Holiday Inn Huatulco

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    B

    Hotel is fine but food service was exceedingly poor.

    Reviewed by Brenda Smith on Mar 30, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    This should never be sold as an All Inclusive. One very limited menu for lunch and dinner. Food service was deplorable and bills signed were upcharged for drinks not served.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    A

    Wonderful stay

    Reviewed by Angee Calgary on Mar 05, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    I loved this hotel, it was clean, rooms large ,the coffee maker in the room was great to have. Perfect location to walk to shops .Beach is just around the corner. I gave it a 4 star because it wasnt on a beach. For me i just like staying at the pool anyways .pool area is small , but i always had a sit. The food was very good. The service was excellent. Its a small hotel and older crowd . Ioved it and plan on 2 weeks next year.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    We would not return to this property.

    Reviewed by L. G. Krahn on Mar 03, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel is well located and a decent property. It is poorly run, service is poor by all standards and food service is substandard. The hotel is not properly designed for "all inclusive" guests and the pool area is totally inadequate. From the initial food voucher which was inflated with items we had not consumed until we checked out, made no sense. We would not return to this property.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    F

    I enjoyed my stay in Huatulco

    Reviewed by Fred Wheaton on Feb 11, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    Great location as its close to the beach and a fifteen minute walk to La Cruseseta. Very clean hotel, nice rooms, good food and overall a great staff. Only downer is the bar and restaurant staff as the service there was not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Nice visit, but needs to pay attention to detail

    Reviewed by DMJ-Kelowna on Feb 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Let me say that our stay was enjoyable and that the Holiday Inn does many things right. We liked the smaller, less crowded atmosphere; the food was enjoyable, if lacking in variety; the rooms are large and comfortable; the staff are friendly and helpful and the location close to town and the marina is great. However, there is room for improvement and these suggestions are made as constructive criticism. First, both WestJet and the Holiday Inn need to be much clearer about what is included in the all-inclusive price, specifically the access to the beach club. HI have an arrangement with a beach restaurant a 5 minute walk away. However, this is not induced in the AI price, or it isn't in some cases. All-inclusive definitely implies that this should be part of the package and if the pricing needs to be adjusted to make it so, then do so rather than leave a sour taste. In addition, the menu for the AI package is more listed than for those paying for their meals which gives the impression of a two-tier level of service. Second, HI does need to work with its serving staff to improve the consistency during meal and bar service which can be slow at times and you're never sure who is looking after your order. English is limited among the staff - I know, we should take the time to learn some Spanish - which can add to the confusion. Third, the pool area needs to be improved; there was a lack of umbrellas for shade.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 255 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Hot last minute deal

    Reviewed by travelwisard(Tisdale, Canada) on Apr 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    So this hotel has pros and cons. PROS: very clean, awesome beds, great a/c, fun attentive staff, reasonable food, very safe, small and very quiet, close to beach reataurants and shopping. CONS: Shortage of umbrellas, loungers and shade in general. Breakfast buffet is minimal and very poorly layed out and disorganized. The egg chef has a terrible work station and is grossly over worked most days. She was expected to cook eggs, pancakes, omelettes and tortilla etc. Lineups most mornings, not her fault. Here's a sticker, all inclusive but no lunch or dinner buffet (order from menu) and have to sign for everything from drinks to meals to H2O. Lunch and dinner meals were much better than breakfast. Inconsiderate smokers made sitting in lounge area uncomfortable. Signage said "Smoking at bar only" but no one paid any attention and staff just ignore them. Beach was a short walk but did not have any palapas nor loungers and was open to the public. The only shade available was if you sat in restaurants and ordered drinks! All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again, possibly just a room without meals. Lots of good places to eat close by!

    MISLEADING....INFORMATION...more of 2 1/2*

    Reviewed by quest88(Thorold, Canada) on Apr 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The good and the bad of this hotel. Love the way they advertise this hotel as 100% smoke free, that is why I choose it, well that was a lie, they state this, but they do not enforce, they allow anyone to smoke anything anywhere, lodged serval complaints which fell on deaf ears, I would watch sercurtiy walk right by the smokers and say nothing. The worst was the cigar smokers, to the point that I was physically ill from the stench, you could not even use the balcony. I requested a marina room through sunwing, which sunwing placed the request only to arrive to be given a nosy street view, next to the elevator. The desk told me the marina view was a premium room, and that I had booked only a standard room, according to sunwing this was not the case, the Holiday Inn changes policies at the drop of a hat. I finally did get a partial marina view, but it meant packing and checking out and waiting for our room until dinner time, which a real pain. For a full marina view they wanted an extra $500 pesos a day. We had booked the all inclusive package,and during our two week stay they changed the menu and were taking off items that the previous week were included, which was totally unfair, why not wait until the end of the sunwing season, which is only a few weeks away. There is no drink menu, or a cocktail of the day, so you need to ask for speciality drinks, which most of the time they do not know how to make, so basicly it is beer or wine. They ran out of the light beer often, and wine on day and vodka another day, so it is a hit and miss. The staff is great but totally they are way understaffed. You need to sign for everthing so a lot of times you wait a long time to get your bill to sign off on it. The pool is small and other guest place towels on lounge chairs first thing in the morning and sometimes they sit empty for hours. The rooms are nice and large, and in some of the rooms the a/c control does not work as it should, our room was always freezing and could not be adjusted. Would I come back? Only if they fixed the smoking and did make the place 100% smoke free as stated. Nothing worse than eating dinner with someone blowing smoke onto your dinner plate. Also you need to provide a beach club, somewhere for your guest to sit at the beach without getting charged high rates for a chair and umbrella. The food was good, but it was always a surprise on what you might get. Same meal and next day it would be different, guess it depended on the chef that day. The first few days they had three different ice creams Vanilla, Chocolate and Strawberry, after that they ran out of vanilla, and shortly later ran out of strawberry, so then it was only chocolate. Most of the guest were either Mexican, Western Canada along with a few from Ontario and USA Would I come back? Only if they fixed the smoking and did make the place 100% smoke free as stated. Nothing worse than eating dinner with someone blowing smoke onto your dinner plate.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Great price and location

    Reviewed by AngelSaskatchewan(Regina, Canada) on Apr 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Room was clean and comfortable. Booked based on price and location. Actually prefer and more Mexican style hotel, but it was the best price in Santa Cruz, which is where I wanted to be this trip. Staff were all friendly and accommodating. Would probably stay again if the price was right.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Probably not going back

    Reviewed by TRBNNR(Swift Current, Canada) on Mar 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was our second stay at Holiday Inn. Same as last time, within 10 mins of arrival were tempted to change hotels. We had requested a marina view room when we booked one month in advance and they gave us a room overlooking the roof of dining area. As this was a 2 week stay we asked again for marina view. We were told that it will be a $500 peso per night upgrade and can't get us one for until 6 days. We spoke to several other couples who were also expecting marina view. Not sure if this is a Sunwing or Hotel screw up. Next thing the air conditioner only blows cool not cold for 2 hours then you have to reset it. Asked to get it fixed and they came right away, so they touch the thermostat and it works for 2 hours, they think they fixed it. Another hot night so ask to fix again. Different guy comes says made it more cold, fixed it (for another 2 hours). Another hot night so asked for different room, said sorry no rooms all booked up. Offered to talk to manager but he is in meetings. They send up 3 guys with new thermostat. Say fixed it (for another 2 hours). So we stayed here for 2 weeks with like 10% air conditioning. Food was good ate here most of the time. Saul and Andres were good. Actually most of the workers were good.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Great time

    Reviewed by kdthynes(Indian Head, Canada) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Awesome place, food was great , staff was real good. Nice sitting on the marina, walking distance to everything. Only had to cab once to visit friends. Met some great locals and others from Canada. Great place.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX