Barceló Solymar

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    L

    Loved it-friendly, organized, and comfortable.

    Reviewed by Lyla on Jul 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It's Cuba, so expectations of food weren't high. But this hotel had a burger place that was open late for our teenage son, and enough veggie/cheese options for our daughter. Seafood was good. Had a problem with the toilet which they said they would fix right away. They were friendly, but again, Cuba, so right away meant three hours with a reminder. However, staff were very friendly and helpful, it was easy and inexpensive to book trips snorkeling, cave with a pool in it, day trip to Havana , and the beach was amazing, with thatched umbrellas. The hotel itself is clean, organized, and pretty. Easy to walk into town for an ice cream. We will be booking again and have recommended to others.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    t

    In need of updates (Part 2 of 2)

    Reviewed by taylor16 on May 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    ....The resort is about a 15 minute walk to the downtown markets in Varadero. We also did the jeep safari excursion which I HIGHLY recommend!! Overall, for what we came for, our trip wasn't that bad. We didn't come for the outdated rooms or the leaky doors, we came to be together as a group, relax in the sun and get some good drinks. We accomplished all of that and overall we got what we wanted for what we paid for.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    t

    In need of updates (Part 1 of 2)

    Reviewed by taylor16 on May 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    A group of 11 of us just got back from Solymar yesterday. The resort is extremely outdated, and there are many things that would need improvement before I was to ever go back again. My boyfriend and I stayed in a bungalow and the rest of our group stayed in the main building with the buffet and snack bar. The bungalow rooms were the only ones with air conditioning during the whole week. When one of my friends asked why her room didn't have air conditioning, she was first told that it was "broken" and would be off between 8AM-8PM every day until fixed. When she kept complaining, the manager finally told her it was because they turned off the AC for 12 hours of the day to save money essentially. They used the argument that "no one is in their rooms between 8AM and 8PM". While that may be true for some people, there were some days where my friends would want to get out of the sun for awhile because of sun burns or get ready for dinner/the night before 8PM. The last 3 nights we were there it was thunder and lightening. The rain was so bad and our rooms were so outdated that in our bungalow we had about 2 inches of water coming from under our door and our ceiling was dripping of rain water. The same thing was happening inside the main hotel area as well. Many of us only had a third of a shower door, outdated televisions and broken television remotes. While none of these things put a huge damper on our trip, the inconvenience of it all made our stay a little more harder. On a more positive note, the atmosphere at Solymar was excellent and the beaches and pool were amazing. There were a lot of "younger" people there which was great for us as we were a group of adults 18-25 years old. The food was good for Cuba. None of us had issues with getting sick or starving because we were not eating. Bring ketchup because the ketchup there is actual tomato paste. The bartenders there were great and the drinks were very good. The resort is about a 15 minute walk to downtown.......

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    k

    Will not return...very disappointed

    Reviewed by kelly on Dec 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel was unclean,rooms bathrooms,restaraunts everywhere was dirty and sometimes moldy.Our AC did not work until night time,Iron was not working.Our shower door fell off,our room was not cleaned at all.bed was uncomfortable, TV Remote without batteries, was no hot water,you name it something was wrong or bad with our room. Food was pretty awful.very limited menu, Hot food cold, Service was extremely slow, The beaches were quite nice,I would not recommend this resort at all.Over all value was not worth the money spent. will not return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Our stay in Cuba as mentioned the Solymar was the worst hotel i have ever stayed at.I would not stay there for free

    Reviewed by Jim on Nov 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel was unclean,rooms bathrooms,restaraunts everywhere was dirty and sometimes moldy.Our AC did not work until night time which on low did not help us cool down.Our shower door fell off,our room was not cleaned at all twice during our week.Ran out of shampoo,toilet paper,water.No ashtrays,bed was uncomfortable,lousy TV channels with very few english stations,no hot water,hair dryer was broken,no coffee or coffee maker,you name it something was wrong or bad with our room.Food was pretty awful in the buffet and theme restaraunts.Hot food cold cold food warm,ran out of food and ice quite often.Service was extremely slow for everything unless you tip the servers and bartenders.No swim up bar at the pool which was overall not bad.The beaches were quite nice.Hotel was in a good location with easy access to shops.I would not recommend this resort at all.Over all value was not worth the money spent.However if you go to Cuba bring lots of gum and suckers as they love candy.Tip the people who provide good service as it is rare.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    J

    beautifull beaches!!!

    Reviewed by Julia on Jun 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Beaches were beautiful!!! Food was not good at all...as expected. The pool pump area was a just a hole in the pool deck. Not covered up safely at all. My husband actually fell into the pump hole because it was closed only with a tin top on wheels that were not secured properly. No signs were posted. There should have been warning signs as this was not the first time someone has fallen in there... staff told us later My husband stepped on the edge of it and the wheels took off and he fell in.. He scraped up his back and hurt his arm. We spoke to hotel management and he saw a nurse. Nothing ever came of it. Overall a great vacation!! Just be careful by the pool...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7848 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Staff and resort

    Reviewed by 215Andrew(Ottawa, Canada) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Hi. I have been to Barcelo Solymar approx 14 times. To me, it is perfectly located in Varadero. The resort shares it's location with Arenas Blancas. As one of the first large resorts heading up the peninsula, it's location is prime for those that like walking into town during the day and for those that enjoy some night life at places like The Havana Club, Calle 62 and the Beatles Club... just to mention a few. I'm writing this review .... not so much about the resort or the food....but more so about the staff. Sure.... some people will complain about the smallest things...... my friends and I are very satisfied .... we will always go back...... Why... There is always something at the buffet that we like... pools are clean...ocean water refreshing ... sun is hot... beer is cold and rum is plentiful.... which leads me to why I'm writing this. We have always had exceptional service from all the staff....I can understand that they can get frustrated with unpleasant tourists that behave worse than a 3 year old.... but they always show professionalism. I would like to send a shout out and 5 stars for service to both Lala Suarez, and Gabriela de la Cruz Valdes. These two ladies are exceptional in what they do. I'll start with Lala the pool bartender..... When I see her first thing while setting up the bar... she is a bee hive of activity seeing to it that everything is ready for when she opens up the bar. She always greats me and everyone else with a smile. She remembers everyone I know by their names and never forgetting a familiar face. At times she is swamped with customers.... some that are unruly or impatient ... but she brushes it aside and in the end.... the beverages are always fantastic.... be it the cold beer... rum punch... mojito ... sangria... etc. Lala should be commended for her efforts. And I'm sure that if you go to this resort..... Lala will certainly not disappoint. Gabriela de la Cruz Valdes works in Public Relations. Well..... lets just say..... making people happy can come with its own challenges. You can't always please everyone. You need the right person ti do that job..... and with her in that position, Barcelo Solymar does. I was introduced to her by a friend a while ago. When booking my last trip with a few of my friends, I had a concern that we would be spread out all over the resort. After contacting her, she not only ensured that we were all co located together, she periodically checked up on us. If we had a problem or a concern, they were promptly taken care of.. Without us even asking, she even ensured that our entire group was booked on Barcelo Solymar's special dinner for returning and loyal guests. Gabriela surely takes her position seriously and it shows. In short, I will always enjoy going to this resort. I will always look forward to seeing Lala and Gabriela.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Last Review 30 Visits

    Reviewed by rasian(Burlington) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    So I have been to Arenas Blancas and Barceló Solymar 30 times, total of 60to Cuba Feb 20th was my last trip. I want to let you know why I keep coming back to Solymar. #1 the staff at solymar is amazing the friendliest people I have ever met Starting with Gaby at public relations as I see her quite often as there are always some issues recently trying to get towels replaced, but this has nothing to do with staff this is management. As I was saying Gaby is amazing and always is smiling and does her best to solve any issues, you can always count on her and her team. LALA at the pool bar is a rock star she greets you every morning with a smiling face and is always happy and energetic and dancing all day everyone around the pool loves her. Next the entertainment staff Dailiana , Claudia, Bruno, Ariana always go out of their way to say good morning and ask how my night was they are so friendly and do an amazing job. Some of the games need to be update, but I do not believe this is there issue again probably management. Dailia usually works at Arenas with the kids and does the kids show and the entertainment at night. she gets off work very late but still walks over to Solymar to say goodnight and ask how you day went, tis is a nice touch as they are done work and come to say bye. I give the Staff a Number 1 rating ..#2 is location Arenas Blancas /Solymar has a great location where you can walk to everything you don't need to worry about taking a cab, there are so many better hotels and Cheaper as I feel Solymar is over pricing itself but I will pay more for the location and the staff. I stayed in room 1450 this time and it has a great view and the maid was great. I prefer room 1464 or 1405 which are beautiful but are taken most of the time. Barceló has the best stretch of beach in Varadero with a large stretch of white sand and it is usually very easy to get a lawn chair. Barceló is also know for being a party Hotel which I think is slipping and will loose some guest as after 11:00pm it is hard to find a bar open. you can get beer in the Italian restaurant, but other than that I have not idea on site where to get drinks. Anyway a big shout out the the staff Gaby Public relations , Dailiana Cluadia, Ariana Bruno Entertainment . and LALA Bar. If I can offer some advise I would stay away during special days in the summer such as fathers day the place is not good then very dirt including the pool .Also remember ti change your money outside the Hotel as the Hotel take and extra 6 to 7 CUC on $100 Canadian dollars. I would only stay during high season for sure and will be heading back on April 10 2019 for my 3rd trip this year

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Noyt much better tha the ARENAS BLANCAS

    Reviewed by Randolph Roy C(Oromocto, Canada) on Mar 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    So we checked in at the SOL Y MAR....viewed the room and all seemed ok. room was big , bright, airy very clean. That day was very uneventful but the electricity went out during the night for 1/2 hr or so. Next day was very good. The WI-FI wasn't very good....I think it was mainly because it was only available in the lobby and there was so many people all in that area trying to use it was . That night, the electricity was gone again and we were lighting our way around with the cell phone. when we got up in the morning there was no hot water and very little cold water...so we went complaining again to the front staff, and all they would say was that it was of for the hotel...no reason given. When the Sunwing rep came on duty we info'd him and after a while he came back with an answer We were aware that the hydro was off, but we didn't know that the compressors in the Air conditioners was what heated the water. Of course, no hydro..no air conditioners and in the morning they weren't working . so....it took all day to repair the ACs and to get the hot water working . Food was reasonable and lots....only problem was...the steam tables weren't keeping the food at a good temp. Again, the staff here was very friendly and the housekeeping staff would do whatever was neede to make sure that the rooms and guest were very well taken care of.. That was our second trip to the SOL Y MAR. We had a KING bed but some of the coil springs were weak or broken.

    Great week

    Reviewed by Tim H(Chatham, Canada) on Mar 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Wow wow can't say enough about the resort second time back and it was just as great as the first time really nice to see the updated buffet area and shower up graded in other bungle food was good until it came to supper seemed less appealing then breakfast and lunch not that we couldn't find something to eat but not as good as lunch pork chicken and beef cut right there in front of you only down fall was maid service had to call more even once about towels and cleaning of room we took another couple with us and we all can't wait to go back what a great week

    Party Central

    Reviewed by JoeFresh77() on Feb 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    If you are looking to party then go here. We just came back from this place over the reading week period and stayed on the Barcelo side. Food is the same every meal unless you book an a la carte. If you are looking to party witih people in the pool and at the beach everyday then I highly recommend you book here. Close to the town so you can walk in and get off the resort. At night head to Club Havanna and the party keeps going. Like I said we had a great time because we wanted the party.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX