accommodating and helpful. Even on our last night they sent up a cheese platter for us to say goodbye and wish us luck on our trip home. The day we were leaving everyone personally came out to wish us well. They even followed up with an email expressing their concern and to ensure we arrived home safely. Tom and I truly had a quiet, beautiful relaxing time and will be returning to the Umaya Resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Absolutely Amazing

    Reviewed by O6577ROheatherb() on Mar 18, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed 7 days, and the hotel staff was amazing. The views are phenomenal, the staff is kind and helpful, and the hotel is clean and the food was great. Toward the end of our stay, the COVID-19 pandemic got really serious, and the hotel staff did not miss a beat. The staff and management continued to take excellent care of the guests, including helping to arrange special transportation for people who had to evacuate due to border closures. Special thanks to Manny, John, Nincy, Shanice, and Francesco for making our stay so special.

    Trip of a Lifetime

    Reviewed by donn901(La Broquerie, Canada) on Mar 18, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved our 7 night stay at Umaya Resort & Adventure. It was our first visit to Belize, and it sure did not disappoint. We stayed in the country 9 days, the last two nights in town of Placencia. Upon arrival, our reservation was on the lagoon side! We asked to see our room, and to also see an oceanfront room. When we saw the view from oceanfront room, there was no doubt we would pay for the upgrade. We were in room 202, ground level, and it was so nice to be only steps away from the pool, beach and bar. All staff were extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating. We generally don’t stay at the same place twice when travelling, but this is definitely a place we’ll be going back, and staying at Umaya Resort again! We used the complimentary bicycles to go get supplies at store, and also enjoyed the kayaks and paddleboards. Bistro Restaurant at Maya Beach is walking distance and was excellent.

    Enjoyable family trip to this resort.

    Reviewed by Pratul M(Kitchener, Canada) on Mar 08, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Visited this resort with family. We had a 2 bedroom with a view of a lagoon. The resort has access to a beach and waterfront pool. Daily shuttle to Placencia town. They have daily specials in the evening. When we were there we had Indian food special in the evening. The staff is very friendly and flexible.