Aston at Poipu Kai Condo

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    M

    Love Kauia, just not the condo.

    Reviewed by Micky on Oct 30, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our third trip to Kauai. Previously we stayed at resort hotels. This time we tried a condo. We requested a renovated unit, which we didn't get. We had one of the worst units possible there. We arrived at 10 pm, the office was closed so we couldn't ask for a different unit. We were in K814, near a busy road and they were roofing the condo across so we listened to banging and hammering all week. The unit layout was nice, the resort location is great and the gardens lovely. Kitchen had good appliances and was well equipped. However, unit K814 is in serious need of upgrades. A lovely soaker tub in the master ensuite is so grimy no one would use it. The furniture looks nice but is old, uncomfortable, and mildewed. The master bed was a double; there wasn't room for more. The lanai was large with nice outdoor furniture, which would have been nice but for the roofers starting at 7:45 am. The fan and the light in the ensuite didn't work properly, so we seemed to have condensation on the ceiling. After a couple of days the condensation got worse and then that evening the ceiling was bulging when we got back. Of course the office was closed. We called security and they came right away to check. There was a leak in the unit above. Maintenance came the next day and we learned they had previously fixed the same issue so he requested that they move us, but nothing came of that. They had to turn off the water to the entire building to fix the leak, a very poor design. They fixed the leak promptly and punched a hole in the ceiling to drain the filthy water into the toilet. They also checked the electrical. The ceiling continued to drip for a couple of days, so we couldn't use the toilet in the ensuite, but it did finally stop. Sadly, no one came to clean the bathroom after the maintenance work so there was stuff on the floor and dead bugs on the counter from the light fixture. They did give us a lovely basket for the inconvenience though.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 312 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Wonderful short vacation

    Reviewed by Bonnie D(Banning, United States) on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We traveled to Kauai for only five days to celebrate a friends birthday. Poipu Kai was almost next door to where they stayed. I called ahead of time when I realized it was 3 stories and no elevator as hubby is disabled. They assured me a ground floor unit. We were upgraded to a beautiful 2 bedroom house. Very Clean, staff was wonderful...would love to stay there again.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Quite, close to beach

    Reviewed by SipeSipeTeam(Glendale, California) on Jul 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The pools were small but there were several scattered around the property. Very close to beach and a few good restaurants. Beaches were very crowded however, but a quick hike down past the Grand Hyatt and you were on a seclude beach all to your self.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Family vacation

    Reviewed by TracyDunson(Colorado Springs, Colorado) on Jun 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This was the third Aston property that we stayed at in our island hoping adventure. When rented two rooms. Property isn’t maintained like most of the resorts in Hawaii. They do not have typical air conditioning units in the room. They have portable units that they want turned off when you are not in the room. One room had a great kitchen and flooring. The other not so much. The carpet was old and crunchy and stained. The rooms really smelled bad..

    Comforts of Home, Beauty of Poipu

    Reviewed by CandiM37() on May 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved our time at Poipu Kai. Our one-bedroom condo unit was immaculate and equipped with everything we needed and then some! A well-equipped kitchen, large bedroom with plenty of closet room and dressers, a roomy bathroom and a well furnished living room/dining room. And then there was beach towels, beach chairs, snorkel masks, beach reading and even a guidebook that helped us explore. The office staff was friendly and the grounds were always being "buffed up". The pool overlooks the beach (for those of you that don't love sand!) and never had more than 5 people there. Great location to walk to the beach, 2 great casual restaurants or over to the Grand Hyatt. I can't recommend this spot enough and we are already planning our next trip.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Poor quality

    Reviewed by Peter W(Ajax, Ontario, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We had a one bedroom booked for a 4 day stay. When we arrived we were told a one bedroom wasn't available and they gave us a 3 bedroom unit. (Unit 420) As it was just the two of us the larger unit wasn't a concern. The photos you see on the web site are not what you get. As this is a VRBO managed by Aston; the rooms will vary widely. The poor quality is a result of the property management not enforcing room standards that are made available for rental. There is no air-conditioning and it is far from the beach. What was a concern was the quality of the refrigerator which was rusting and bubbling paint. (See photo) The unit is not air-conditioned and was hot. The bathroom shower cleanliness wasn't very good. Overall this was condo complex built in the 80s and it really shows. The bed mattresses were the soft squeaky kind you get in a cheap sleazy motel. They let kids with diapers swim in the pool so there were feces in the pool. Disgusting. The customer service in the office was just appalling. Not to mention they charge a $150 US cleaning fee upon checkout. This vacation condo rental is not recommended at all.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX